GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Overclocked-(dvd's) #311579
04/16/08 07:45 AM
04/16/08 07:45 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,843
Michigan
Geo Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Geo  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,843
Michigan
Hello,
Here we have a game on not 1,but 2 dvds.The complete Stars Wars movie was on 1 dvd.On top of that there are long load times between scenes.Not chapters mind you,but scenes!To me this is un-acceptable.So far no Han Solo either.Seems to me with all that game code they could make this run seamlessly.
Geo

Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: Geo] #311636
04/16/08 09:23 AM
04/16/08 09:23 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,260
Alabama
looney4labs Offline
Moderator
looney4labs  Offline
Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,260
Alabama
Geo, Oldmariner mentioned that in a review over in the review forum. He thought the story was good enough that he was willing to wait. His waits were about 30 seconds.

Were yours longer? How does your machine stack up against the minimum requirements for the game?


"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras
Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: looney4labs] #311638
04/16/08 09:27 AM
04/16/08 09:27 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,643
stoke on trent England
dragonuk44 Offline
Addicted Boomer
dragonuk44  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,643
stoke on trent England
Sorry there are 2 dvds 1 to down load 1 to play .Am I missing some thing

Last edited by dragonuk44; 04/16/08 10:04 AM.
Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: dragonuk44] #311643
04/16/08 09:29 AM
04/16/08 09:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 15,022
Northeast NJ
Darleen03 Offline
Graduate Boomer
Darleen03  Offline
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 15,022
Northeast NJ
I didn't mind the wait...

But, With DVD's I thought you need only one for everything..
Install & game play ? think


Luv Dar


GameBoomers
"Games Are More Enticing Because Of Our "MaG"nificent Efficient Radiant Site"
Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: Darleen03] #311759
04/16/08 12:39 PM
04/16/08 12:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
oldmariner Offline
Reviewer
oldmariner  Offline
Reviewer
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
These days most games install completely on your hard drive. This insures smooth running and quick scene transitions. When you are required to have a disk in the drive it is usually for copy protection so the game can read a short code to verify you have a legal copy. It appears in this case the cut scenes remain on the dvd and are not loaded onto your hard drive. This requires the game to read and load from the disk. This will require load times that vary based upon the speed of your dvd drive. Yes I had to wait about 30 seconds due to my 48x dvd reader. You could see the drive blinking with each cut scene as it loaded. I found it to be a minor annoyance and the game well worth playing. If I had a 12x or 24x dvd reader I may have a different opinion. I don't know why they chose to do this, most likely to with with copy protection. I can understand the frustration but it did not hinder game play other than you having to wait to see the scene.

Edit*** It just struck me, the name of the game, Overclocked. In terms associated with video cards there certainly was no overclocking going on here. I don't know how fast the new dvd readers are these days but I'm not about to buy one just yet.

Disclaimer----I also don't want to dis this game because some of you may have noticed I'm trying to trade it for Jack Keane. smile Seriously I found it to be enjoyable except for that wait time. Which by the way is not a major thing, it happens a few times but mostly it is not a big deal.

Last edited by oldmariner; 04/16/08 12:52 PM.
Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: oldmariner] #311820
04/16/08 03:47 PM
04/16/08 03:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,843
Michigan
Geo Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Geo  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,843
Michigan
I know its no big thing but the point I was trying to make was with the mammoth storage of the dvd it should run seamlessly.
Just my opinion.

Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: Geo] #311832
04/16/08 04:09 PM
04/16/08 04:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
oldmariner Offline
Reviewer
oldmariner  Offline
Reviewer
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
I understand but the reason it is not running seamlessly is because the cut scenes remain on the dvd. Not installed on your hard drive with the rest of the game. When you play the game the videos are read directly from the dvd. A 48x dvd drive reads the information at a fraction of the speed that your hard drive is read. Your hard drive reads 15 times faster. It's not storage space it is the read time that causes this delay.

Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: oldmariner] #311932
04/16/08 07:57 PM
04/16/08 07:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 94
Four Winds Bar
S
Snatcher42 Offline
Shy Boomer
Snatcher42  Offline
Shy Boomer
S

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 94
Four Winds Bar
Oldmariner is correct, though what really slows things down isn't the read speed of the DVD, but that the drive has spun-down.

Since the rest of the game is installed to the hard-drive, and the disc is only read for the cutscenes, there are long periods where it is inactive. The disc stops spinning, and then when it is called on again it takes a few moments to rev back up. It doesn't matter how fast your drive is, they will all need to do this.

My solution was to copy DVD2 to my hard-drive, using Nero or any other tool you'd like, and having it mounted as a virtual drive while I played. Goodbye long pauses!

Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: Snatcher42] #311971
04/17/08 12:22 AM
04/17/08 12:22 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,643
stoke on trent England
dragonuk44 Offline
Addicted Boomer
dragonuk44  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,643
stoke on trent England
I am so glad I read this last bit thanks .I thought it may have been my computor running a little slow .Really when you think about it those little waits add to it in some peoples mind .Me I just jump the gun...What the H---s wrong withe the d-m thing now duh

Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: dragonuk44] #311977
04/17/08 01:40 AM
04/17/08 01:40 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 112
P
Pirate_Hunter Offline
Settled Boomer
Pirate_Hunter  Offline
Settled Boomer
P

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 112
I have Asus 16X DVD-ROM operating at DMA 5 but loading times are still great. The problem is some Resource.002 file that needs to be loaded and then proper cutscene extracted. File is 2GB big. The only reason I think they did it is some sort of copy protection to force you to have DVD 2 in your DVD drive. I tried copying file to game directory but the game still asked for second DVD. I didn't find a single config file or registry entry to change this. Very annoying and distracting.

Re: Overclocked-(dvd's) [Re: Pirate_Hunter] #312882
04/18/08 08:22 PM
04/18/08 08:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Try leaving the DVD2 in the DVDROM and also copying the "resourse.200" file into your game folder. This greatly improved the lag time down to 6 seconds for me.

inferno


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  BrownEyedTigre, Marian 

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 217 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
AlexGamechuck, Guppy, tonierm, stigmamax, McGeorge
9105 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™