GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Windows 7 and 80 Days #870779
02/26/13 05:46 PM
02/26/13 05:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 218
Denver
kiraalt Offline OP
Settled Boomer
kiraalt  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 218
Denver
This states in the Windows 7 thread that is should play. However, I have never been able to get it to even start. The game appears to install from disc just fine. But then gives me an error message saying it needs runtime (what is that?) from XP.

Is there a patch or has someone figured out how to get it to play on Windows 7?


"If the players are all gone ... is the Game Over?"
Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #870813
02/26/13 07:35 PM
02/26/13 07:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
The patch is here, though I don't know if it's for your problem.
http://www.gamershell.com/news_27037.html

Have you tried right-clicking the game shortcut, choosing Properties --> Compatibility tab --> Compatibility set to Windows XP or 2000 --> OK it.

Have you tried right-clicking the game shortcut and choosing to Run As Administrator?

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #870820
02/26/13 07:55 PM
02/26/13 07:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 218
Denver
kiraalt Offline OP
Settled Boomer
kiraalt  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 218
Denver
Thank you for your help. It may be my system. The patch is not cooperating. Yes, I have tried the compatibility and it made no difference.

Last edited by kiraalt; 02/26/13 08:08 PM.

"If the players are all gone ... is the Game Over?"
Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #870829
02/26/13 08:39 PM
02/26/13 08:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,240
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,240
Arizona
Post the exact error message - it may be looking for the C++ runtimes.

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #870830
02/26/13 08:41 PM
02/26/13 08:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
According to ***Frogwares Tech Support***
Quote:
All Intel, or S3 (Via) videocards are not supported and the game will not work.
There could be troubles with earlier ATI and GeForce cards and some of low end laptop videocards, which are not fully compatible with directx 9.
To launch the 80 day game you'll need Nvidia or ATI videocard, fully compatible with Microsoft DirectX 9.

There could also be problems with newer video cards if the game isn't compatible with the drivers.

And I don't remember -- does this game need PhysX to run? Some of Frogwares' other 3D games required it.

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #871009
02/27/13 09:44 PM
02/27/13 09:44 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 218
Denver
kiraalt Offline OP
Settled Boomer
kiraalt  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 218
Denver
Not sure what the issue is. Tried it on 3 different computers with same results. One XP and 2 Windows 7.

I wish Big Fish would offer 80 days as a download. I had issues with Center of the Earth (another Frogwares game) from the disc, but the Big Fish version works fine. So for some reason I have it in my mind that version would work.

Sad as I guess I just have realize I won't be able to play this game.


"If the players are all gone ... is the Game Over?"
Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #871012
02/27/13 10:04 PM
02/27/13 10:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,240
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,240
Arizona
Post the runtime it's looking for -

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #880626
04/13/13 04:05 PM
04/13/13 04:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
NY
D
Drummerboy Offline
Shy Boomer
Drummerboy  Offline
Shy Boomer
D

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
NY
I had the same problem as Kiraalt; tried everything I read here at Gameboomers and the web. Nothing worked. I downloaded and installed the patch and still nothing.

I found a "game.exe" file here: http://mail.frogwares.com/support/files.php?id=5

I replaced the original file in the game folder with the one at the link above and it worked (ran at Windows 2000 compatibility and Admin).


Problems worthy of attack prove their worth by hitting back. - Piet Hein
Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: Drummerboy] #880690
04/13/13 09:04 PM
04/13/13 09:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 42,919
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 42,919
near Yosemite in California
Thanks, Drummerboy. Good info! wave

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #880771
04/14/13 09:16 AM
04/14/13 09:16 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 23,997
UK
Rushes Offline
True Blue Boomer
Rushes  Offline
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 23,997
UK
I just reinstalled 80 Days on my Win 7 and tried the "game.exe" switch. It didn't work for me, even trying different compatibilities. I got a white screen, the sound of the splash screen loading with no visuals, and then nothing. I'll fiddle around with it some more. Bah!

(I think the problem is that my OS is 64-bit and the game as it is only supports Runtime for 32-bit.)


"Bleat, Watson -- unmitigated bleat!" ~ Sherlock Holmes
Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #880794
04/14/13 11:02 AM
04/14/13 11:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
NY
D
Drummerboy Offline
Shy Boomer
Drummerboy  Offline
Shy Boomer
D

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 44
NY
Sorry to hear that Rushes. I have 64-bit Win 7 also.

I had the same problem loading Dark Star a while back. Seems I was missing DirectX. I checked Frogwares site here http://www.frogwares.com/game/80days.html and they said DirectX 9 is a requirement.

Here's Microsoft's DirectX 9.0c link: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35
I copied the .exe file into the game directory and ran it from there.

FYI, I stumbled upon this link that shows what version works with a particular Windows:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/179113

If your video still doesn't work, you may require DirectX 11.0 for 64-bit Windows 7 instead of 9.0c but I'm not 100% sure. I hope this works for you!


Problems worthy of attack prove their worth by hitting back. - Piet Hein
Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #880796
04/14/13 11:27 AM
04/14/13 11:27 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Rushes
I got a white screen, the sound of the splash screen loading with no visuals, and then nothing.
(I think the problem is that my OS is 64-bit and the game as it is only supports Runtime for 32-bit.)

It could also be that the only video drivers it was made to work with were drivers for 32-bit Windows.

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #1213612
03/29/20 03:29 PM
03/29/20 03:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
L
Lexington Offline
Junior Boomer
Lexington  Offline
Junior Boomer
L

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Solution:
Thank you all for posting many helpful tips to help me nostalgically replay this game.
I actually found a simple solution to the white screens. In this patch linked here the readme file gave me the solutions: in the Program Files > Anaconda > Frogware > 80 Days > Graphics, you need to delete 4 video files: Ageia.wmv Publishers.wmv Frogwares.wmv Nvidia.wmv
They are supposed to play at the beginning but compromised my game. It works for me on windows 10 32 bit. Patch is not even really necessary to install.
Patches: https://www.patches-scrolls.com/80_days.php
Frogwares (exe with no need for CD): http://mail.frogwares.com/support/files.php?s=f54b4e6c8f04e6e24ae3cd45e41ab754&id=2


(SEO for my fellow Germans: In 80 Tagen um die Welt Frogwares weißer Bildschirm)

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #1213617
03/29/20 03:56 PM
03/29/20 03:56 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 42,919
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 42,919
near Yosemite in California
Thank you for that information, Lexington, and welcome to GameBoomers.

Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #1213619
03/29/20 04:16 PM
03/29/20 04:16 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,979
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,979
In Missouri near St. Louis
Hi, Lexington and welcome! Especially good to know it works on your 32-bit Windows 10, as this thread was originally about Windows 7!


114 tomato plants pulled up and gardens put to sleep for the winter.
Re: Windows 7 and 80 Days [Re: kiraalt] #1213621
03/29/20 04:24 PM
03/29/20 04:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
L
Lexington Offline
Junior Boomer
Lexington  Offline
Junior Boomer
L

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Cheers
Let me know if it works for you too, should you try it again, now 7 years later...

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
3 registered members (lynthorpe, Sassy, 1 invisible), 42 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Blackwell, JackieH, pax, Valeryous, harlequit
9268 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™