GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
MJ II - graphics problems #135397
03/28/04 10:39 AM
03/28/04 10:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
grandpa68 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
grandpa68  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
I have the Radeon 7500 graphics card installed and am playing the game at 32 bits resolution. Sometimes the graphics get really slow in spots. For example, before going thru the Touchstone door in that area, then pressing the buttons on the control stand near the airship. I would appreciate some help here as to what to do.


Keep smiling and the world will smile with you.
-------------------
Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135398
03/28/04 12:09 PM
03/28/04 12:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 7,858
North Florida
BillyBob Offline
BAAG Specialist
BillyBob  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 7,858
North Florida
Wondering if you have enough memory(?). Frankly, I'm not too big on this problem solving but I think that is mostly that I keep my equipment ahead of the requirements for most games. For that reason I don't have many problems and when I do I'm usually as "stumped" as anyone else. laugh


I didn't do it......and if I did I'm not guilty!
Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135399
03/28/04 12:53 PM
03/28/04 12:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,641
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,641
southeast USA
That's actually normal behavior for a computer that's slightly underpowered. You don't say what your processor speed is, but I'd guess you'd need a faster processor and/or a faster video card to get rid of the hesitations. The minimum requirements listed on the game box are certainly underestimated. I can't imagine anyone playing MJ2 on an 800 MHz computer and not getting a serious headache.

Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135400
03/29/04 06:42 AM
03/29/04 06:42 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
grandpa68 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
grandpa68  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
My processor is 1100 MHz, Jenny.


Keep smiling and the world will smile with you.
-------------------
Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135401
03/29/04 11:18 AM
03/29/04 11:18 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,641
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,641
southeast USA
I played MJ2 on a computer with a 1.2 GHz processor and an ATI 8500 video card. And there were places where the cursor would not move smoothly and one place on a hilltop near an ocean had an extreme slowdown. I think they really understated the minimum specs on this game. Someone might be able to get the game running on those specs, but the jerkiness they'd encounter would make it a real headache. I think the only way you could get it running smoothly (or noticeably smoother anyway) would be to get a faster video card. Note that the "recommended" processor speed is 1.6 GHz, which is more than either of us have.

Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135402
04/01/04 10:05 AM
04/01/04 10:05 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
grandpa68 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
grandpa68  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
Jenny, is there a way to use msconfig with this game to eliminate the unnecessary items in the background? Something to make the game think that I have a faster processor speed? I am enjoying this game but now that I have gotten to the Great Pavilion area, the graphics are running very slow and even worse with the cutscenes.Any suggestions Here????????


Keep smiling and the world will smile with you.
-------------------
Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135403
04/01/04 11:00 AM
04/01/04 11:00 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,641
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,641
southeast USA
There's not much you can do beyond getting a faster video card that would really make a difference. But have a look at msconfig and see what's being loaded at startup. Some of those things initialize at startup and then close back down again, so it isn't necessary to remove those. But maybe some things you have listed there aren't necessary. RealPlayer, for example, wouldn't be necessary.

Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135404
04/03/04 02:03 PM
04/03/04 02:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
grandpa68 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
grandpa68  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 559
Antelope Valley, So CA, USA
Thanks Jenny, I will take your advice concerning msconfig.


Keep smiling and the world will smile with you.
-------------------
Re: MJ II - graphics problems #135405
04/07/04 11:30 AM
04/07/04 11:30 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
home
Vanje Offline
Shy Boomer
Vanje  Offline
Shy Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
home
I'm having exactly the same problem. I'm in great pavillion now and I can't get control over my movements and when I do it is pretty slow. I too have a Radeon 7500 and 1.2GHz. I can't afford to upgrade my video card at the moment.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
fcbmev, Timotek, Kess, tarzantony, OhMaze
9076 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™