GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Graphics card #734335
06/22/11 02:29 PM
06/22/11 02:29 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 7,762
Kentwood, Left my heart in New...
JohnBoy Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
JohnBoy  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 7,762
Kentwood, Left my heart in New...
Is there a graphics card for under $150 that will play all the latest games without any lag in frame rate?

Last edited by JohnBoy; 06/22/11 02:29 PM.

I Baag, Therefore I Am. Update: I Don't Baag Anymore, Therefore I Ain't! Update: I'm baaging again but just a little.
JohnBoy
----------------
Re: Graphics card [Re: JohnBoy] #734355
06/22/11 03:18 PM
06/22/11 03:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
I just picked up a GTX 460 in that price range at Fry's. Looks like they still have several available (at even lower prices). I'm not sure if they ship though.

Newegg has a few in that range - The 1MB cards perform better than the 768MB cards.

GTX 460 Cards

Make sure you've got a big enough PSU and an available PCI-x16 slot before you purchase anything though.

Re: Graphics card [Re: InlandAZ] #734374
06/22/11 04:23 PM
06/22/11 04:23 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 7,762
Kentwood, Left my heart in New...
JohnBoy Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
JohnBoy  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 7,762
Kentwood, Left my heart in New...
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
I just picked up a GTX 460 in that price range at Fry's. Looks like they still have several available (at even lower prices). I'm not sure if they ship though.

Newegg has a few in that range - The 1MB cards perform better than the 768MB cards.

GTX 460 Cards

Make sure you've got a big enough PSU and an available PCI-x16 slot before you purchase anything though.
I have a pci-E 2.0 slot. ANd how do I find the PSU info of my computer

Here are my specs:
Version 6.0.6002 Service Pack 2 Build 6002
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name JOHNBOY-PC
System Manufacturer Compaq-Presario
System Model KY700AA-ABA SR5807c
System Type x64-based PC
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e, 2500 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD V5.36, 11/19/2008
SMBIOS Version 2.4

Last edited by JohnBoy; 06/22/11 04:34 PM.

I Baag, Therefore I Am. Update: I Don't Baag Anymore, Therefore I Ain't! Update: I'm baaging again but just a little.
JohnBoy
----------------
Re: Graphics card [Re: JohnBoy] #734382
06/22/11 04:50 PM
06/22/11 04:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
If this is your PC - it only has a 250 watt power supply -

Compaq Presario SR5807C System Specs

You'd have to upgrade the PSU as well to support a GTX 460.

Re: Graphics card [Re: InlandAZ] #734385
06/22/11 04:55 PM
06/22/11 04:55 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 7,762
Kentwood, Left my heart in New...
JohnBoy Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
JohnBoy  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 7,762
Kentwood, Left my heart in New...
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
If this is your PC - it only has a 250 watt power supply -

Compaq Presario SR5807C System Specs

You'd have to upgrade the PSU as well to support a GTX 460.


How do I upgrade the power supply and what about the pci-e slot?


I Baag, Therefore I Am. Update: I Don't Baag Anymore, Therefore I Ain't! Update: I'm baaging again but just a little.
JohnBoy
----------------
Re: Graphics card [Re: JohnBoy] #734392
06/22/11 05:09 PM
06/22/11 05:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,816
southeast USA
Jenny100 Online content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Online Content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,816
southeast USA
Inland's link (if that's your computer) says you have a PCI-E x16 slot.

To upgrade the power supply you have to take out the old one and put in the new one, reconnecting all the connections.

Here's a video showing how
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzolRkN7Eew

Here's an article showing how
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/362

Re: Graphics card [Re: Jenny100] #734419
06/22/11 07:23 PM
06/22/11 07:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
They're not difficult to replace, but not for the timid either. If you don't feel comfortable disconnecting "all" your hardware and pulling the PSU yourself, you might check with a local PC shop to see what it runs.

If the PC I linked to isn't your specific model, open the case and check the label on the power supply. It should state the wattage supplied.

You can probably find it somewhere in the product specifications docs well.

Re: Graphics card [Re: InlandAZ] #734615
06/23/11 02:39 PM
06/23/11 02:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 920
West Seattle, WA
ces Offline
Settled Boomer
ces  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 920
West Seattle, WA
Belarc has a FREE download that will tell you anything you want to know about your computer. The following is from their website http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html - I've used it for years.

"Belarc Advisor - Free Personal PC Audit

Belarc Advisor The Belarc Advisor builds a detailed profile of your installed software and hardware, network inventory, missing Microsoft hotfixes, anti-virus status, security benchmarks, and displays the results in your Web browser. All of your PC profile information is kept private on your PC and is not sent to any web server."


Christine
Re: Graphics card [Re: ces] #734621
06/23/11 03:04 PM
06/23/11 03:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,816
southeast USA
Jenny100 Online content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Online Content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,816
southeast USA
I don't remember Belarc ever telling me what power supply I had.
It should tell you about your PCI-E x16 slot though.

Re: Graphics card [Re: Jenny100] #734683
06/23/11 07:21 PM
06/23/11 07:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,336
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,336
In Missouri near St. Louis
Belarc gives me a lot of info, but nothing about the power supply.


Tomatoes! On to the BLT's!
Re: Graphics card [Re: Draclvr] #734735
06/23/11 10:48 PM
06/23/11 10:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,132
Arizona
I don't think there's any to detect the PSU potential through software. You have to open the case and look.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
5 registered members (Ewil02, Jenny100, oldbroad, Marian, BrownEyedTigre), 6 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
DeLorean00, RENAUD, Sjors__, JinxItGames, Yes
9094 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™