GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera #1161616
08/29/18 04:22 PM
08/29/18 04:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
family Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
family  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
is telling me to run in 800 x 600, what do i do. cool lab puppy failed to set to that, error 2, brought them from egames.

Last edited by family; 08/29/18 04:33 PM.
Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161624
08/29/18 06:31 PM
08/29/18 06:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,374
R
Robert Gault Offline
Addicted Boomer
Robert Gault  Offline
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,374
Does your video card and OS permit you to change the window resolution? If so, do that before starting the game.

Perhaps you meant to say that the game won't run even when you do change the screen resolution?

Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161637
08/29/18 08:11 PM
08/29/18 08:11 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
family Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
family  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
it keeps saying failed to set resolution to 800 x 600 error :-2 and i can not change my resolution, it is gray out, my screen resolution is 1366 x 768, and window 8.

Last edited by family; 08/30/18 12:02 AM.
Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161679
08/30/18 10:58 AM
08/30/18 10:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,610
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,610
southeast USA
Are you able to play the game windowed?

Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161692
08/30/18 12:13 PM
08/30/18 12:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
family Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
family  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
i can not get into it as well as the 3 Agatha Christie games, they just keeps saying they stop working, they are by the adventure games, and my first 2 house of 1000 doors will not open, they are by viva media. WHQL-Win8.1-Win7-Catalyst-15.7.1-Oct30 is what big fish download for me. amd

Last edited by family; 08/30/18 03:15 PM.
Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161706
08/30/18 03:41 PM
08/30/18 03:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,610
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,610
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: family
i can not get into it as well as the 3 Agatha Christie games, they just keeps saying they stop working, they are by the adventure games,

Those games are over 10 years old and weren't made for Windows 8.
Try running them using compatibility mode.
Instructions here
https://www.maketecheasier.com/windows-8-compatibility-mode/
or here
https://www.eightforums.com/threads/compatibility-mode-use-in-windows-8.6832/

Originally Posted By: family
and my first 2 house of 1000 doors will not open, they are by viva media.

Viva Media used to use bad types of DRM on some of their game discs. I don't know if that's the case here, but if it is, you're better off buying the games from Big Fish.

Originally Posted By: family
WHQL-Win8.1-Win7-Catalyst-15.7.1-Oct30 is what big fish download for me.

Are those drivers not working for you?
Did the Big Fish tech test the games for you?

If you're not able to get your games running the way they used to on this laptop using Windows 8, and continue to have issues with your video drivers, you may want to consider backing up everything on your computer that you want to keep to an external drive, and then having your computer put back to factory defaults.
https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03546603
You may have to have a tech do this for you if you don't have family or friends who can help.

If you ever get the drivers worked out, don't ever allow Windows to "update" them to a bad driver again.

Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161707
08/30/18 03:50 PM
08/30/18 03:50 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
family Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
family  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
you are right about that, i already did, if he can not help, i am taking it to best buy, waiting to do the Copilot, again , Malwarebytes and CCleaner® are they okay.

Last edited by family; 08/30/18 06:20 PM.
Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161793
08/31/18 04:19 PM
08/31/18 04:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,610
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,610
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: family
Malwarebytes and CCleaner are they okay.

Draclvr would know better than I do.
I've only used the older versions, not the current ones.

Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161819
08/31/18 09:57 PM
08/31/18 09:57 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
family Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
family  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
i had to uninstall them, my action center went off like the robot from lost in space, and i had auto something repair going what is restart like mel and the bank from alice, they were damaged.

Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161833
08/31/18 11:47 PM
08/31/18 11:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,939
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,939
In Missouri near St. Louis
Malwarebytes and CCleaner are fine and safe. I have no idea what is going on here, but this sounds crazy. Something is wrong and "auto something repair" does not sound good. Restart is just that - restart. And I have no idea what Mel and the bank from Alice is. I think you need to get this computer to a repair shop.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy and Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera [Re: family] #1161839
09/01/18 01:51 AM
09/01/18 01:51 AM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
family Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
family  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,115
marietta,georgia
you are right, good thing i back up everything.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (curly), 37 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
boys5times, alibab2004xx, AdipsonStudio, booooo, anon
9215 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™