GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Google change? #1162502
09/07/18 06:17 PM
09/07/18 06:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,849
Michigan
Geo Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Geo  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,849
Michigan
This is not a big thing but something changed with Google. Forever when I brought up Google the cursor was already blinking in the search box.I would just start typing and do my thing. Now I notice the cursor does NOT automatically appear in the search box. I am so used to just starting typing by now that I don't notice nothing is happening until I am done typing and nothing is there. Like I said this is not a big deal but did something change or can I get the cursor to automatically be in the search box?

Re: Google change? [Re: Geo] #1162507
09/07/18 07:44 PM
09/07/18 07:44 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,374
R
Robert Gault Offline
Addicted Boomer
Robert Gault  Offline
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,374
Something definitely changed with Google some time ago. What you see probably will depend on your OS and Browser.

For me with WinXP SP3 and Seamonkey, I see the cursor, but the size of the cursor and text is half of what it used to be. That means the cursor and text are in the upper half of the search box.
I'm pretty sure that Google searching is normal at my library which uses a more modern OS and a different browser.

I have not found any setting that will get the search box to operate normally on my system.

Re: Google change? [Re: Robert Gault] #1162511
09/07/18 07:57 PM
09/07/18 07:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,347
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,347
near Yosemite in California
There are a few suggestions here.

Re: Google change? [Re: Geo] #1163116
09/14/18 07:28 PM
09/14/18 07:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
S
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer
sanford  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
Hi,
I have been using Google Chrome for years now, but I have never come across the mentioned cursor problem. I DO have Win 10 now, if that makes a difference at all.
Sandy

Re: Google change? [Re: Geo] #1163124
09/14/18 08:58 PM
09/14/18 08:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,048
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,048
In Missouri near St. Louis
Are you talking about Google Chrome? I just opened my Chrome and my cursor was blinking in the search box.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: Google change? [Re: Geo] #1163127
09/14/18 09:24 PM
09/14/18 09:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,077
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
Adept Boomer
oldbroad  Offline
Adept Boomer

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,077
Chicago
In IE the cursor is not in the box when you start typing but I'm pretty sure it used to be.

Re: Google change? [Re: oldbroad] #1163134
09/14/18 11:04 PM
09/14/18 11:04 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 30,839
United Kingdom
Mad Offline
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 30,839
United Kingdom
Well this all sounds very weird ....

I use IE and the cursor is blinking in the box ready for me as soon as the opening page hits the screen.

And the same goes for Firefox - which is the other browser I use yes

[Using Win7.]


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Google change? [Re: Geo] #1163144
09/15/18 02:11 AM
09/15/18 02:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
S
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer
sanford  Offline
Addicted Boomer
S

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,000
Hicksville, NY USA
Yes Draclvr,
Definitely CHROME, the only browser I use, with a few exceptions.
Sandy

Re: Google change? [Re: Geo] #1163170
09/15/18 08:47 AM
09/15/18 08:47 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,988
The Country
Winfrey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Winfrey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,988
The Country
I use Chrome and when I open a new page the cursor is at the top of the page my address line.. even if I click in the google box area when I type it goes right back to the top of the address line... has been doing this for a very long time.


Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran
Re: Google change? [Re: Geo] #1163175
09/15/18 09:51 AM
09/15/18 09:51 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,048
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,048
In Missouri near St. Louis
Yes, Chrome started using the address line for searching quite a long time ago. It also may depend on what home page you use. I use Bing.com and my cursor is blinking in the search box in Edge, Firefox and Chrome.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 37 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
bigmuzzi, Stormspirit68, Pastoria, vince, prousy
9225 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™