GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Outcast - playing on Windows XP #286800
02/29/08 11:28 AM
02/29/08 11:28 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 240
Pennsylvania, USA
oldfeeble Offline OP
Settled Boomer
oldfeeble  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 240
Pennsylvania, USA
I am revisiting my old favorite - Outcast. I installed it on my Dell Dimension 8200 (2.4 MHz?) running Windows XP, which far exceeds the modest request of the game for a 300 MHz Pentium II system.

I was wondering if it is wise to use the 3.0 patch for this game? I had heard that there may be problems with that patch, as opposed to maybe an earlier version. Any information on that?

Also, the graphics don't look very good and I was wondering if it is my settings. Does anyone remember what these older games prefer for resolution, etc.? I have the display set at 1024 x 768 which seems reasonable for most everyday viewing. Does the game set it's own resolution or use the PC setting?

And finally, would it be better to lower the hardware accelerator or stuff like that? The game seems to run okay so far, just that the graphics are fuzzy and the mouse movement seems sluggish. Maybe that is just the older game? I set the mouse to maximum sensitivity on the game options.

I haven't given much information about my system but I can dig that out if it would be helpful.

Thanks for any assistance you can provide.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: ] #286859
02/29/08 02:17 PM
02/29/08 02:17 PM
Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Pokey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
I don't recall using a patch. Seems like there was a reference to the North American version not needing it. Maybe you can sort it out from this old thread:

http://groups.google.com/group/comp.sys....mp;start=0&

As for the graphics, I'm not surprised they look a bit fuzzy since it is an old game that used a different type of graphics. Have you checked screenshots in reviews? Also, if you are playing on a large LCD monitor, it is going to look worse than on a smaller CRT. I use a 17" CRT for old games.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Pokey] #286898
02/29/08 03:55 PM
02/29/08 03:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
The UK version would not work with DirectX later than DirectX 6.
The US version worked with DirectX 7.
I didn't know that and patched the US version. I don't think it changes anything if you do. I was playing in Windows 98.

Apparently it does work in XP, at least if you have the right configuration. One person at ntcompatible said it needed the patch.
http://ntcompatible.com/Outcast_c1073.html

If the installer tries to install DirectX 7, choose not to install it. If you have XP SP2, install the game in your My Documents folder instead of the default Program Files folder.

I don't remember whether the game has options for resolution, but it might since it is a real time 3D game. I played it in 640x480 because I had an old ATI Rage Fury for a video card.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Jenny100] #286908
02/29/08 04:06 PM
02/29/08 04:06 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 240
Pennsylvania, USA
oldfeeble Offline OP
Settled Boomer
oldfeeble  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 240
Pennsylvania, USA
Who was it that said "you can never go home"? It seems that what was once a game that I really enjoyed playing on my old computer is really awful on a newer computer. The graphics are fuzzy and rather blurry, especially when I leave the starting area and move to the first zone. And my monitor is only 17" I think - but this computer has a pretty powerful video card as I recall.

I just recently gave away my old Dell 600 MHz computer since I didn't think I would be playing the older games in my closet. Then the nostalgia bug bit me in the midst of cabin fever because of this winter that never ends. But things are just never the same. Now I have to decide if I should get rid of all my old games or buy another old computer to play them on.......

Anyway, thanks for the good information. I don't think I need the patch, I don't remember ever using it the first time I played years ago. The game played well - I guess I am just completely spoiled by the newer games.

Excuse me while I go drown my sorrows..............


Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: ] #286915
02/29/08 04:18 PM
02/29/08 04:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 37,620
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 37,620
near Yosemite in California
The biggest problem I know of with this game is that, with faster processors, you will not be able to ride the Twon-Ha unless you use a slowdown program.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Marian] #286927
02/29/08 04:38 PM
02/29/08 04:38 PM
Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Pokey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
Yes, it is hard to go back to the older graphics. I have some games that I waited several years to play and now they look so bad compared to newer games. There are a few good ones that I will still play like Fallout.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Pokey] #287017
02/29/08 10:14 PM
02/29/08 10:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
As long as you don't switch back and forth between newer and older games, you may find you adapt to the older graphics and don't notice them so much as you play longer.

Also, sometimes these old games really do look better when played on older computers using a CRT monitor instead of an LCD.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Jenny100] #291054
03/08/08 08:07 PM
03/08/08 08:07 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
UK_John Offline
Junior Boomer
UK_John  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
I have Outcast running in XP at last, after running extracting patch 3 using 7-zip and then copying all the files in the oc folder of the patch to the oc folder of the game. To get the music playing (and getting rid of the CD music/audio file error) you have to make sure you install from or change the CD drive letter to the highest letter of your drives. Currently I have to restart to get the music playing well with the digitized sounds as something happens when I play then quit then play again, as i get the audio error again.

Only problem I have, is in the rice fields, when entering the water, my character goes from running to slow walking. This is a problem when trying to stay clear of soldiers or in fights with them, as NPC's have no problem running through the water!


PC gaming needs a comeback.... Will it happen?
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: UK_John] #291115
03/08/08 10:40 PM
03/08/08 10:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: UK_John
Only problem I have, is in the rice fields, when entering the water, my character goes from running to slow walking. This is a problem when trying to stay clear of soldiers or in fights with them, as NPC's have no problem running through the water!

I seem to remember that happening in Win 98 too.
The reason -- well, have you ever tried to run in water in real life?
In other words, it's intentional.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Jenny100] #291190
03/09/08 06:13 AM
03/09/08 06:13 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
UK_John Offline
Junior Boomer
UK_John  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
Jenny. Not true. This is not my first time playing in Outcast, and yes, you moved slower, but you still 'ran' if that was what you were doing. This isn't just 'walking' this is like your character is walking through molasses in slow motion, much slower than even regular walking. I have also noticed some NPC's sometimes moving in slow motion for 2-3 seconds when near me or near the front of the screen.
And also Jenny, did you not note that I said NPC's were not affected? This is most definitely a problem with running the game on a PC with a later DirectX I believe.

Oh, and I found a post of a 2005 thread about running the game in XP, and I quote:

Hi, i too have problems with this game but on XP, Media Centre edition. However my problems don't seem so harsh.
1) When i walk in the Rice fields, Cutter slows down to a crawl.
2) after mounting the Twon-ha, i can't make it move, only jump and turn.


Last edited by UK_John; 03/09/08 06:19 AM.

PC gaming needs a comeback.... Will it happen?
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: UK_John] #291195
03/09/08 06:29 AM
03/09/08 06:29 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4,838
Pinson, Al USA
Robert Offline
Addicted Boomer
Robert  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 4,838
Pinson, Al USA
Have you seen this??
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outcast_(game)#Playing_Outcast_today

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Robert] #291478
03/09/08 07:43 PM
03/09/08 07:43 PM
Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Pokey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
The Twon-ha won't move if you have a processor faster than 800 mhz. I used a slowdown program and it worked fine. It should solve the problem with the rice field too. Now that I think about it, I remember that he moved much better with the slowdown. I think I used Cpukiller but Turbo seems to work as well. I think the game does set its own resolution.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Pokey] #291667
03/10/08 08:18 AM
03/10/08 08:18 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
UK_John Offline
Junior Boomer
UK_John  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
Tried CPU Killer and Turbo and Windows Throttle, from 10% to 80% with no change in rice field problem, I have also made sure only one cpu is working in my dual core PC and I have turned down graphics and sound acceleration, all to no joy. My problem with the Twon-Ha's is not getting the 'ride' icon when I am standing where I should be to mount the animal, I haven't even got to the point of seeing if it will move once I am on it! smile

It's a shame about this rice field problem, as it really affects combat and following NPC's around (they have no 'molasses' problem!) and given it's the first world you enter it makes the game a drag and may mean I give up before getting further into the game!

I just want to say thanks for the ideas though, and never think I am not appreciative of the help! There are not many 'live' Outcast forums on the web any more, so I am very grateful for this one and you guys! smile


PC gaming needs a comeback.... Will it happen?
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: UK_John] #291765
03/10/08 11:20 AM
03/10/08 11:20 AM
Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Pokey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
What is the speed of your processor? I was using a 1 gig machine at the time and had to lower it 75% to make it work. Can you go any lower than 80%? Maybe the CPU Grabber would work better. The Wikipedia article indicates it works at 55% with an Athlon 3000+ computer.

As I remember, I was able to mount the Twon-ha even before lowering the speed. He just wouldn't move forward. Are you sure you have the right Twon-ha?

More info:


Quote:

#1 CPU Grabber
CPU Grabber gave me smother performance on my Dual Core Athlon X2.
If you have a dual core you will need to set the Affinity of both Game and Grabber to use only One of your CPUs.





http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=430823&whichpage=2&#2867803

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Pokey] #291797
03/10/08 12:36 PM
03/10/08 12:36 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
UK_John Offline
Junior Boomer
UK_John  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
Thank Pokey for the info! First it needs to be said that CPU grabber is now shareware and will only run for 20 minutes at a time unregistered.

Now the good news....! I have solved my problems of the treacle rice fields and not being able to mount my Twan Ha!!! I found a program designed to save battery life on laptops called SpeedswitchXP. My dual 2.8ghz CPU's get turned into two 1ghz CPU's by using the 'Maximum Battery' option within the program. I then switch off one of the CPU's and am left with one 1ghz CPU. This slows my PC enough to let me run through the rice fields and mount my Twan Ha. It is true that occasionally the Twan Ha will stop and not move and I have to de-mount and leave it. Sometime I can get it started again by making it 'jump'. In any event this is 1000% better than it was!

The above fix does not seem to make any difference to the CD music error appearing though. But if I re-boot my PC, and after running SpeedswitchXP, etc, I can get the music and sound working that first time. It will work as long as I play the game, but if I quit the game and then restart it, I will get the CD Music error popup again!

In any event, if anyone has Twan Ha or Rice field or other probs, I can now recommend SpeedswitchXP! Just install it, run it, and from the taskbar icon choose 'maximum battery' and away you go!

Should also note that SpeedswitchXP is the only 'slowdown' program that has my AMD CPU Info application actually showing them running at 1000mhz, Other slowdown programs are obviously slowing the PC, but when I call up the AMD ID app, they always still showed the CPU's running at 2800mhz. I think this is why the other slowdown programs I used did not work.


PC gaming needs a comeback.... Will it happen?
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: UK_John] #291807
03/10/08 01:03 PM
03/10/08 01:03 PM
Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Pokey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 1999
Posts: 5,735
California
UK_John, glad to hear that you solved your problem. It is interesting in how you managed it. I recall that I had a problem using Turbo with my AMD CPU but CPUkiller worked OK. Sorry to hear that CPU Grabber is no longer freeware. Enjoy the game. I loved it.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: UK_John] #291843
03/10/08 02:46 PM
03/10/08 02:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: UK_John
Should also note that SpeedswitchXP is the only 'slowdown' program that has my AMD CPU Info application actually showing them running at 1000mhz, Other slowdown programs are obviously slowing the PC, but when I call up the AMD ID app, they always still showed the CPU's running at 2800mhz. I think this is why the other slowdown programs I used did not work.

They work by a different strategy.
Most CPU slowdown programs only keep your processor(s) busy doing busywork rather than actually slowing the processors down. Their effective speed is reduced, but they're still processing at the same rate. I think Throttle works by disabling processor cache. The program you found (and congratulations for finding it) actually downclocks the processor(s).

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Jenny100] #291992
03/10/08 08:15 PM
03/10/08 08:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
UK_John Offline
Junior Boomer
UK_John  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
Thanks Pokey and Jenny, yes, really going to have a good week now! Just to correct though: It is CPUKiller that is now shareware and what I tried, not cpugrabber, sorry about that mistake. Might get cpugrabber and see if that works to, although speedswitchXP is so easy, you have an icon in the task bar, you right click and choose maximum battery and your cpu becomes 1ghz, right click on the icon again and choose maximum power and your cpu's are back to 2800! No sliders to slide and adjust to see what;s the right speed etc, just a click of the mouse! smile

Oh Jenny, loved your review too - one of the better ones I have read in terms of content! smile

Last edited by UK_John; 03/10/08 08:16 PM.

PC gaming needs a comeback.... Will it happen?
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: UK_John] #292012
03/10/08 09:04 PM
03/10/08 09:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
I forgot I wrote that review.
It must be from around 7 years ago, considering I mention DirectX 8.0a.
It does seem to be one of my better ones.

Hope you have no further problems with the game.
That speedswitchXP utility you found is interesting.
Are you using a laptop?

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Jenny100] #292143
03/11/08 06:34 AM
03/11/08 06:34 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
UK_John Offline
Junior Boomer
UK_John  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
Hi Jenny, good thing about the web, (other than how much great old info gets lost rather than kept - like Outcast reviews on now dead gaming sites!) is that when reading your review it was as fresh as if you had written it last week! smile

Oh, and no, I am not using a laptop, I am using a desktop, just upgraded last November. As sad as I am to say it, as a 20+ year PC gamer (never played console games!), I think this could be my last PC. It is powerful enough that it will run any game that comes out this year (it can run Crysis, for example) and probably next year. I find it quite hard to think of PC gaming still being around in that third year, in terms of AAA titles form major publishers. I think the costs will be too high, games like Fallout 3 and Far Cry 2 will sell less because of hardware demands, publishers will think more and more that PC games cannot make money, and the market will continue it's three year decline.

I really hope I am wrong. But one of the reasons I dig out games like Outcast is that there are so few quality modern PC games released now. Last year the only modern titles I bought was The Witcher and STALKER. Last year I also bought, on ebay and elsewhere, Jedi Knight Outcast, SWAT 4, Gothic 3, Darklands, Terra Nova: Task Force Centauri, Tron 2.0 and Enemy Infestation. I also downloaded and played half a dozen DOS abandonware games via DOSBox like Manhunter New York and The Colonel's Bequest.

So from me, last year, the PC gaming industry got around $100.00 and overall I only spent around $200 on PC games in 2007. I don't think I am that abnormal, given the growth in abandonware sites, ebay's retro gaming section and the fact that DOSBox has had FIVE MILLION downloads!!!

EDIT: Tried CPU Grabber and Cutter almost started running when I set it a 90% slowdown, but the game also became a little jerky too! With SpeedswitchXP everything is as smooth as a puppy! Although have not discovered how to get the binocular 'tracking' to work. I use the 'K' key, but do not seem to get any response! Smallest problem I have had with Outcast for a couple weeks! smile

Also should note that on three loads of the game today, I got CD music playing in two of them - previously I would only get music the first time I played the game after a reboot!

Third note is how good this game still is! Used the binoculars for a minute just watching the Talans working. How they plant some rice, then stand up, sometimes wiping their brow, move to another spot and plant another riss! I had also forgotten the tension when a patrol appears out of the mist! I never remembered the partrols coming so close to the first village and got a bit of a shock! smile

(Sorry for prattling on!)

-----------------------------------------------------
Oh and I discovered a game called Precursors that could just be another Outcast, with maybe more shooting and less adventuring though.... If you want to check it out...

http://www.worthplaying.com/article.php?sid=50041

Last edited by infernoj13usa; 03/12/08 08:39 PM. Reason: stacking

PC gaming needs a comeback.... Will it happen?
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: UK_John] #292400
03/11/08 04:37 PM
03/11/08 04:37 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,928
southeast USA
The pictures of the marketplace and the creatures being ridden are a bit like Outcast. But I get the feeling this one is going to be more action than adventure. Thanks for thinking of me though.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: Jenny100] #292821
03/12/08 10:31 AM
03/12/08 10:31 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
Hmmm...

I think you folks might be onto something with the idea that the old-style slowdown programmes might not be effective on the latest crop of processors. I suppose if the whole chunk of code that's running on the processor while you character is running around on the screen will *fit into cache*, then trying to slow down the programme by wasting the processor's time is... just a waste of time duh

I got a new dual core machine several months ago, and noticed that when running Ultima VII in DOSBox with cycles=max, it was running *way* too fast :-\ I had to crank the setting down to 5000 or so to get a playable rate.

So... using Turbo at 20% used to work fine for me with Outcast on my old PC. I'll have to try Turbo on the new PC and see if it does anything!

Regards,
Steve (ah heck, y'all know who I am at this point anyway :-)


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: metzomagic] #293017
03/12/08 06:12 PM
03/12/08 06:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
UK_John Offline
Junior Boomer
UK_John  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
London, UK
Hi Steve - I have a dual core 5600 and the only slowdown that worked for me totally, including having the CD music play, being able to ride the Twon-Ha and being able to run in the rice fields was the SpeedswitchXP program. Just set it to 'Maximum Battery'! smile

Also have to say, playing this again makes me so happy - and the AI is still better than most AI even in today's games! I was sneaking into the Fay Run Temple and got found - one blew the horn and they all came running. I jumped in the water and lost them and some hung around - looking. The rest went back to patrol. Then one of them must have seen something (what? Who knows!) as everyone ran into the Temple - the patrols, they guys looking for me - everyone! It was easy to believe that someone had said - 'we've lost him....! Maybe he has snuck into the Temple - quick! Search it!'!!

===========================================================

Having a great time playing this! Forgot so many things that are so great! Love have a surprise hit from behind where a soldier has crept up behind me, and just as the 'end game' screen comes up, seeing him kick my body!

Also, something I didn't notice and was never mentioned in any review I saw, was that the soldiers have different horn sounds for different actions. Whereas most people said there was just the one sound, to ask for help, or bring reinforcements, I have noticed near the Temple at least 3. One that sends out a patrol from the Temple, one that calls all the soldiers into the Temple, and one when I am spotted and to bring soldiers in my direction. I have noticed this because I am struggling to get into the Temple and have been in the neighbourhood of it for quite a while! smile

Last edited by infernoj13usa; 03/14/08 02:00 PM. Reason: stacking

PC gaming needs a comeback.... Will it happen?
Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: oldfeeble] #356474
07/07/08 04:13 AM
07/07/08 04:13 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
T
twon ha rider Offline
Junior Boomer
twon ha rider  Offline
Junior Boomer
T

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1

Hey everyone

I recently read on a forum someone expressing his/her annoyance toward people who find a solution to a problem and then keep it to themselves.. I agree. So now, not to turn a hypocrite I will share my experience with Outcast on a "not-ancient-win98-computer". I registered for several forums, just to post this, I hope it can be of help to someone.

Firstly:
*The game does not work on Vista.
*The game does not work with compatability mode. When trying to run launcher with win98 comp, it asks for the cd.
*I only occatioally have the soundtrack working, but this doesn't bother me too much - unlike the Twon-Ha problem.

Not being able to ride ones Twon-Ha is a great problem, and seemingly not a simple one to fix. I don't have a solution to the problem here, but some "tricks" to be able to ride. It sure is frustrating spending more than 2x the time running by foot, then one would riding the Twon-Ha.

1) Mount your Twon-Ha and face a direction without obstacles the first steps.
2) Alt-tab to windows (or whatever os..)
3) Alt-tab back to game, and instantly after pressing alt-tab, press "movement key"
4) When back in game you will notice a small lag, and Cutter riding your Twon-Ha! Yippie!
- This method also works without any "slowdown" programs
- Ps. if/when the Twon-Ha stops, you must repeat the process

1) Move your mouse up and down rapidly
maybe also helpful to make a jump then do it..
- This method however is not always working unlike the abovementioned.. and I don't know why -when it does work.
- Not sure if this work without a "slowdown" program.

And finally the "riss-field-slo-mo"
- Use a "slowdown" program
I use "CPU Grabber" linked to on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outcast_%28video_game%29#Playing_Outcast_today


Hope this helps, enjoy the game.

Re: Outcast - playing on Windows XP [Re: twon ha rider] #356529
07/07/08 08:24 AM
07/07/08 08:24 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
Folks, hi,

I finally got Outcast working on my dual core just the weekend before last, and documented it at Steve's XP Games Corner (just follow the link in my sig).

One thing I'm pretty sure that will work as a slow-down (solves the twon-ha and wading through water problems) is if you use Turbo, but bind it to the same core that Outcast is using via the imagecfg utility.

Again, see Steve's XP Games Corner for full info.

Regards,
MetzO'Magic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (curly), 14 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Xemsyt, Dave1957, RobbyZ, dustylele, DeLorean00
9098 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™