GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Page 6 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63273
06/06/05 12:14 AM
06/06/05 12:14 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,152
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,152
southeast USA
Try downloading from ***here*** .

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63274
06/16/05 11:27 AM
06/16/05 11:27 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
L
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer
Llewton  Offline
Addicted Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
I got Drascula in a trade with a friend of mine. I tried to install it in Win 98 SE and kept getting "not enough memory message". Tried with the MSDos Prompt no go (with find windows and without options). I looked up today if the game can be played in Dosbox (have dual boot system 98 SE and XP), I looked at the Dosbox game compatibility list and it said the game was supported however a cue/bin image had to be created to get it to work. What is this? I never heard of it before and how is one created?
Are these equivalent to the Clonecd or Alcohol 120 image files that I'm familiar with?
http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/comp_list.php?showID=1716&letter=D

Thanks in advance


If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63275
06/16/05 01:28 PM
06/16/05 01:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,152
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,152
southeast USA
That's what it sounds like to me, Llewton.

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63276
06/27/05 07:51 PM
06/27/05 07:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,337
CNY
trudysgarden Offline
Addicted Boomer
trudysgarden  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,337
CNY
bravo bravo

Using Dosbox for the first time to play GK1 and it's running great!

Thank you, thank you, thank you to all the genius minds who A)wrote this program B) put it up as freeware and last but certainly not least C) wrote it up here at glitches, encouraged us all to try it and answered all the pesty questions.

:kiss: I don't say this often enough, but I love you guys.

happy trails,

Carolyn


www.spyglassguides.com Pop in and say hi!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63277
10/07/05 06:17 AM
10/07/05 06:17 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
TopherAce Offline
Settled Boomer
TopherAce  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
Hi Metzomagic (and to me you truely DO sound 'magic'! If I can one day play Under a Killing Moon and Pandora Directive again...) I didn't get the beginning of you and the team's program. I have downloaded some things to play DOSbox, but you mentioned 'drilling'? How do I start to do what I need to get gaming with my older games?
Ripper...?

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63278
10/17/05 07:10 AM
10/17/05 07:10 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
TopherAce, hi,

Sorry I didn't reply sooner. Been away for a week...

Just read the GameBoomers DOSBox FAQ. If you go back out of this thread, there's a link to it at the top of this forum. Everything you need to know is in there.

If you need help for specific games like UAKM and Pandora Directive, then just follow the link below in my sig!

Cheers,
metzomagic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63279
11/26/05 07:42 PM
11/26/05 07:42 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
TopherAce Offline
Settled Boomer
TopherAce  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
Hi all. I was wondering if I could use DOSbox with my ME computer? If so, how would I go about doing it? I would specifically want to be able to play Pandora Directive, Under a killing Moon and Ripper. Thanks.

________________________________________
update

Thanks Metzomagic.

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63280
01/25/06 12:09 PM
01/25/06 12:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
T
Thepurplem0nkey Offline
Junior Boomer
Thepurplem0nkey  Offline
Junior Boomer
T

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
HI all. Sorry if this has already been brought up. I am trying to install Kings Quest Anthology (The ROberta Williams one), particularly games 5 and 6. I am able access the install file via dosbox, but when it brings the menu of which games I want to instal,l NONE of my keys work. I can type away all day and it refuses to select any of the games. I have also tried installing it via windows, and it will INSTAL, but it wont play, even if I use DosBox. I know I'm not the only person to run into this problem. Any suggestions?
-PM

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63281
01/25/06 12:26 PM
01/25/06 12:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
PM, hi,

Oh great, and I was just looking for a sticky problem to work on happydance

But seriously... I don't have the King's Quest Anthology, but I do have the Quest for Glory Anthology, and I'll betcha it would have similar problems. I shall investigate once I get home from work. Gimme a few hours.

metzomagic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63282
01/25/06 01:03 PM
01/25/06 01:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
T
Thepurplem0nkey Offline
Junior Boomer
Thepurplem0nkey  Offline
Junior Boomer
T

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Metzomagic, thanks a MILLION! I read through your FAQ and already have "Legend Of Kyrandia 3: Malcolms Revenge" (One of the best of the series, athough all three are amazing games. Quick note, Mark Hamil, AKA Luke Skywalker, plays Malcolm, whos character voice and image are almost identical to Mark Hamils voice of "The Joker" on batman the animated series. He also does MOST of the voices in another great DOS game, "Full Throttle" as well as play the lead character in in the last Wing COmmander game) due to your method of mapping the CD rom. I am computer literate but all the tricks up my sleave have not gotten this game to work (ANd I have been having similar problems with Quest For Glory Anthology, my favorite being QFG4...the keyboard does not work to sleect the game to instal in DOS).
I have tried multiple machines with multiple keyboards. Any help you cold provide would be greatly appreciated. I am a huge fan and collector of these games. I am anxiousley awaiting the March release of the Leisure Suit Larry, Kings QUest, and Police Quest games which are, hopefully, XP compatable.
-PM

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63283
01/25/06 03:00 PM
01/25/06 03:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
PM, hi again,

Well, you won't believe this... but of all the games I chose to get running from the QFG Collection, I picked QFG4 too thumbsup

I suspect a similar approach would work for the King's Quest games.

Good luck,
metzomagic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63284
01/25/06 04:22 PM
01/25/06 04:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
T
Thepurplem0nkey Offline
Junior Boomer
Thepurplem0nkey  Offline
Junior Boomer
T

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Metzo, I am at work now so I cant try it, but I am terribly anxious to get home. Thank you A BILLION TIMES OVER in advance if this gets working, because Ill be too darned busy in gaming mecca to thank you if it works when I get home :-D I'll let you know though how I fare. As a side note (yes, i love side notes) the QFG series is one of Sierras BEST, and 4 my favorite of all of them. The 5th was actually a decent "ending" to the series I thought too, MUCH better than the L A M E Kings Quest 8, mask of Eternity. UGH, wht an AWFUL game, what was Roberta WIlliams thinking????
THANKS!
-PM


______________________________________
update

Ok, I actualy remembered I had a copy of QFG in my office....and your method WORKED!!! Thanks a bunch man. Is there any way to make the game fit into fullscreen mode better? It is "too big" for some reason. When I get home....im testing this out on Kings Quest :-)
-PM

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63285
01/26/06 05:30 AM
01/26/06 05:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
PM, hi again,

Glad that nailed it for you. I did notice that the sceeen was a bit big too. All you can do there is adjust your monitor. Some monitors can 'remember' that they have to switch to a certain set of saved settings when running in a specific mode.

BTW, did you try/have any success installing and running King's Quest 5?

metzomagic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63286
01/27/06 06:19 PM
01/27/06 06:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
T
Thepurplem0nkey Offline
Junior Boomer
Thepurplem0nkey  Offline
Junior Boomer
T

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Metzomagic, I havent had any sucess with Kings QUest 6. I'm about to go play around with it some more, I'll popst my progress :-)
-PM


_________________________________________

update

Well, sadly, KQ6 is still not working. I was able to install KQ5, but it keeps telling me to insert CD1 which is already mounted. On the plus side, QFG4 works beautifuly :-)
-PM

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63287
01/30/06 08:43 AM
01/30/06 08:43 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
PM, hi again,

In what way is KQ6 not working? Can you install it? I'm quite sure the install process I recommended for QFG4 ought to work there. You just need to browse the CD in Windows Explorer to figure out where the DOS install for it is located.

For KQ5, you might want to try copying all the files from the CD to your hard drive, and running it from there. Just adjust all the game-related config files to point to C: instead of D:

Cheers,
metzomagic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63288
01/30/06 10:39 AM
01/30/06 10:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
T
Thepurplem0nkey Offline
Junior Boomer
Thepurplem0nkey  Offline
Junior Boomer
T

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Hi Metzomagic,
I already have copied all of the files into my hard drive. I ripped each cd (There are 3 KQ CD's) into an ISO and mounted the instal CD using Alcohol 120% onto a virtual drive. I map that virtual drive as my D drive in DosBox. This has worked for every game so far. I AM able to install the game from windows, and it installs the game into a directory. It is unable to install 3 files, although I cant remember offhand which files they are. However, hitting "OK" progresses the isntalation. WHen I try to access that directory from DSOBOX to play the game, absolutely nothing happens. This occurs with 5 and 6. On the plus side, I am able to play 1-4 perfectly.
I thought ti issue might be that the game's data is on the 2nd CD, so I ripped that, mounted it, and tried to access the game that way....no dice. Of course, while I loev the first 4 (well, 5 if you count the VGA ermake of the first game) games in the KQ series, 5 and especially 6 are my favorite games, probably beuase 6 was the first ever CD rom I bought. ANyway, I appreciate the help you'ev given me so far, it's helped to make most of my games work.
-PM


_______________________________________

update

Update: Well, still no luck getting Kings Quest 5 or 6 working. I was able to getmy hands on the original DOS version (No voices)n and I've been playing that. The game si just as fun, although I sure do miss teh repetitive "Alexander pulls out his magic map" :-)
Hopefully, with the March release date of teh Kings Quest Compilation, there will be a voice version that works (although I'm not holding my breath). Thanks for all of your help, I really appreciate it.
-PM

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63289
04/12/06 05:51 PM
04/12/06 05:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,393
United Kingdom
SkeeterUK Offline
Addicted Boomer
SkeeterUK  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,393
United Kingdom
Btw to make dosbox easier i use D-Fend

Its a frontend (kinda like gui for dosbox). Mkaes seting up profiles easy.

Anyhow my main reason for posting here is i have indy fate of atlantis talkie version but running from hdd (dont ask why lol). Anyhow no matter what i try i cant get speech to work. I tryed dosbox and dfend using all sound options and tricks. I tryed vdmsound i tryed scummvm. None will give me speech.

Anyone help me?

Got win xp pro sp2.

UPDATE!

I got it to work using scummvm, the file monster.xxx had bad extension on or somit, it was monster.sou but works with sog.

I have voices happydance

Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63290
05/03/06 03:35 AM
05/03/06 03:35 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Nanjoan Offline
Addicted Boomer
Nanjoan  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Hi Steve. From one who is totally un-technical I have purchased a new copy of one of our favourite games, namely Stonekeep (the other copy went missing).

I would like to know if I would be able to play this game via DOSBOX.

I have Windows XP home SP2

Many thanks

Nanjoan wave


I am gaming once again....
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63291
05/03/06 07:22 AM
05/03/06 07:22 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
Nanjoan, hi,

I happen to have Stonekeep as part of an old Interplay role-playing games collection. I'll fire it up when I get home tonight, and let you know...

Meantime, I'm quite sure it will work in DOSBox. Please read up on DOSBox by following the link in my signature. Then download DOSBox 0.65, install it, and configure dosbox.conf per the instructions in my FAQ. You should probably be able to get Stonekeep going yourself (the cycles= setting will depend on how fast your processor is, but.... try cycles=11000 for starters).

Regards,
Steve
P.S. If you don't know how to navigate to your CD drive and launch programmes in DOS, there's also a DOS FAQ there laugh


________________________________________
update

Nanjoan, hi again,

Yep. Stonekeep works fine in DOSBox with no tweaking required. You just:

1. Install DOSBox 0.65.
2. Use Notepad to edit the dosbox.conf file (located in the folder you installed DOSBox to).
3. Change the following in dosbox.conf:

fullscreen=true
cycles=9000
cycledown=500

And make the [autoexec] section at the end look just like this by copying the following right from this post, and pasting into the file:

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
mount D D:\ -t cdrom -usecd 0 -ioctl
mount C C:\
C:

(note: if your CD drive is letter E, replace the D's above with E's)

4. Start up a Command Prompt via:

Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt

5. Change Directory to where you installed DOSBox to, like:

cd \program files\dosbox-0.65

6. Start up DOSBox via:

dosbox

7. Once DOSBox has started up, change to your CD drive via:

d:

8. Install Stonekeep via:

install

9. Do the full installation (65MB), to the default directory which is:

C:\INTRPLAY\STONKEEP

(note: it takes about 3 minutes to verify the installation. Don't panic! :-)

10. Take all the default sound and music card settings (Sound Blaster Pro, etc.). If you want that warm, fuzzy feeling, you can test the sound and music. Then just Exit the installation.

11. To run Stonekeep, just enter:

sk

12. To run any time after that, just start up DOSBox, then:

cd \intrplay\stonkeep

then:

sk

Good luck!
metzomagic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63292
05/04/06 01:45 AM
05/04/06 01:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Nanjoan Offline
Addicted Boomer
Nanjoan  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Hi Steve

Many thanks indeed for your help. We have printed off what we need and will now have a go.

It's great to think that we can play Stonekeep again.

Nanjoan wave


________________________________________

update

Hi Steve, our son came around tonight and had got everything up and running.

Hurray, we can now play Stonekeep again.

Many thanks indeed for your help

Nanjoan wave


I am gaming once again....
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63293
05/04/06 03:48 PM
05/04/06 03:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
Nanjoan, hi,

Ah, saved again by the offspring!

BTW, those DOSBox settings should do you for most DOS games.

Huge, helpful tip follows:

-----------------------------------------------
I recommend that you save a copy of the dosbox.conf for each game you get running in that game's install folder. Then whenever you want to resurrect an old game, just copy that custom dosbox.conf from there into the main DOSBox folder, and away you go! happydance
-----------------------------------------------

Cheers,
metzomagic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63294
05/27/06 03:13 PM
05/27/06 03:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Nanjoan Offline
Addicted Boomer
Nanjoan  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Steve, you very kindly set us on the right road to playing Stonekeep.

Everything went well and the game started, but it crashes. A red cross appears in the middle of the screen and the screen goes black.

Do you have any ideas about this please.

Thanks

Nanjoan wave


I am gaming once again....
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63295
05/29/06 01:22 PM
05/29/06 01:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
Nanjoan, hi,

Quote:
Hi Steve, our son came around tonight and had got everything up and running.
Well... there's a big difference between that and:

Quote:
Everything went well and the game started, but it crashes. A red cross appears in the middle of the screen and the screen goes black.
If I had to guess, my guess would be that you are not starting up DOSBox before you start Stonekeep. In fact, I'd put money on it wink

Please reference my instructions a few posts up:

12. To run any time after that, just start up DOSBox, then:

cd \intrplay\stonkeep

then:

sk

(Instructions for starting up DOSBox begin at item 4 in that post)

See how that goes...
MetzO'Magic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63296
05/30/06 01:31 AM
05/30/06 01:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Nanjoan Offline
Addicted Boomer
Nanjoan  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,446
Scotland
Hi Steve.

Many thanks, I blame Hubby this time, it's his game. Working fine and he said the only problem now is he keeps getting killed lol

Appreciate your help.

Nanjoan wave


I am gaming once again....
Re: DOSBox: Let's go for it! #63297
05/30/06 06:54 AM
05/30/06 06:54 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
metzomagic Offline OP
Settled Boomer
metzomagic  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 557
Dublin, Ireland
Nanjoan, hi again,

Good guess that one, eh? thumbsup

Cheers,
MetzO'Magic


Now playing:
The Witcher

Running old games in XP/Vista? Then visit Steve's XP Corner!
Page 6 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
3 registered members (TLC, BrownEyedTigre, 1 invisible), 75 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Candilina, ttomm46, kenna98, Fenotak, Sean_Parker
9143 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™