GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
original Myst #1119461
07/31/17 10:40 AM
07/31/17 10:40 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
S
satch Offline OP
Settled Boomer
satch  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
S

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
Hello Boomers, I am trying to reinstall the original Myst. I haven't played it in sometime, and thought I would like to try it again.

However when I try to install the game, I get an error message about needing a 256 color pallet. I am trying to install on the same computer I used before. It has a Windows xp operating system with a Dell plug and play monitor and an NVIDIA gforce 3 Ti 200 video card.

I don't see anything in the Display setting in control panel that I can adjust the color pallet.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119463
07/31/17 10:54 AM
07/31/17 10:54 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,300
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,300
near Yosemite in California
I have moved your post over to Glitches, where our techies can try to help you. wave

Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119470
07/31/17 12:25 PM
07/31/17 12:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,086
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,086
southeast USA
Use compatibility mode on the shortcut or the game exe.
Compatibility mode should have an option to run the program with 256 colors.

Instructions here
https://www.microsoft.com/resources/docu...256_colors.mspx

Picture ***here***.

Picture is from PCgamingwiki
https://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Windows_Compatibility_Mode

Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119471
07/31/17 12:28 PM
07/31/17 12:28 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,813
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Online content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Online Content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,813
In Missouri near St. Louis
Here are a couple links I found on the color palette error with Myst. Instructions in the first one are for Windows95/98, but may also work in XP. You might try running it in Windows 95 or 98 Compatibility mode as described in the second and third links.

https://support.ubi.com/en-US/Faqs/000002220/Error-Myst-Requires-256-Colors-Setting-1364549712879

http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/589...-with-XP-Forums

http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/589...-with-XP-Forums


Snuggled in my PC corner for the winter, my stinky Bloodhound and a few so-called barn cats at my side.
Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119473
07/31/17 01:03 PM
07/31/17 01:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
S
satch Offline OP
Settled Boomer
satch  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
S

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
Thanks Boomers. I'll give these suggestions a try.

Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119474
07/31/17 02:08 PM
07/31/17 02:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 29,749
United Kingdom
Mad Online happy
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Online Happy
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 29,749
United Kingdom
Just a thought ....

Are you using the same monitor as when you originally played the game ??

Some more modern monitors might not display 250 colours.


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119492
07/31/17 06:12 PM
07/31/17 06:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
S
satch Offline OP
Settled Boomer
satch  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
S

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 521
Thanks for all the feed-back. Looks like Myst is not going to work. I am using a new monitor. That may be my problem.

Good gaming

Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119503
07/31/17 08:16 PM
07/31/17 08:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,086
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,086
southeast USA

What brand and model is the monitor?
We can check if it can't run 640x480 resolution or has some other limitation.
Some video card/monitor combinations might have problems with 640x480 resolution, and though I don't know of any monitors that can't display 256 color graphics, I suppose it's possible there could be one.

Also the QuickTime 2 that came with Myst from 1993 might be an issue on XP.

Another way to run Myst is to use ScummVM.
Myst, Myst Masterpiece, and Riven are listed as running on ScummVM.
http://scummvm.org/compatibility/

Download and install the latest version of ScummVM
http://scummvm.org/downloads/

The files you need to copy from the CD to a folder on your hard drive are listed here
http://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Datafiles#Myst
Quote:
CHANNEL.DAT
CREDITS.DAT
DUNNY.DAT
INTRO.DAT
MECHAN.DAT
MYST.DAT
SELEN.DAT
STONE.DAT
QTW folder


After copying the files to your hard drive, start ScummVM, choose the "Add Game" button, and browse to the folder where you copied the Myst files. ScummVM should recognize the Myst files and add Myst to the ScummVM menu. You should be able to start the game from there.

Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119543
08/01/17 08:36 AM
08/01/17 08:36 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,374
R
Robert Gault Offline
Addicted Boomer
Robert Gault  Offline
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,374
Satch,

I don't know what is causing your problem but it is not WinXP nor probably the nVidia card.
I just reinstalled Myst 1.3.0.5 on my WinXP SP3 system which has an nVidia GeForce 7600 GS card and a Samsung SyncMaster 204B 1600x1200 monitor. I do have QT7 installed which may or may not be relevant.
MYST plays perfectly on my system, automatically switching to the correct resolution and color depth when the game starts.

Re: original Myst [Re: satch] #1119783
08/03/17 03:24 PM
08/03/17 03:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,086
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,086
southeast USA
If you run Myst in ScummVM, it will be widescreen whether you want it or not. You can adjust it to "full screen" or a 2x or 3x window, but it always seems to be widescreen, which means part of the original game's graphics will be chopped off the top and/or bottom of the screen. There doesn't seem to be an option to display in the original 4:3 aspect ratio.

With ScummVM, you use F5 to access save, load, and exit, which is different from Myst's original controls.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (oldbroad, Mad), 279 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
DadsFavorite, queendeva, AmberBBV, rzaper, restorehope
9123 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™