GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Yesterday Origins #1089127
11/11/16 12:05 AM
11/11/16 12:05 AM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
I just purchased this game on Steam today...I was really looking forward to it. When I launch the game, it goes to a black screen with a white circle that just spins and spins and spins etc..
Has anyone else had this this problem and if so did you fix it? I will give it another day or two then I am requesting a refund.

Thanks,

gameho

I am checking it every few minutes....it's still spinning! I also deleted and re-installed the game. Still spinning!

Last edited by gameho; 11/11/16 12:16 AM.
Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089129
11/11/16 12:16 AM
11/11/16 12:16 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Is it still downloading?
Or downloading again?

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089130
11/11/16 12:19 AM
11/11/16 12:19 AM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
No, it's finished downloading and I get the Play! screen. When I click Play! that's when it starts to spin forever. Thanks for listening and trying to help.

gameho

When I go back to Steam, it tells me it's running. I have it minimized and it's still spinning. I didn't mean to "stack the post"; I thought I clicked "edit". Sorry.

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089132
11/11/16 12:45 AM
11/11/16 12:45 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
I combined your posts for you.
I checked Steam forums and it looks to me like the game will need a patch.

Make sure your graphics card meets the requirements.
They did the backgrounds in 3D so requirements are higher than for previous games from Pendulo.
Quote:
Graphics: ATI/NVIDIA dedicated/integrated or mobile graphic card, with at least 512MB of dedicated VRAM and with at least Shader Model 4.0 support

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089137
11/11/16 01:21 AM
11/11/16 01:21 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
S
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer
sanford  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
Hi Gameho,
I too, purchased this game from Steam, and after launching the game for the first time, I DID get that "spinning circle" for quite a long time. I also thought that it wouldn't start at all, but after waiting, and waiting, and waiting, it DID finally start after all, and it's running really well on my
Win 10 computer. Give it another try before you ask for Steam Support,which usually turns out to be NON-support, at least in my case. Maybe others have had better experiences using Steam Support, but I have NOT.
I hope you get your game up and running really soon.
Sandy

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089183
11/11/16 10:32 AM
11/11/16 10:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
Sanford, do you have to wait a long time every time you launch the game or just the initial launch?

It has been "spinning" for about 2 hours now. I know you said you waited a long time, but this is ridiculous!

Last edited by gameho; 11/11/16 12:32 PM.
Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089242
11/11/16 03:25 PM
11/11/16 03:25 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
S
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer
sanford  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
Now when I launch the game it does not take too long to start., as it did the first time. As far as having to wait for two hours or more to launch it is definitely NOT normal. I guess you will have to contact Steam Support after all. i'm sorry that you are experiening this problem, and I hope that Steam will get your game up and running. Good Luck, and please keep us posted.
Sandy (Sanford)

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089286
11/11/16 11:40 PM
11/11/16 11:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
gameho Offline OP
Settled Boomer
gameho  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 714
Thanks, Sandy. I am very frustrated; it runs just fine on my son's computer and he has a older one than mine! I was so looking forward to this game. I'm afraid I am going to run out on the Steam refund option because every time I try to run it, I get extra "play" hours. I will try to keep you posted...am I the only one that has this problem?

gameho

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089289
11/12/16 12:06 AM
11/12/16 12:06 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Other people have had the problem with the game not starting, but the most common problem is a disappearing cursor.
http://steamcommunity.com/app/465280/discussions/0/217691032431917750/

I suggest getting the refund.
You can always buy it again later if you hear the problem is fixed. Either that or play it on your son's computer.

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: Jenny100] #1089298
11/12/16 03:25 AM
11/12/16 03:25 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
S
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer
sanford  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
Hi Jenny, I'm getting the same problem regarding the disappearing cursor, but, unfortunately when I now restart the game, I am NOT getting the "settings screen" any longer when I start the game, as stated in the forum link you provided. so I can't adjust the resolution in order to correct that cursor problem. I also purchased this game from Steam. Any input about this problem would be appreciated.
Sandy

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089320
11/12/16 09:12 AM
11/12/16 09:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
There's probably some way to get the game to display the resolution setting again. Games often have a separate configuration utility you could run, usually in the same folder or Start Menu location as the game .exe. So if you can find the game folder, look to see if you can find a different .exe besides the game .exe.

The game would also have created a configuration file (or files) somewhere, which might be editable. But who knows where it would be these days. Possibly the same folder as the saves, possibly the game folder. It might be an .ini or .inf or .conf.or file that is editable with notepad.

+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+

You might need Visual C++. The developer posted links to DirectX 9.0c and Visual C++ at Steam forums.
http://steamcommunity.com/app/465280/discussions/0/217691032431917750/?ctp=3

Most people who've played adventure games and older games on their computers will already have DirectX 9.0c. But it's possible they don't have the 64-bit version of Visual C++.
Originally Posted By: PENDULO Studios
Regarding the problem with the cursor dissapearing. We need more information about the problem: graphics card used, resolution of the monitor, steps to reproduce it, etc. Any information could be very helpful. Also, please, it is very important that you update your DirectX and graphics card drivers to the very last version.
In order to update DirectX

Link to DirectX
https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=34429

- Regarding the problem with the game not loading at the very beginning (infinite loop in the loading screen). Install the redistributable that you can find at:

Link to Microsoft Redistributable Installer
https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=48145

and then, choose the 64 bits version after clicking on download (vc_redist.x64.exe). If this doesn't fix your problem, please, let us know.


+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+

From the Steam forum, apparently there was an update that broke the mouse control for some people. Update was announced here
http://steamcommunity.com/app/465280/discussions/0/217691032431754838/
Issues were reported afterward...
http://steamcommunity.com/app/465280/discussions/0/217691032431917750/?ctp=3
http://steamcommunity.com/app/465280/discussions/0/217691032431917750/?ctp=4

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: Jenny100] #1089358
11/12/16 04:22 PM
11/12/16 04:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
S
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer
sanford  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
Thanks again, Jenny,
I'll give it a try and see what happens. On this subject, I DID already go to my Steam folder, then to the folder "Yesterday Origins", and just for the heck of it, Right clicked on the "exe" file> Compatability, and checked "Display Scaling", and also "Run as Administrator". I then launched the game again, and SO FAR, My cursor is NOT disappearing,but not only THAT, the cursor is actually steadier than it was before. I also created a shortcut for the .exe that is in the actual folder, and I'm launching the game from THAT icon on my desktop, and NOT from the original game shortcut provided by Steam. If this doesn't continue to work for me, I will address this as well at a later time.
BTW, I'm still NOT getting the Settings Menu when launching the game, but if it's working correctly after tailoring the Compatibility settings. it rally doesn't matter any longer, at least in MY case. WHEW!
Sandy

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1089362
11/12/16 06:56 PM
11/12/16 06:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Well it sounds like you fixed it, Sanford, and in your case the problem had nothing to do with changing resolution. Maybe your resolution is already set properly. As for why it worked at first and then stopped working -- that probably had something to do with the new version of the game that was automatically downloaded through Steam. But now it's fixed and hopefully will stay that way.

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: Jenny100] #1089367
11/12/16 08:20 PM
11/12/16 08:20 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
S
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer
sanford  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
Thanks Jenny, and the word IS "hopefully". LOL
Sandy

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1093370
12/19/16 08:05 PM
12/19/16 08:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
T
TeaMonster Offline
Shy Boomer
TeaMonster  Offline
Shy Boomer
T

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
Hello!

I really hope that someone can help me here...
Am also getting the never ending loading screen :-( I have downloaded the Redistributable and tried to install it several times, but nothing is happening... The last time I let it run for several hours over the night, and it never finishes! It hasn't frozen, I can still choose to cancel it, and then it says that it failed because I ended it.
I have noticed that on the microsoft site it says that the file should be 13,9 MB, all mine are 13,8 MB?
Can that be the problem or is it something else? Maybe someone can provide me with a "full" file?
Help please!!!

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1093371
12/19/16 08:37 PM
12/19/16 08:37 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA


You might have to run the Visual C++ as an Administrator.
Right-click the file, then choose "Run As Administrator.

It should not take several hours to install, but it might hang and never start installing if antivirus or UAC is blocking it. An antivirus may also slow the installation way down, or put up prompts behind the installation window so you don't see them.

The problem could be something else of course, like the game not being set for the right resolution for your monitor.

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1093425
12/20/16 08:08 AM
12/20/16 08:08 AM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
T
TeaMonster Offline
Shy Boomer
TeaMonster  Offline
Shy Boomer
T

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
Hi Jenny100!

Tried running it as administrator and turned off the antivirus, but it is still the same never ending install...

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1093446
12/20/16 11:04 AM
12/20/16 11:04 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA

Do you have 32-bit or 64-bit Windows?
There are different downloads depending on which one you have.

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1093452
12/20/16 11:16 AM
12/20/16 11:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
T
TeaMonster Offline
Shy Boomer
TeaMonster  Offline
Shy Boomer
T

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
I have win7 64-bit and have downloaded the version they mension on steam.

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1093462
12/20/16 12:11 PM
12/20/16 12:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
I just downloaded vc_redist.x64.exe from
https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=48145

The file size I get is 13.9 MB (14,572,000 bytes)

The md5 checksum is
27b141aacc2777a82bb3fa9f6e5e5c1c

If you don't have an md5 utility, you can upload to virustotal.com and look for the md5 under the "additional information" tab of the results for the md5 and other checksums (checksums make sure you got the whole file)

I don't know why it should take a long time to install.

Do you have Windows 7 SP1 installed?
According to what I read, SP1 is necessary to install vc_redist.x64.exe on Windows 7.

Re: Yesterday Origins [Re: gameho] #1093470
12/20/16 01:00 PM
12/20/16 01:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
T
TeaMonster Offline
Shy Boomer
TeaMonster  Offline
Shy Boomer
T

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
I get the same checksum as you.
Right clicking on the file it says size 13,8 (14 572 000 byte)
and size on disk 13,8 (14 573 568 byte)

I have SP1.

I really appriciate your help!

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Reenie, oldbroad), 31 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Blackwell, JackieH, pax, Valeryous, harlequit
9268 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™