GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Syberia will not run onder Win 7 #1083285
09/23/16 12:05 AM
09/23/16 12:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
mad

I*m pulling my hair with this eek

I have Syberia on orig. discs and the game installs fine under my Win 7 /Dx11 computer incl the gamepatch.

BUT it will not run....... I've tried all different compability modes with no luck.

So PLEASE anyone with some ideas on how to get this running.
I would like to replay the two games Before Syberia 3 is coming.


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1083293
09/23/16 02:44 AM
09/23/16 02:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 819
Hillegom, ZH, NL
J
Jarkeld Offline
Settled Boomer
Jarkeld  Offline
Settled Boomer
J

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 819
Hillegom, ZH, NL
I read somewhere that for one person the fix was changing the desktop resolution to 800*600 or 1280*720. He had a problem that he got stuck at a black screen trying to run it.

Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Jarkeld] #1083297
09/23/16 03:43 AM
09/23/16 03:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Many thanks Jarkeld thumbsup

but I've tried that "changing resolution" and also the 8 bit solution.


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1083329
09/23/16 08:35 AM
09/23/16 08:35 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Is this for both Syberia 1 and Syberia 2? Or is it just for Syberia 2? If it is Syberia 2, then the culprit is most likely the DRM on the disk. I can't remember for sure, but I was thinking only Syberia 2 had DRM, but maybe they both did.

Microsoft has *in its infinite wisdom* (cough, choke) seen fit to install blocking on Windows 7, 8.1 and 10 computers for certain forms of DRM. There are many old disk games that will install, but will not play because of this. In Windows 7, there is supposedly a way to reverse this, but it takes a little doing. You can read about it here...

http://www.howtogeek.com/230773/how-to-p...-8-7-and-vista/

You might also try looking for a No-CD patch for the games. The best solution is to just get the games DRM free from GOG.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Draclvr] #1083340
09/23/16 10:27 AM
09/23/16 10:27 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Well Draclvr, Its the first Syberia Game I have problems with. Though I'm not 110% sure BUT 99% sure that the first Syberia game wasn't "soiled" with any DRM on the discs. (but I might stand corrected on that)

I was hoping to avoid "buying the game again"......


A thought; When the game came out it required at least DX7, since I have DX 11 now would it be an idea to "install an older version" of DX, 9 for example. I know that since I have DX 11 and installs an older version of DX It still remains DX 11 but some files only located in the older DX installs?????? Or am I beeing "stupid" in this conclution??


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1083342
09/23/16 11:02 AM
09/23/16 11:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
According to GCW the disc version of Syberia uses SafeDisc 2.
Do a Google search for
Syberia NoCD
to find out what GCW is.

I don't know if SafeDisc 2 uses the securom.sys driver that Microsoft blocked from running with Windows update KB3086255.

You can try a NoCD, but the original disc version also needs a patch to take care of problems with hyperthreading that the original version had. Unfortunately the patch may "update" the DRM to a newer version.

If this is a computer you've used for older games before, you've probably already installed DirectX 9.0c. DirectX 9.0c is backwards compatible and necessary for most adventure games, even some current ones. DirectX 11 is not backwards compatible with 9 and earlier. "Installing" DirectX 9.0c on Windows 7 does not replace DirectX 11 but adds files it's missing.

DRM-free versions of Syberia are sold by several online shops, sometimes for as little as $1.99 when there's a sale. It's normally around $10. A download version would fix any problems with DRM or patches, but you'd still need to have installed DirectX 9.0c at some point.

Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Jenny100] #1083348
09/23/16 11:39 AM
09/23/16 11:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
According to GCW the disc version of Syberia uses SafeDisc 2.
Do a Google search for
Syberia NoCD
to find out what GCW is.

I don't know if SafeDisc 2 uses the securom.sys driver that Microsoft blocked from running with Windows update KB3086255.

You can try a NoCD, but the original disc version also needs a patch to take care of problems with hyperthreading that the original version had. Unfortunately the patch may "update" the DRM to a newer version.

If this is a computer you've used for older games before, you've probably already installed DirectX 9.0c. DirectX 9.0c is backwards compatible and necessary for most adventure games, even some current ones. DirectX 11 is not backwards compatible with 9 and earlier. "Installing" DirectX 9.0c on Windows 7 does not replace DirectX 11 but adds files it's missing.

DRM-free versions of Syberia are sold by several online shops, sometimes for as little as $1.99 when there's a sale. It's normally around $10. A download version would fix any problems with DRM or patches, but you'd still need to have installed DirectX 9.0c at some point.



thumbsup urock Jenny100

Thanks a lot for your wise Words, and for clearing out my DX suspiciouns praise and you're correct on the "older games played and already installed Dx 9.0c" sherlock
a NoCD is a "no no" for me so I will probably go for an online (steam) version since I found one priced at $6 .

Though I almost ( 15 min ago)got it running under my WinXP virtual PC version since I have Win 7 PRO, except the "simulated" Graphics card there does not have 3D acc. smashpc

But for now I will let it rest and go and have a relaxing Sauna, to let my brain rest and later come back to this "problem" with a clear mind whistle


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1083350
09/23/16 12:00 PM
09/23/16 12:00 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
I know what you mean, Lagavulin - I've tried to avoid buying these games again too. But a few are worth the investment to me, so I have gone that route just to avoid the aggravation.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1083353
09/23/16 12:58 PM
09/23/16 12:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Lagavulin
Though I almost ( 15 min ago)got it running under my WinXP virtual PC version since I have Win 7 PRO, except the "simulated" Graphics card there does not have 3D acc.

Yes, Virtual PC emulates the S3 Trio video card with 8MB video memory and no hardware acceleration.
Virtual PC is good for Windows games from the 1990's or those few later games that don't require 3D acceleration.

Functionally XP Mode is the same as Virtual PC with XP installed, only it's made so it looks more integrated into the Windows 7 desktop than Virtual PC normally is.

If you're interested and you have the Windows CD, you could try VMware Player (free for home use) and enable 3D acceleration as described at
https://www.vmware.com/support/ws5/doc/ws_vidsound_d3d_enabling_vm.html

VMware renamed VMware Player to "VMware Workstation Player" but it's the same thing.
***link to VMware Workstation Player download***

Inland used to use VMware Player for some games instead of Virtual PC. I don't know if he ran Syberia this way though.

If you are using XP or later, there is also VirtualBox, and there are instructions for enabling 3d acceleration here
https://www.maketecheasier.com/enable-3d-acceleration-in-virtualbox/

Usually when I run a Virtual Machine it is with Windows 95 or 98, but this has gotten tricky for more recent computers due to their increased speed (both processor speed and hardware virtualization capability).

Of course if all you want to do is play Syberia, it's easier to buy a pre-patched download without the DRM. But not all old games have download versions, and for those you might want to try a VM and see how well the 3D graphics emulation works.

Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Jenny100] #1083362
09/23/16 01:24 PM
09/23/16 01:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,059
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,059
near Yosemite in California
Just wanted to say that I have played games in Virtual PC that require 3D acceleration. What I had to do was to enable hardware virtualization in the BIOS (assuming this feature is available on your computer). I was then able to play both Arthur's Knights games, among others, using the 3D acceleration. Graphically they both looked better, being able to run them that way.

Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1083574
09/25/16 10:03 AM
09/25/16 10:03 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
thanks

For all your input in this matter, I will go for the "Steam GoG" solution. The Bios thing is probably a bit to "out there" for me.

CHEERS and thanks to all sherlock


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Draclvr] #1084847
10/06/16 12:01 AM
10/06/16 12:01 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
Microsoft has *in its infinite wisdom* (cough, choke) seen fit to install blocking on Windows 7, 8.1 and 10 computers for certain forms of DRM.


It is a very good thing that they did. Many of these DRM schemes could actually cause damage to hardware. They also required being installed as a ring 0 driver, which should never, ever been allowed for just a game in the first place. That can easily add tremendous security and stability risks. Disallowing such installations is far better than the slight inconvenience of having to apply a no-CD patch or buying a DRM free version.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1084886
10/06/16 08:48 AM
10/06/16 08:48 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
I know, Collector and I agree. But they have taken my ability to make decisions away from me. I have several $50+ games for which there is no no-CD patch or a DRM version. For the games which are available in a DRM free version, I have re-purchased several of them.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1084916
10/06/16 02:39 PM
10/06/16 02:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
I would place the onus on Rovi and the other DRM creators. they should have released an update or even a dummy driver that requires no ring 0 access. Microsoft is in a damned if they do and a damned if they don't situation. Remember that enterprise is their bread and butter. Security has to take precedence over backwards compatibility. But then this is inevitable. Games used to require direct access to hardware which has not been allowed on consumer Windows since before XP. The APIs that many games and media programs rely on change over time, creating compatibility problems. 16-bit programs won't run on modern hardware. This is just one more step in the evolution of hardware and OSs that creates compatibility issues with legacy games and programs.

But then this is also what I have been involved with for years and what my site is dedicated to. Getting these old games to run on modern systems.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Collector] #1084918
10/06/16 02:44 PM
10/06/16 02:44 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,059
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,059
near Yosemite in California
Originally Posted By: Collector


But then this is also what I have been involved with for years and what my site is dedicated to. Getting these old games to run on modern systems.


And I appreciate it. Without you and other folks like the creators of DOSBox, there are many games I would never get to play again. wave

Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1084927
10/06/16 03:47 PM
10/06/16 03:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
I have some of those installers myself!


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Draclvr] #1085049
10/07/16 01:20 PM
10/07/16 01:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
I have several $50+ games for which there is no no-CD patch or a DRM version.

Don't instructions for permitting the secdrv.sys service like the one described at howtogeek allow you to run those games on Windows 7?
http://www.howtogeek.com/230773/how-to-p...-8-7-and-vista/

If not, the problem is more likely due to the DRM itself, which doesn't work so well on older CD/DVD drives that no longer operate at the speed the DRM requires -- and sometimes don't work with brand new drives which aren't quite within the DRM's requirements either. The DRM blacklists some of Microsoft's Sysinternals tools too. So not only does the DRM make you more vulnerable to viruses/other malware, it tries to block one of the means of detecting and removing those viruses/other malware.

Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1085065
10/07/16 02:12 PM
10/07/16 02:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
I have yet to give it a try myself. I haven't booted up into my Windows 7 drive for a long time, but it's on my list to give it a try.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1085794
10/14/16 11:08 AM
10/14/16 11:08 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
wink

I've been having this "problem on hold" and playing Another game but
I see now that the two first games are sold at JustAdv store for $ 3,75 joy2

I will probably aim for this BUT to be absolutely shure, will they play under Win 7........
It does not actually say that , so if anyone can confirm this I will be so greatful sherlock


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1085820
10/14/16 12:49 PM
10/14/16 12:49 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Are these disks or downloads? If they are disks, then you will have the same issues. If they don't say anything about playing in Windows 7 on up, then I'd guess they won't. If you purchase downloads from GOG, they should have any DRM removed and patched to play on your Windows 7 if so indicated at GOG.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1085825
10/14/16 02:11 PM
10/14/16 02:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA

He's talking about this
https://www.digitaldownload.com/pack-syberia-1-2.html

No they don't sell discs.

Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1085837
10/14/16 03:13 PM
10/14/16 03:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,927
In Missouri near St. Louis
Ah, I see. I don't use JA, but should have checked.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1085845
10/14/16 04:37 PM
10/14/16 04:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
joy

Well never mind the earlier question scared

They have the same on Steam for EUR 2,99 .... so problem solved sherlock I hope


CHEERS to all


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Re: Syberia will not run onder Win 7 [Re: Lagavulin] #1086398
10/18/16 01:51 PM
10/18/16 01:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
Lagavulin Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Lagavulin  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Stockholm, Sweden
broccoli yay

Well finally replaying Syberia and it looks fantastic dance

Orig when I played this game years ago I gave it 2 sherlock out of 5 sherlock
BUT so far I am sure it will be upgraded leaving Barrockstad wave2


ON:Ether One Redux
Recent:Stasis,Gabriel Knight3(RP),Gabriel Knight2(RP),Barrow Hill D P,Syberia2(RP),Secret Files P C,Inner World,Eyes Of Ara
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
boys5times, alibab2004xx, AdipsonStudio, booooo, anon
9215 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™