GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Skyrim #1283237
10/04/22 12:44 PM
10/04/22 12:44 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Mad Offline OP
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline OP
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
OK. A few days I downloaded this game from GOG using Galaxy and, although I couldn't find a way to play it without using Galaxy, I caved in and decided to give it a go today.

So I double clicked the game icon that was installed to desktop and got a Galaxy page - with "Play" greyed out shocked - however when I closed that page down there was a small menu box on screen holding a few choices - including "New" - so I clicked on "New" and the game fired up.

BUT

As soon as the game started, a small box appeared overlaying the centre of the screen (with the game carrying on playing underneath it).
And in that box it said :-


You'll need a new app to open this ms-gaming overlay link.

[Then a picture of a little icon - which might be a Microsoft icon.]

And under that the text carried on with :

Look for an app in the Microsoft Store.

Then another little box with a tick in it. And the words "Always use this app."



I couldn't interact with this box, anything in it OR the game in any way and had to use Ctrl/Alt/Del to get back to Desktop !! eek

Does anyone know what the heck this all is ????




Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283241
10/04/22 01:10 PM
10/04/22 01:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
There must be demons in your game! I have never seen anything like that. When you first open the launch icon, the play will be grayed out for a few seconds. Just wait for it to activate and go from there. Depending on the game, if you wait a few seconds, there may be a new box that opens up with "Launch the Game." It seems like it is older games that have that option, but not always.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283245
10/04/22 01:34 PM
10/04/22 01:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
I found this on YouTube.

Re: Skyrim [Re: Marian] #1283247
10/04/22 01:42 PM
10/04/22 01:42 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Mad Offline OP
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline OP
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Hi. And thank you both smile

AND .... I'll take a look at that link, Marian thumbsup


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283255
10/04/22 03:13 PM
10/04/22 03:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Thanks for that link, Marian! Sorry, I had to run in town to pick up my truck. Mad, if none of these work, let's switch to email so we can exchange pictures. Go to the game folder and grab a screenshot and sent it to me. We'll figure this out!


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Skyrim [Re: Draclvr] #1283299
10/05/22 12:32 PM
10/05/22 12:32 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Mad Offline OP
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline OP
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Hi.

First :
I watched the utube link, Marian, which told me how to change a setting in Game Bar from ON to OFF.
But the setting was already showing as OFF woozy

Second.
I'll email you, Draclvr smile

EDIT :
In the meantime I'm going to download the game to Win7 and see if the same problem occurs whistle

Last edited by Mad; 10/05/22 12:37 PM.

Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283300
10/05/22 12:53 PM
10/05/22 12:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
Curiouser and curiouser, Mad!

Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283303
10/05/22 02:37 PM
10/05/22 02:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Mine were showing as ON and I've never had this issue! Curiouser and curiouser indeed!


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Skyrim [Re: Draclvr] #1283313
10/05/22 06:36 PM
10/05/22 06:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Mad Offline OP
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline OP
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Messed about for several hours since I last posted here but couldn't make any progress so I capitulated - and uninstalled/reinstalled yet again.
And THIS time got a working game with no silly overlayed box !! yay

[Of course, when that happened I immediately checked the "Game Bar Control" thing and it was still in the "OFF" position so I have no idea what made the game work without it this time.]

Anyway, I have emailed my huge thanks to Draclvr for her willingness to try and help yes


But I'm exhausted now. Techie stuff always completely does me in. So off I go now to try for some sleep yes


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283316
10/05/22 06:49 PM
10/05/22 06:49 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
Really glad to hear it's sorted, Mad! I hope you can get some sleep now. bedtime

Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283317
10/05/22 06:51 PM
10/05/22 06:51 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Excellent! That was going to be my next suggestion! I have a feeling that overlay thingie was just a one-off that wouldn't happen again with a little patience when the game is loading the first time.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283318
10/05/22 08:29 PM
10/05/22 08:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
Graduate Boomer
oldbroad  Offline
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
Mad, I'm a little late with this but with regard to putting a game icon on your desktop, you have to go into the drive the game is installed on, into the GOG Galaxy folder, games folder, game and you should be able to put a shortcut from there. I just did this with Atlantis Lost Tales.

I'm referring to this post in the Darkside forum. The desktop launch will include Galaxy because that shortcut is from the Galaxy. Go in through your drive and check it.

"Right clicking on the desktop Launch Icon brings up a very long path.
I have written it out below and HOPE I've got the spaces and apostrophies etc etc etc all in the right places !!

"C:\Program Files (x86)GOG Galaxy\GalaxyClient.exe /command=runGame /gameld=1171230643 /path="C:\Program Files (x86)\GOG Galaxy\Games\Skyrim Anniversary Edition"

As you can see, Galaxy is also mentioned in THIS path several times, so I'm not inclined to think I have a "go ahead".

Yet I know in the past I've seen instructions to swap launch icons (and avoid playing the game using Galaxy) on this very board - and more than once - so was hopeful I'd be able to do that with this game."

Re: Skyrim [Re: oldbroad] #1283328
10/06/22 08:16 AM
10/06/22 08:16 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Mad Offline OP
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline OP
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Hi.

I tried that fairly early on in my efforts, oldbroad, and it didn't work.

But what I did notice with this latest download/install was that a launch icon was NOT placed on the Desktop.
And Galaxy decided that itself.

All previous installation procedures either showed an option to have one OR it was just put there anyway without an option.
This time there was NO option and it WASN'T put there.
I have to click on the Skyrim icon within the game files - which opens the Galaxy page - and then I have to hit "Play" on that page.
And doing that does now launch the game properly.

What a rigmarole it has been to get this game to work !!!! đŸ˜±


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283339
10/06/22 11:19 AM
10/06/22 11:19 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
Graduate Boomer
oldbroad  Offline
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
Okay, sorry. I knew you went into the game file but wasn't sure about the Galaxy files and whatever so just thought I'd mention it. Must be a Skyrim thing! By the way, didn't you say you always use Mods when you play these games? I read that you can't use Mods with this version. I don't play these games so I have no idea what I'm even talking about, so forgive me if this is worded wrong or sounds stupid!

Re: Skyrim [Re: oldbroad] #1283340
10/06/22 11:47 AM
10/06/22 11:47 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Mad Offline OP
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline OP
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Oh, I'm always grateful for your suggestions, oldbroad grin

But as to "Mods" ??
It's totally the other way round for me. I never use them - I wouldn't know how !!

However, I do tend to need the cheat "God Mode" for some RPGs.
I'm just not a good enough fighter lol


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283342
10/06/22 11:50 AM
10/06/22 11:50 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
Graduate Boomer
oldbroad  Offline
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
Ah, my rememberer is backwards then! blush hearts

Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283344
10/06/22 12:01 PM
10/06/22 12:01 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,767
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
oldbroad, hagatha makes extensive use of mods, so that may have been who you are thinking about!


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283347
10/06/22 12:21 PM
10/06/22 12:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
Graduate Boomer
oldbroad  Offline
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 15,563
Chicago
Could be Drac!

Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283473
10/07/22 11:19 PM
10/07/22 11:19 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 743
Virginia Beach, VA
Uncle Reg Offline
Settled Boomer
Uncle Reg  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 743
Virginia Beach, VA

Mad,

I have the non-Galaxy download version of the new Skyrim from GOG installed, and the desktop shortcut points to:

"F:\GOG Games\Skyrim Anniversary Edition\SkyrimSELauncher.exe"

Re: Skyrim [Re: Mad] #1283500
10/08/22 11:31 AM
10/08/22 11:31 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 46,111
near Yosemite
Thank you, Uncle Reg! Much appreciated.

Re: Skyrim [Re: Marian] #1283508
10/08/22 01:43 PM
10/08/22 01:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Mad Offline OP
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline OP
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 33,240
United Kingdom
Thanks Uncle Reg smile

I don't usually use Galaxy to download games from GOG - and didn't originally with Skyrim either !!
I just downloaded the game back-up files as I usually do.

But when I tried to launch the game, I was told there were files "missing". [Which has never happened before.]

So, I thought, to be on the safe side, I'd better RE-download and USE Galaxy.

And what a mess THAT brought on lol

Anyway, I do at least now have a working game in play. So I'm feeling better yes

[But Galaxy downloads will never be my first choice.]


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Lex), 12 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Lastrtskii, TaraJean, frjagose, Cuplinks, Dusk
9340 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™