GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
graphics card problems #135817
06/22/04 06:40 AM
06/22/04 06:40 AM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
Clare Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Clare  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
Hello everyone! smile

I'd be really grateful if someone could help I have a fairly new (a few months old) laptop computer - a Samsung X15. Its graphics card is an "nVidia GeForce FX5200 Go with 64MB DDR video memory" apparently (according to the Samsung website).

Well, I just tried to play Indiana Jones and the Emperor's Tomb on it, and the game told me that my graphics card wasn't good enough because the card doesn't have transform and lighting, whatever that is. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Confused]" src="confused.gif" /> But I just went on the nvidia website, and from what I can tell my card should have transform and lighting. Does anyone have any idea why the game thinks it doesn't? I have downloaded the Indy patch, but it doesn't make any difference. <img border="0" alt="cry" title="" src="graemlins/cry.gif" />

Re: graphics card problems #135818
06/22/04 01:13 PM
06/22/04 01:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,780
southeast USA
Jenny100 Online content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Online Content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,780
southeast USA
Is this
http://samsung.com/Products/NotebookPCs/SamsungXseries/NotebookPCs_SamsungXseries_NX15.htm
your laptop?

It says it has an integrated graphic card.
The game may not play with an integrated card.

Re: graphics card problems #135819
06/28/04 05:12 AM
06/28/04 05:12 AM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
Clare Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Clare  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
Thank you for your reply Jenny - my internet connection has been having problems so I have only just seen it.

That looks like my laptop, but I bought mine in the UK so it might be slightly different from the one you posted. Mine is here:

Samsung X15

Does this have the same problem you mentioned?

Clare wave

Re: graphics card problems #135820
06/28/04 12:30 PM
06/28/04 12:30 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,127
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,127
Arizona
Try downloading the latest patch that corrects the problem - Patch Name: 1.01 Update

Oops - I see you did try it...

Re: graphics card problems #135821
06/28/04 12:37 PM
06/28/04 12:37 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 229
Saskatchewan, Canada
auntieshoque Offline
Settled Boomer
auntieshoque  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 229
Saskatchewan, Canada
Hi there Clare.

Went to the web site you linked, and I think that they may be telling you two different things there. On that page it says it's an nvidia FX 5200 GO, but if you click on the features link in the grey box on the right hand side of the screen to get the quick description of the computer, it says that your computer has the Intel 855 GM motherboard in it, which has integrated graphics which aren't nvidia graphics. The graphics that that motherboard contains can be found here:

Intel 855GM motherboard graphics

What you should do is right click on your "my computer" icon and go to properties, and to the hardware tab to take a look at the device manager. Find the section in there called Display Adapters. It should tell you what video card you have in there.

If it's the intel integrated one, then I'm afraid you're out of luck. That doesn't seem to have Transform and lighting, unfortunately.

a

Re: graphics card problems #135822
06/29/04 06:02 AM
06/29/04 06:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
Clare Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Clare  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
Thanks Auntieshoque - when I get home I will do what you suggest and see what it says. I am a complete dunce about these things, but surely Samsung are violating some trading standards criteria if they say two different things on their website?

Re: graphics card problems #135823
07/01/04 06:43 AM
07/01/04 06:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
Clare Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Clare  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 691
London, UK
So... I clicked on my computer etc as you suggested and it said:

Intel (R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller

I guess that's the integrated graphics card that won't play Indy <img border="0" alt="cry" title="" src="graemlins/cry.gif" />

I will contact Samsung and ask them about their misleading website.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Winfrey, OrleansBelle), 9 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Ankara, Distro_GR, Gal_Hajaj, CrisGer, Railwayman
9089 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™