GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #453040
01/19/09 04:02 PM
01/19/09 04:02 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 43,173
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 43,173
near Yosemite in California
Hi Rowan,

Some of the stuff you mentioned on that list goes over my head, but what I can tell you is that (if Windows Vista works the same way as Windows XP in this regard) Microsoft Net Framework can be found in your add/remove programs list--it will also tell you what version of Net Framework you have (there was a 1.0, and now there's a 2.0, plus an upgrade to 2.0); if you do regular Windows updates, I would think you would be up to date with Net Framework. Still, take a look and see. smile

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Marian] #453405
01/20/09 12:40 PM
01/20/09 12:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Rowan Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Rowan  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
That's strange. I can't find MS Net Framework or OpenAl but I do see 2 MS c++ Redistributables. One is an update so at least that is ok as far as I can tell.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #453414
01/20/09 01:13 PM
01/20/09 01:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 43,173
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 43,173
near Yosemite in California
In my add/remove programs, it is listed as Microsoft .NET Framework.

You really need to ascertain as to whether the latest version of this is on your computer or not--if it is not, it could well be the reason that the game doesn't start up. It wouldn't be a big deal to download it if you don't have it.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Marian] #454266
01/22/09 12:41 PM
01/22/09 12:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Rowan Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Rowan  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
OK, I've found Microsoft.Net Framework v.3 in my Windows directory. That's standard for Vista. On the Microsoft site there is a version 3.5 and also a 3.5 service pack 1. Do I download both of them in order or just the sevice pack? I'm afraid of doing something that may mess up my computer.

Last edited by Rowan; 01/22/09 12:41 PM.
Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #454313
01/22/09 03:53 PM
01/22/09 03:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Can you find them using Windows Update?
Windows Update should tell you what can be installed.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Jenny100] #454362
01/22/09 06:36 PM
01/22/09 06:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Rowan Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Rowan  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Jenny, I asked this already at the cdvusa support site. The response I had was that the Windows Updater usually misses the MS.net Framework and the c++ Redistributable files. It's so frustrating for me because every time I ask a question on my support ticket there it takes several days to get a response. So each time I ask for a clarification there it delays the final answer so much longer. I just hoped someone here would know about this stuff. I wish the Windows Updater had a search area where I could choose specifically what to look for but it just does its own thing.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #454382
01/22/09 07:59 PM
01/22/09 07:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Go to the Windows Update site. Choose Custom updates and look under Optional.

Windows Automatic update isn't going to find optional updates.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Jenny100] #454385
01/22/09 08:20 PM
01/22/09 08:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Rowan Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Rowan  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
When I go to Windows Update site on the Internet it automatically launches my computer's updater. that brings me right back to where I started.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #454413
01/22/09 09:23 PM
01/22/09 09:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Do you ever see anything like ***this***?

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Jenny100] #454600
01/23/09 12:38 PM
01/23/09 12:38 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Rowan Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Rowan  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Jenny, I checked the address bar of that site you showed and typed it into mine. As soon as I pressed the go button it changed to vista default and brought me back to an automatic connection to my own updater. Back to square one. It's been 3 days since I heard from the cdvusa site. The last time I got an email from them they said I had to update that list of drivers before they would go to the next step with me to run that game. I just want some reassurance that I won't mess up how my computer functions for other stuff than this game.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #454630
01/23/09 02:07 PM
01/23/09 02:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Can you post a screenshot of what you're seeing?

Are you seeing Microsoft's interface or an interface from some type of 3rd party management software you installed?

It seems to me you should be seeing some sort of link that allows you to change your updating Options.

But this is taking a ridiculous amount of time.

Originally Posted By: Rowan
On the Microsoft site there is a version 3.5 and also a 3.5 service pack 1. Do I download both of them in order or just the service pack?

If you know you don't have any version of .NET 3.5, install 3.5 and then 3.5 SP1.

This is the description of 3.5 SP1

Quote:
Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 Service Pack 1 is a full cumulative update that contains many new features building incrementally upon .NET Framework 2.0, 3.0, 3.5, and includes cumulative servicing updates to the .NET Framework 2.0 and .NET Framework 3.0 subcomponents.

That sounds to me like the "cumulative" part is the servicing updates and not the .NET 3.0 or 3.5 framework itself. In any case, it won't hurt to install the older version first, and will certainly take less time than fussing around with Windows Update has taken.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Jenny100] #456224
01/27/09 10:46 AM
01/27/09 10:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,557
Virginia
popcorneater Offline
Adept Boomer
popcorneater  Offline
Adept Boomer

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,557
Virginia
I hate to kick an old horse when it's down, but I too am not able to load Sacred 2 on my puter..haveVista, have all the requirments, just can not load it, an error message everytime I tried..looks like Rowan and I are in the same boat..and it's sinking

Popcorn


playing DS2, Oblivion and WoW
Re: Sacred 2 [Re: popcorneater] #456285
01/27/09 12:32 PM
01/27/09 12:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
What is the exact text of the error message?

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Jenny100] #456467
01/27/09 08:38 PM
01/27/09 08:38 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 13,453
Texas
nickie Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
nickie  Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 13,453
Texas
Glad you found this thread Popcorn - was just looking for an answer to your question on the RPG forum. Hope you can get the game to play.


"How could drops of water know themselves to be a river? Yet the river flows on."
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Re: Sacred 2 [Re: nickie] #458975
02/03/09 11:06 AM
02/03/09 11:06 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Rowan Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Rowan  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,026
Toronto, Canada
Hello everyone. I wish to thank you for all your efforts to help me. The CDV people finally said they've done all they could to help and they sent my support ticket to Ascaron direct. The developers in turn pointed me toward a new beta video driver. Windows Updater doesn't download beta products but that did the trick. I have now started to play and it's an awesome game.

Popcorneater, from that experience I would suggest looking up the latest video driver. I don't know what card you have but I learned not to rely on the Windows Updater.

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #459031
02/03/09 01:27 PM
02/03/09 01:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
J
jzt Offline
Shy Boomer
jzt  Offline
Shy Boomer
J

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
If you want the latest drivers for your card and not beta you need to go to this site: http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/

Re: Sacred 2 [Re: Rowan] #459049
02/03/09 02:56 PM
02/03/09 02:56 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 43,173
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 43,173
near Yosemite in California
Rowan, I'm so glad to hear that you are FINALLY able to play this game--and that it was worth the wait!! thumbsup smile

Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Lex), 31 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
mariuslettres, SBS, Una, Blackwell, JackieH
9271 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™