GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Jack the Ripper (DOS version) #134832
09/24/03 02:28 PM
09/24/03 02:28 PM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 173
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
J
Josee Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Josee  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
J

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 173
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Hi. I have installed the older game by Gametek. Seems to have installed ok and I have sound, music, even scrolling of different opening scenes, and then I get to the final screen where a small display box indicates I can Load a previous game. There is no mouse cursor nor an option to start a new game. What I understand from previous posts on this site is that I might need microsoft mouse driver 8.10 or 9.01. Can anyone give me a VERY direct link where I can download this? I can't seem to find this on my own without going all over the place. Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Jack the Ripper (DOS version) #134833
09/24/03 07:32 PM
09/24/03 07:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Re: Jack the Ripper (DOS version) #134834
09/25/03 06:46 PM
09/25/03 06:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,118
Portland, Oregon
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer
Scout  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,118
Portland, Oregon
Josee, if you aren't having any luck I have the 9.01 mouse driver for DOS 6.22/WIN 3.1 I could e-mail to you.

Mike

Re: Jack the Ripper (DOS version) #134835
09/26/03 04:44 PM
09/26/03 04:44 PM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 173
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
J
Josee Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Josee  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
J

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 173
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Hi. Thanks for the links. Mike, I have Windows 98, so would 9.01 mouse driver work? PS: How do I know what version of DOS I have?

Re: Jack the Ripper (DOS version) #134836
09/26/03 08:37 PM
09/26/03 08:37 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,118
Portland, Oregon
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer
Scout  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,118
Portland, Oregon
It's DOS 7.0 that's bundled with WIN 98se. Not sure if this driver would work or not. Did you find anything in inferno's links? I'll go through my bookmarks tonight and see if I can locate where I got this driver. I remember it was difficult to find as Microsoft sort of made a point of discontinuing it and stripping it off driver sites. They were selling it for a while, charging like 25.00 for a mouse driver!! Sweet.

EDIT: I reread my posts for this game and saw that I could never get it going in WIN98se. Not that it's impossible, just that with my setup I couldn't do it. The only way I got it to work was with pure DOS 6.22 with the mouse901.exe driver for DOS. The cutemouse and logitech DOS drivers didn't work.

Re: Jack the Ripper (DOS version) #134837
09/26/03 11:47 PM
09/26/03 11:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,632
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,632
southeast USA
I started playing a loaned version of Jack the Ripper. I didn't finish the game (I didn't like the gameplay). But I got it working in DOS mode of Win 95. It didn't play with Windows 95 running (it kept freezing).

I can send you a couple of mouse drivers if you want. I think I used the one made by Mitsumi. It's very compatible with games (though you may need to load it high if you're short on conventional memory) and you can load it without any switches. I've used it with both PS/2 and serial mice, mostly Logitech mice.

I also have another mouse that is very compatible, but which requires a switch in order to use it with a PS/2 mouse. So instead of a line like

LH mouse.com

the line is

LH mouse/com /P

The /P is the switch
The LH is to load the mouse into upper memory so it doesn't take up space in conventional memory. I don't remember whether Jack the Ripper needed a lot of conventional memory or not.

I can email you either or both of these mouse drivers. They won't work with a USB mouse, but they'll work with various brands of PS/2 and Serial mice.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (OrleansBelle, Pandora), 4 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
fcbmev, Timotek, Kess, tarzantony, OhMaze
9076 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™