GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 3 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 15 16
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus] #565222
11/07/09 02:33 PM
11/07/09 02:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Originally Posted By: sarahandus
Under device manager the 1394 net adapter is enabled and "working properly".

Ignore the 1394, that is just your Firewire. Look on the back of your PC. Is there a jack that looks like an extra wide phone jack?


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #565247
11/07/09 04:27 PM
11/07/09 04:27 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Sarahandus, here is a picture of the I/O panel for your motherboard. As Collector says, 1394 is your Firewire port. In this picture the ethernet/LAN/RJ45 port is right above the 2 e-SATA ports.

Sarahandus Motherboard I/O


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: syd] #565250
11/07/09 04:32 PM
11/07/09 04:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: syd
I can't see any difference between Vista and Windows 7 to tell you the truth - still takes forever to boot up and I still can't find anything without hunting forever for it.

Syd,
Did you do a clean install or did you do an upgrade of Vista?
The clean install might be faster.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #565287
11/07/09 07:05 PM
11/07/09 07:05 PM
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 12,307
Body in California/Heart in Ha...
syd Offline
Adept Boomer
syd  Offline
Adept Boomer

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 12,307
Body in California/Heart in Ha...
Jenny I bought the upgrade. Just don't have the time nor the energy to reformat my hard drive and start over. I use my home computer for work and right now I have way too much stuff on it to risk a disaster grin

I'll deal with the slow startup etc. I'm used to it after having Vista for a year now.

Besides, won't I have to buy the full version in order to do a clean install?


Dark Side : Risen
Light Side:

I can only please one person a day. Today isn't your day. Tomorrow's not looking good either.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #565289
11/07/09 07:14 PM
11/07/09 07:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
Originally Posted By: syd
I can't see any difference between Vista and Windows 7 to tell you the truth - still takes forever to boot up and I still can't find anything without hunting forever for it.

Syd,
Did you do a clean install or did you do an upgrade of Vista?
The clean install might be faster.

Absolutely. An upgrade carry over all the accumulated detritus from your old system; all of the things that can grind a system down to a crawl. You end up with all the same needless garbage in your start up, disk fragmentation, left over registry entries, no longer used system files and drivers, etc. By far, most people's experience with Windows 7 is that it is less of a resource hog and more responsive than Vista.

Another thought, do you have enough RAM?


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: syd] #565321
11/07/09 09:17 PM
11/07/09 09:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,224
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
S
Susie07 Offline
Addicted Boomer
Susie07  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,224
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hi, Syd!

I just installed Windows 7 this afternoon, and the process is effortless. All you do is start the install and then you can pretty well walk away until it's time to input your product code. I have the upgrade, but I chose "custom" (or clean) install. As long as you already have a valid copy of WinXP or Vista, you don't have to buy the full version.

Personally, I prefer to start off with a clean slate rather than simply upgrade from one operating system to another. That way, if there were any problems, they're gone!

Susan



Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Susie07] #565369
11/08/09 12:32 AM
11/08/09 12:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
I'm totally with Susan. When I do my upgrade, I have to do a custom/clean install as I'm upgrading from XP. But if I had a Vista machine, I'd be backing up and doing a clean install there too.

But at least if you have Vista, you have to option to do a clean or upgrade install to suit your needs.


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr] #565371
11/08/09 12:43 AM
11/08/09 12:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
It is common for many users to occasionally do a clean reinstall, even when not upgrading their OS as a kind of maintenance. Starting with a fresh clean install fixes a myriad of problems and makes for faster, leaner machine. The only time that I don't do a clean install is when all I am trying to do is a repair install.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: syd] #565542
11/08/09 01:25 PM
11/08/09 01:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: syd
Jenny I bought the upgrade. Just don't have the time nor the energy to reformat my hard drive and start over. I use my home computer for work and right now I have way too much stuff on it to risk a disaster grin

It's good to have confirmation that the upgrade from Vista without the clean install doesn't improve the startup time (for those who aren't sure whether to do a clean install or not).

Quote:
Besides, won't I have to buy the full version in order to do a clean install?

No. As long as you already have a valid Windows license for your computer, it's both legal and possible to do a clean install. There's an article on doing it at Paul Thurrott's website
http://www.winsupersite.com/win7/clean_install_upgrade_media.asp

So if you ever you have the time, energy, and inclination, the option is there for you.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #565785
11/09/09 08:06 AM
11/09/09 08:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer
sarahandus  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
Oooops! Oh am I embarrassed. In trying to fix the damage done by the Texas Instrument driver I read all the list in the BIOS. Lo and behold the LAN was disabled. Enabling that got the Ethernet working just fine. However the damage done by the TI driver was so extensive I spent the weekend re-installing the OSes again. Also I installed the new Ethernet adapter, it has compatible drivers and I surely don't want to deal with TI again. So far I have XP fully working, but 7 still has drivers and programs to install.

Thank you all so much for all the help and instructions, really learned a lot of new things.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus] #565852
11/09/09 11:30 AM
11/09/09 11:30 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Let us know how you like your new Windows 7 OS!

I'm such a glutton for punishment, I installed the new Linux Ubuntu OS on a partition! Whew, talk about a learning curve!


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr] #566156
11/10/09 08:39 AM
11/10/09 08:39 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer
sarahandus  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
I think it will take me the rest of my life to get Win7 figured out, that one is really different!

I've found one game that does not like this new OS, Jigsaws Galore ver6. It plays fine, but won't close. Have to shut down to get it closed.

I have thought about trying out Linux, but that's as far as it ever got. We'll bet waiting to know how that goes.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus] #566227
11/10/09 01:36 PM
11/10/09 01:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Originally Posted By: sarahandus
Have to shut down to get it closed.

Why not just kill it with the Task Manager?


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #566240
11/10/09 02:24 PM
11/10/09 02:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Indeed. Ctrl/Alt/Delete works the same as always in Windows 7.


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr] #566272
11/10/09 03:28 PM
11/10/09 03:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,053
united kingdom
safc Offline
Addicted Boomer
safc  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,053
united kingdom
Hi Guys
I have just installed Windows 7 clean install from windows xp, no problems with that, but, I have installed 2 games Perry Rhodan and Dracula Origin both installed without any problem, but when I try to run them I get a pop up box stating "insiufficient prevliges: you must be an Administrator to run these applications for the first time", have I got some of my initial setting wrong, the only thing I did was set a password to initially log onto my PC, any help will be gratfully received

Cheers
SAFC


Old Adventures don't die they just forget to Save
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: safc] #566382
11/10/09 07:32 PM
11/10/09 07:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
You can try to right click on the executable and choose "Run as administrator", otherwise don't install the games in the Program Files folder.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #566558
11/11/09 08:16 AM
11/11/09 08:16 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer
sarahandus  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
Collector and Draclvr, Task manager couldn't shut it down either. Very reminiscent of the days when I had to deal with Win ME. Now there was a really bad OS.



Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus] #566709
11/11/09 01:56 PM
11/11/09 01:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Sometimes you can't kill the program, but you usually can kill the process.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #568772
11/18/09 01:13 PM
11/18/09 01:13 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,053
united kingdom
safc Offline
Addicted Boomer
safc  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,053
united kingdom
Hi Guys
I have just installed Dracula 3 onto my PC having installed Windows 7 and updated all drivers, on running the game, the initial screens are flickering and shortly after I have read the letter in my room, the graphics start to go into what I discrbe as like having double vision as I move my cursor around, anyone else come across this issue, I have searched for a patch, but the only places I have found want me to subscribe etc before download, any help gratefully received
SAFC


Old Adventures don't die they just forget to Save
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: safc] #568866
11/18/09 06:04 PM
11/18/09 06:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
safc, I just loaded up Dracula 3 and had exactly the same issue. I don't think there are any official patches for this game, but I might be wrong. The only ones I found were unofficial and I doubt they would have anything to do with this problem.

I checked in the game options, but didn't find anything there that would help. What is your video card? I'm running a GeForce GTX 260. I'm going to try adjusting the framerate.

EDIT: Well, nothing I did helped. I couldn't find the familiar video acceleration in Windows 7, but I tried manually adjusting the screen resolution and turning off PhysX GPU acceleration with no change.


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr] #568906
11/18/09 07:33 PM
11/18/09 07:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 202
Denver, Colorado
tazmanw Offline
Settled Boomer
tazmanw  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 202
Denver, Colorado
I just got a new computer with Windows 7 64 bit. I wanted to play the first Last Half of Darkness and after install it won't launch because it's missing the D3drm.dll file. I did uninstall and reinstall and restart. I read that this file was not on Vista and assume it's not on Windows 7. Don't know if the solution is to D/L the file and copy into the WoW64 file or if there is something else I should be doing.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: tazmanw] #568913
11/18/09 08:00 PM
11/18/09 08:00 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
I have Beyond the Spirit's Eye, but I don't have the first one, tazmanw.


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr] #568923
11/18/09 08:22 PM
11/18/09 08:22 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 202
Denver, Colorado
tazmanw Offline
Settled Boomer
tazmanw  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 202
Denver, Colorado
Thankyou, Draclvr for your response. I installed Beyond the Spirit's Eye just now to see if I encountered the same problem. But it installed perfectly and launched perfectly. So for now perhaps I will forgo replaying the first one and play this one as a warm up to Tomb of the Zojir.
Margie

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: tazmanw] #569051
11/19/09 08:23 AM
11/19/09 08:23 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer
sarahandus  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
I have switched to 64bit Windows 7 and find that Jigsaws Galore now works fine. Whether that was because of the 64bit or just a general clean-up is an unknown.

I am playing Outcry at the moment. Have loaded Chronicle of Mystery-The Scorpio Ritual and Barrow Hill with no problems, so far.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: sarahandus] #569083
11/19/09 10:24 AM
11/19/09 10:24 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,977
In Missouri near St. Louis
And I played Penumbra Overture for a couple of hours last night. Will update my first post...

I might have time to get the 64-bit installed today. I will still have my 32-bit RC on another HDD, so will be able to compare on the two systems.


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Page 3 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 15 16
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Kaki's Sister, Lex), 21 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Blackwell, JackieH, pax, Valeryous, harlequit
9268 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™