GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Still Life #791190
02/26/12 09:59 PM
02/26/12 09:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
I can get the opening screens (company logos) but then the screen goes completely black. I appreciate any help.

Thanks,

gameho

Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #791198
02/26/12 10:39 PM
02/26/12 10:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Which version of the game do you have?
A download version or a CD version?
If you have the CD version, you may be getting a StarForce problem.

Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #791927
02/29/12 09:13 PM
02/29/12 09:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
CD version but I don't see any message about StarForce.

gameho

Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #791935
02/29/12 09:32 PM
02/29/12 09:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
StarForce never gives you a message. It just freezes to a black screen or kicks you out.

Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #792217
03/02/12 01:05 AM
03/02/12 01:05 AM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
How do I get past this?

Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #792243
03/02/12 07:06 AM
03/02/12 07:06 AM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 256
Creeping_Doom Offline
Settled Boomer
Creeping_Doom  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 256
You can attempt to remove the Star Force driver , by downloading the removal driver from Star Force , available here : Star Force Drivers

Another possible option , is to download the game from GOG . The cost is $9.99 : Still Life

Depending on the version of Windows you are utilizing , there is a patch available that was for Windows Vista users that may help . At the core level , Vista and Windows 7 are basically the same . The patch , as I understand it , was in French , but was acceptable to use for English games .

Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #792289
03/02/12 11:11 AM
03/02/12 11:11 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: gameho
How do I get past this?

As Creeping_Doom said, you can get the StarForce-free version of the game from GOG. Chances are that you're having a StarForce problem if you have Vista or Windows 7, but you could also have one with XP if your CD drive doesn't meet StarForce's requirements.

The alternative is to uninstall the StarForce drivers and use a NoCD for Still Life. If you have Vista or Windows 7, Windows probably blocked the StarForce drivers from installing in the first place so you won't need to uninstall it.

In case you were wondering, it's the old version of StarForce (StarForce v3) that's incompatible with Vista and Windows 7. The new version (StarForce v5) doesn't work the same way and doesn't have these problems with Vista and Windows 7 (though there's still the possibility of it not working with your CD drive, just as with other disc-based copy "protections"). Unfortunately installing StarForce v5 will not allow you to play games that use StarForce v3. So you're left with the NoCD. I'm not familiar with the French patch that Creeping_Doom mentioned, but there are apparently different English NoCD's depending on whether you have version 1.0 or version 1.03 of the English version of the game.

If you download a NoCD and it's a .rar file, you'll need a program that can unzip .rar files, like 7-zip (free) or WinRAR. Whenever you download a free program, pay attention during the install to make sure it isn't installing a toolbar that you don't want.

Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #792304
03/02/12 12:58 PM
03/02/12 12:58 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Duluth, MN
Gnabgib Offline
Shy Boomer
Gnabgib  Offline
Shy Boomer

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Duluth, MN
which cd version did you buy? The original release in a box, or as part of a game set? I recently bought it with three other games on one disc and had the same problem with the logo screens and then the black screen. I just got it to work. Go to the folder it's installed in and right click game.exe. Then go to the compatibility tab and check run as administrator, disable desktop composition, and disable visual themes. Then check the box to run in compatibility mode and select windows nt 4.0. I did this and now it runs on my windows 7 64 bit desktop. Hope this works for you.


"To Alcohol, The Cause Of And Solution To, All Of Life's Problems." Homer Simpson
Currently Playing: ResidentEvil 6 on PS3, Penumbra: Necrologue on PC
Re: Still Life [Re: gameho] #792622
03/03/12 04:01 PM
03/03/12 04:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
Thank you guys so much. I got it working by following Gnabgib's instructions. I really appreciate it!

gameho

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
3 registered members (BrownEyedTigre, deleterman, 1 invisible), 33 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Sean, dibbzlive, Parobot, Fitzie, Beckymc
9255 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™