GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
discworld noir, out of memory #136091
08/19/03 02:27 PM
08/19/03 02:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
o1alien Offline OP
Settled Boomer
o1alien  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
I searched under glitches, bugs and patches also in adventure games to find help with this game and didnt find an answer. I am playing Discworld NOIR from Infogrames. I am almost through Act II. I went to start the game this afternoon and got a message stating "discworld noir out of memory". I know I have 1 gig of space on my hard drive. I am playing on WIN ME and have not had a problem with the game otherwise. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you, ET


Somethings have to be believed to be seen. Ralph Hodgson
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136092
08/19/03 02:31 PM
08/19/03 02:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
BacardiJim Offline
Addicted Boomer
BacardiJim  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
The "out of memory" error refers to not having enough RAM available to run the game. Time to clear your cache. Double-click My Computer, then right-click whatever hard drive the game is on. Select "Properties" and then click the "Disk Cleanup" button. Once it is done running, reboot.

This should clear out your RAM (and a bunch of other stuff) and let the game run.


Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136093
08/19/03 02:36 PM
08/19/03 02:36 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
o1alien Offline OP
Settled Boomer
o1alien  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
Thank you so much, as I was waiting for a reply I went to System Properties and Performance and found I have 256.0 MB of Ram and the system resources are 32% free. Now ask me what that means...no no don't, I was only kidding. I will do as you say and hope this works. Once again thank you for your help. ET wink


Somethings have to be believed to be seen. Ralph Hodgson
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136094
08/19/03 03:07 PM
08/19/03 03:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
o1alien Offline OP
Settled Boomer
o1alien  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
Ok, it didnt work. when done i went back to system properties - performance and found 256.0 MB, System Resources 52% (was 32%), File System 32 bit and virtual memory 32 bit. I rebooted the system and tried to play the game, again message "Discworld Noir out of memory" came up. Any other suggestions I might be able to try. I really really like this game and hate to think I dont have enough memory to play it. ET wink


Somethings have to be believed to be seen. Ralph Hodgson
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136095
08/19/03 03:18 PM
08/19/03 03:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
BacardiJim Offline
Addicted Boomer
BacardiJim  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
apparently you have a LOT of background programs running. Try shutting some of them down.


Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136096
08/19/03 03:22 PM
08/19/03 03:22 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
o1alien Offline OP
Settled Boomer
o1alien  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
Thank you for the suggestion, would you remind me how to do that....lol....apparently my rememberer is broken. ET wink


Somethings have to be believed to be seen. Ralph Hodgson
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136097
08/19/03 03:33 PM
08/19/03 03:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
BacardiJim Offline
Addicted Boomer
BacardiJim  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
Press crtl-alt-delete (all at the same time) You will get a list of all programs that are running. Use the "End Program" button to turn off non-essential ones.


Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136098
08/19/03 03:35 PM
08/19/03 03:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,579
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,579
southeast USA
Control-Alt-Delete to open Task Manager.
Explorer and Systray are the only ones that are essential in Win 98 (and probably Win ME too)

Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136099
08/19/03 03:36 PM
08/19/03 03:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,579
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,579
southeast USA
Looks like we posted at about the same time, BJ.

Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136100
08/19/03 03:39 PM
08/19/03 03:39 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
o1alien Offline OP
Settled Boomer
o1alien  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 684
Naples, FL, USA
Thank you very much, both of you. If I remember correctly after I have deleted everything nonessential and turn the puter back on again, everything I deleted will have returned. Is that correct? So I should delete these things everytime I want to play the game...groan... Thank you again, ET wink


Somethings have to be believed to be seen. Ralph Hodgson
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136101
08/19/03 03:49 PM
08/19/03 03:49 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
BacardiJim Offline
Addicted Boomer
BacardiJim  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,202
USA
That's correct, ET. wink

And at least we agree on some things, Jenny. wink


Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.
Re: discworld noir, out of memory #136102
08/20/03 03:54 PM
08/20/03 03:54 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 644
New York
Ladybug Offline
Settled Boomer
Ladybug  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 644
New York
There is a program that you can download from ambermont.com called "End It All" that will close everything that is running in the background except explorer and systray. I also have WinME and 256ram and I use End It All. It does all the work for you and after you shut down the computer and turn it back on again, everything comes back. It's very easy to use and it does improve the performance of the computer. Hope this helps. laugh


Ladybug
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Dinoboards, Splittown, klimovsky, chellechris1225, sandrar
9070 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™