GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Gamersgate #937092
01/26/14 05:33 AM
01/26/14 05:33 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
Hi,

Sometime ago I asked advice about this site...can't find the thread now.

Basically I have not been able to get this site to display through any web browser since getting a Win 8 laptop. It worked fine on my old Win 7 and I even contacted Gamersgate directly at the time (about 10/11 months ago). They said a lot of people were having the same problem and that they were working on it. I contacted them again about a week ago as nothing had changed but have heard nothing.

Can anyone help? I was advised on GB to try various options but having tried through IE10, Chrome, Opera and Firefox still with no joy I am at a loss. insane

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937106
01/26/14 09:45 AM
01/26/14 09:45 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,214
Scanian Provinces
Smiley456 Offline
Addicted Boomer
Smiley456  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,214
Scanian Provinces
Try this link (works fine for me) Gamersgate Don't expect any Steam free patches for Paradox titles though (they shut that down in favor of Steam). Announcement

Edit: Strange, it reverts to the Swedish site instead of the normal one.

Last edited by Smiley456; 01/26/14 10:08 AM.
Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937111
01/26/14 10:12 AM
01/26/14 10:12 AM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
MaG Offline
Sonic Boomer
MaG  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
Smiley,

The link you posted must check the IP address. I get the English version.

lynthorpe,

Here's the main link here
I am using firefox.

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937113
01/26/14 10:20 AM
01/26/14 10:20 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
I've tried both of these. Can't get there from either of these links. It just goes round and round for ages then says This Page Cannot be Displayed. This applies to both the .com site and the .co.uk site. I am in the UK so would generally select that. Very occasionally I can get what I can only describe as a DOS looking page but then can't go any further. Very frustrating

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937117
01/26/14 10:50 AM
01/26/14 10:50 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Like MaG suggested, try a different web browser -- like Firefox, Seamonkey, Opera, Safari, or whatever suits your fancy as long as it's not IE.

The problem may only be with the version of IE that comes with Windows 8.

Let us know the results and what web browser you tried.

Re: Gamersgate [Re: MaG] #937121
01/26/14 11:33 AM
01/26/14 11:33 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,214
Scanian Provinces
Smiley456 Offline
Addicted Boomer
Smiley456  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,214
Scanian Provinces
Originally Posted By: MaG
Smiley,

The link you posted must check the IP address. I get the English version.

lynthorpe,

Here's the main link here
I am using firefox.


Looks that way, the main links reverts to the Swedish site.

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937122
01/26/14 11:36 AM
01/26/14 11:36 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,649
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Online content
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,649
In Missouri near St. Louis
Quote:
I was advised on GB to try various options but having tried through IE10, Chrome, Opera and Firefox still with no joy I am at a loss.


It sounds like they've all been tried with no change.

I have Windows 8.1 and I can get there with IE11, Firefox and Chrome. Have you tried clearing your browser cache?


114 tomatoes planted!
Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937130
01/26/14 12:40 PM
01/26/14 12:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
I've tried Firefox, Opera and Chrome with the same result. The suggestions say to check my internet connection which is clearly ok or I wouldn't be here!
I have no idea how to clear my browser cache! Not very techie and certainly find Win8 even more difficult to navigate than other OSs. If you can tell me how to do it I'll give it a go.

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937134
01/26/14 12:56 PM
01/26/14 12:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
How you clear brower cache depends on what web browser you are using.
Windows 8 is more difficult to navigate for nearly everyone so don't feel bad about that. But in this case you need to clear the browser cache through the browser and don't need to mess with Windows 8 navigation.

Here are some ways to clear browser cache with various browsers:
http://www.wikihow.com/Clear-Your-Browser%27s-Cache
http://kb.iu.edu/data/ahic.html
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/browsers/f/clear-cache.htm

If one of the links is too confusing, maybe one of the others will help.
The Wikihow link has pictures.

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937164
01/26/14 05:38 PM
01/26/14 05:38 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 252
Connecticut
Ewil02 Offline
Settled Boomer
Ewil02  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 252
Connecticut

Lynthorpe,

I'm not a techie, but is it possible that you're anti virus software can be interfering with the connection to Gamersgate?

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937169
01/26/14 06:10 PM
01/26/14 06:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,373
Rockland
Starcom Offline
Addicted Boomer
Starcom  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,373
Rockland
I have Windows 8.1 and use IE 11 and have zero problems getting into GamersGate.

Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937285
01/27/14 04:40 PM
01/27/14 04:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,234
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,234
Arizona
I don't have any issues either. I wonder if your ISP has a DNS problem, it can happen. Short of that you may want to reset your IE settings to their defaults. Peruse the link below, it states how to do it (make sure you start Internet Explorer from the Desktop - Not Metro).

Reset Internet Explorer settings

The only other item that comes to mind is the HOSTS file located in C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc - right click the file, and select open with Notepad.

If it appears any different from the following, post a copy of it in a reply.

Content of HOSTS -

Code:
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#	127.0.0.1       localhost
#	::1             localhost


Re: Gamersgate [Re: lynthorpe] #937345
01/28/14 03:12 AM
01/28/14 03:12 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
Thanks for all the advice. I realised I was still running on IE10. Have now upgraded to IE11 and problem solved! Special thanks to Draclvr and Starcom for this.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (flotsam), 29 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Sean, dibbzlive, Parobot, Fitzie, Beckymc
9255 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™