GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Mass Effect problems #367298
07/28/08 09:11 AM
07/28/08 09:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
I got the game, installed it and doesn't start. I sent a question to the support, they told me to update drivers, reinstall Directx files and if this didn't work to run dxdiag and send them the results. I did everything, even when I had done all the updates before installing the game. No more news, no more answers from them. Has anyone encountered problems also?

They also told me to install the latest patch but apparently no one is available. think


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #367301
07/28/08 09:15 AM
07/28/08 09:15 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,795
Alabama
looney4labs Offline
Moderator
looney4labs  Offline
Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,795
Alabama
Mcc, I bet the techies over at Glitches would have some advice for you. You'd need to post some info about your computer though-OS, etc.

I can transfer this thread or you can start a new one. Let me know wave


"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: looney4labs] #367340
07/28/08 10:37 AM
07/28/08 10:37 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
Thank you looneylabs,

I'll post another so I can give more information, like the message I have when trying to start the game


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #367351
07/28/08 10:55 AM
07/28/08 10:55 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
There's a self forum for tech problems over at the Bioware website that may be able to help you...



Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: Karsten] #367939
07/29/08 04:43 PM
07/29/08 04:43 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
Thank you all!

I decided to get a new games pc, then I hope this game installs without problems. It is disappointing though that they didn't come back with an explanation. I read other people had problems also and were expecting a patch but up to now nothing.


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #367964
07/29/08 05:35 PM
07/29/08 05:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,795
Alabama
looney4labs Offline
Moderator
looney4labs  Offline
Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,795
Alabama
luck


"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: looney4labs] #368284
07/30/08 10:23 AM
07/30/08 10:23 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Just wanted to let you know that the Bring Down the Sky DLC now is available from this place:

http://masseffect.bioware.com/galacticcodex/bringdownthesky_pc.html

Please note that this also contains patch 1.01. for the game.

There seem to have been reports about some textures and sounds not working, though, after installing this DLC...



Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: Karsten] #368383
07/30/08 12:53 PM
07/30/08 12:53 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
Thank you Karsten,

I will download it and try if with this patch the game starts, while I decide which pc to buy think , not easy.


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #368387
07/30/08 01:01 PM
07/30/08 01:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
If you only want the patch it seems to be out at filefront.com

Still don't know if this is able to help you, though.

Please also note that you have to activate over the net: this mean you need to be connected to the internet the very first time you start it.

You can try to start the game from the game's .exe file not the launcher on your desktop...



Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: Karsten] #368388
07/30/08 01:06 PM
07/30/08 01:06 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,096
N.J. U.S.A.
croaker Offline
Addicted Boomer
croaker  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,096
N.J. U.S.A.
I played through Bring Down the Sky last night.

I don't know whether it was the included patch or BDtS, but it had the side effect of tossing all my game configuration settings -- for example, video resolution and key bindings.

It also had audio problems. I was unable to figure out how to reduce the background noise of the MAKO or some of the rooms. Both were so loud that if I hadn't had on subtitles, I wouldn't have even known that someone was saying something much of the time, let alone what it was they were saying.

This add-on mission was much more interesting than the usual optional side tasks on mostly unexplored worlds found in the rest of Mass Effect. Also, I'd be interested in the main choice you make near the end and what the results were.

In my play through,
Click to reveal..
I chose to call the head bad guy's "bluff" of killing his prisoners and not let him walk. I figured that if I let him walk, there was a good chance that he'd trigger the explosion anyway.

He triggered the explosive without hesitation, and the prisoners were no more.

I ended up having to explain the results of my choice in the end to the surviving administrator and he clearly wasn't happy about it.


Soldiers live and wonder why -- Glen Cook
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: croaker] #368404
07/30/08 01:33 PM
07/30/08 01:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
In this thread

http://masseffect.bioware.com/forums/viewtopic.html?topic=643333&forum=127

there's solutions for those of you that does experience problems with the Bring Down the Sky DLC.

Also, there's a solution for those who have Vista where the game refuses to belive it's connected to the internet (even when you're connected to the internet).





Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: croaker] #368440
07/30/08 02:35 PM
07/30/08 02:35 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
New Patch installed, same thing.
One of the problems is that it has a limited number of installations and then I don't want to reinstall it, I hope it will play well once I have a new computer.


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #368465
07/30/08 03:24 PM
07/30/08 03:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Sad to hear that, mcc frown

However, you do not have a limited number of installations. You do have limited number of activations. You can install the game as many times as you want - if you have not changed a single thing on or in your computer.


Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: Karsten] #368870
07/31/08 11:16 AM
07/31/08 11:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
Well Karsten, I updated the drivers as instructed, don't know if that counts as changing something. Do you know when you activate the game or is it automatic? in my case it never started but I don't know if it was activated when imputing the key.


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #368892
07/31/08 12:12 PM
07/31/08 12:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 13,453
Texas
nickie Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
nickie  Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 13,453
Texas
As previously suggested, this would be best handled in the glitches forum where we have excellent staff to help you out.


"How could drops of water know themselves to be a river? Yet the river flows on."
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: nickie] #368909
07/31/08 12:40 PM
07/31/08 12:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
Thank you Nickie!

I found this forum

mass effect forum

and apparently several people have the same problem, the message it gives me is identical to the one given to mkeller23

I have un installed and reinstalled the game, same result. insane

Last edited by mcc; 07/31/08 01:06 PM.

If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #368928
07/31/08 01:15 PM
07/31/08 01:15 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,887
Indiana
Demosthenes Offline
Addicted Boomer
Demosthenes  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,887
Indiana
mcc, what video card is installed in your current computer?

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: Demosthenes] #368947
07/31/08 01:32 PM
07/31/08 01:32 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
Demosthenes,
Ati Radeon x850, but every other single game plays without problem, I cannot really put a better one apparently because "it would fry the motherboard", they told me in Circuit City. I have 3G, memory. According to that forum people get the same message even with new computers, I plan to buy a new one immediately I decide on one.


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #368950
07/31/08 01:45 PM
07/31/08 01:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
As you are used to ATI cards, please look into getting a Sapphire ATI RADEON HD3650. I think MAD has one?; she is happy with it. I don't know if you would need a new powe supply, though?

According to this thread at the bioware forums

http://masseffect.bioware.com/forums/viewtopic.html?topic=626379&forum=125

your x850 is under the min system specs - sorry frown

You can try fiddling around in the config utility setting everything to low... and see if it will play...





Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #368957
07/31/08 01:56 PM
07/31/08 01:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,887
Indiana
Demosthenes Offline
Addicted Boomer
Demosthenes  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,887
Indiana
The Radeon x850 doesn't support Pixel Shader 3.0, so it won't work for Mass Effect (or a lot of other recent games). At the very least, you'll need a new video card.

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: Demosthenes] #368961
07/31/08 02:12 PM
07/31/08 02:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
If there is one card I could use I would like to buy it, I have done a lot of upgrades and this pc is running very well for most things, for example The Witcher played without any problems and it would be good to have it as spare. I have an AGP in a Dimension XPS but apparently there is more than one type, I certainly would not want to fry my motherboard.


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #368973
07/31/08 03:03 PM
07/31/08 03:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
What is the model number of your computer?
Do you know the wattage if its power supply?

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: Jenny100] #369025
07/31/08 05:09 PM
07/31/08 05:09 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
M
mcc Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
mcc  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,337
Michigan
Jenny100,
These are the data I have without opening the pc, tomorrow I can open it: Dimension XPS Gen 2 Series, Intel Pentium 4 Processor at 3.2 GHz with HT Technology, 981RW31.
The AGP is x8.
There is an ATI VisionTek HD2400 PRO 256MB Graphics Card, but the people in Cicuit City advised me against installing it because it could fry the motherboard.

To know the wattage I need to open the pc because I don't see the information in the papers.


If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain

From The Matrix
Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #369037
07/31/08 05:44 PM
07/31/08 05:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,887
Indiana
Demosthenes Offline
Addicted Boomer
Demosthenes  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,887
Indiana
Whether the 2400HD will fry your motherboard is actually irrelevant: according to the minimum requirements posted on the Mass Effect forums, "X1550, X1600 Pro and HD2400 are below minimum system requirements."

I'm still working on everything else, though. In theory you should be able to play Mass Effect on that computer, assuming it has enough RAM and a powerful enough power supply to power an appropriate video card. Unfortunately I haven't found detailed specs on the AGP slot yet...

Re: Mass Effect problems [Re: mcc] #369038
07/31/08 05:46 PM
07/31/08 05:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,234
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,234
Arizona
The service tag returns a 460 watt PSU -
Dell™ Dimension™ XPS Service Manual - Tag:981RW31

Try an ATI HD-3850 - they have them with an AGP interface.




Last edited by InlandAZ; 07/31/08 05:48 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Uncle Reg), 32 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Sean, dibbzlive, Parobot, Fitzie, Beckymc
9255 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™