GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Riddle of Master Lu - can't install #416150
11/02/08 11:08 AM
11/02/08 11:08 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,046
Ontario, Canada
colpet Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
colpet  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,046
Ontario, Canada
I'm trying to install Riddle of Master Lu using this suggestion:
Quote:
Try this Riddle of Master Lu Dosbox setup guide on Inferno's site. Worked perfectly for me with XP. You can also skip The General Drill part, works fine without going through it.

http://home.earthlink.net/~infernofilecabinet4/XpSetupsP_T/Guest/RiddleOfMasterLu.htm


I have an XP system. I've downloaded and installed DOSBox .72.
I've preformed the General Drill.
When it comes to the game install, I went to run Setup.exe .
The screen goes blank, then it's back to my desktop. I even tried another file I.exe without success. What am I doing wrong?

Re: Riddle of Master Lu - can't install [Re: colpet] #416174
11/02/08 11:45 AM
11/02/08 11:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 48,716
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 48,716
near Yosemite
Hi colpet,

I just happen to have some instructions for setting up Riddle of Master Lu in DOSBox that have worked for those who have received them. If you would like to give them a try, here they are:

Create an empty folder on your c: Windows local drive and give the folder the word........games.

Now, start up DOSBox, making sure Riddle of Master Lu is in your CD/DVD drive. In the instructions below, I am assuming that your CD/DVD drive letter is assigned the letter D. If it is not D, then substitute the correct letter where the second D is, in my lines that say mount d d:\ -t cdrom -ioctl. Hit enter after each line below.

Type mount c c:\games

c:

mount d d:\ -t cdrom -ioctl

d:

then type install

and you should be looking at the install screen for Riddle of MasterLu. That first screen, just click ok and it will take you to the install. Let it install. When you have to choose sound settings, I chose Soundblaster 16 for my music card. After that, you are finished, and you will find yourself in DOSBox at a C: prompt that says c:\riddle. Type masterlu and the game will start.

When you want to play the game afresh, here are what the commands would be:

mount d d:\ -t cdrom -ioctl

d:

mount c c:\games

c:

cd riddle

and then type masterlu.

After you get the game up and running, you can always change core = auto to core = dynamic in the DOSBox config.file if the game seems to run better that way. You can also give a higher number in DOSBox where it says cycles = (this is if the game seems to be running too slowly).

Good luck!

Re: Riddle of Master Lu - can't install [Re: Marian] #416187
11/02/08 11:58 AM
11/02/08 11:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Thanks, Marian.

Colpet,
It's probably best to run the game in DOSBox these days.
Inferno's instructions were made back when computers were slower, so they may not work so well on newer ones. The current version of DOSBox is supposed to adjust for computer speed.

Re: Riddle of Master Lu - can't install [Re: Jenny100] #416191
11/02/08 12:05 PM
11/02/08 12:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,046
Ontario, Canada
colpet Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
colpet  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,046
Ontario, Canada
Yay! Marian's instructions worked, but the game window is very small. I'm assuming it's because of my resolution, so I'll try to change that.

Re: Riddle of Master Lu - can't install [Re: colpet] #416205
11/02/08 12:26 PM
11/02/08 12:26 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 48,716
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 48,716
near Yosemite
Colpet, while in DOSBox, when the game starts, hit alt + enter to get a full screen. wave

I'm thrilled that you will be able to play this game now! thumbsup happydance

Let me know how the game runs for you, performance wise, as there are a couple of little tweaks we can always try if need be. smile

Re: Riddle of Master Lu - can't install [Re: Marian] #417985
11/06/08 10:19 AM
11/06/08 10:19 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,863
Sanday, Orkney
Rosaboobie Offline
Addicted Boomer
Rosaboobie  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,863
Sanday, Orkney
Oh wow - I have never ever been able to play this game, Marian - Gave up years ago - but now I will copy your instructions down and try this game again! Lets hope I have the same luck!


Boobie
Re: Riddle of Master Lu - can't install [Re: colpet] #417989
11/06/08 10:24 AM
11/06/08 10:24 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 48,716
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 48,716
near Yosemite
Hi Rosaboobie,

No reason those instructions should not work. smile If you have any problems, feel free to post here or send me a PM, and I would be glad to try to help you. wave luck

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Kaki's Sister), 19 guests, and 0 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
boxbluestudios, Watcheroftheskys, Darkfallwithin, PierreLombardo, Dux
9391 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™