GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
connecting 2 computers? #943058
03/03/14 09:02 PM
03/03/14 09:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
F
fredaz Offline OP
Settled Boomer
fredaz  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
F

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
I have an HP computer with windows vista on it. I use it as my main puter because I have a decent antivirus program working on it. I also have an older Sony Vaio with windows xp. The vaio machine does not have an anti virus PGM so I do not go on the internet with it. I would like to download some things for my vaio machine on my HP and check them later with the antivirus PGM. The question is then, can I use an ethernet cable to go from the HP machine and the Vaio machine to send stuff I have dowloaded on the HP machine to the Vaio machine.

Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943060
03/03/14 09:04 PM
03/03/14 09:04 PM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,974
MaG Offline
Sonic Boomer
MaG  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,974
I'll move you to our Tech forum. The experts there can help you.

Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943067
03/03/14 09:59 PM
03/03/14 09:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
The short answer is no. Unless you set up a network between the two machines, that won't work.

However, you could certainly download something to the Vista computer and copy it to a flash drive and then plug the flash drive into the XP machine and load it from the flash drive.

And good move on keeping the XP computer off the internet, especially with no AV program!


Once again, weeds are my life!
Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943076
03/03/14 10:38 PM
03/03/14 10:38 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
F
fredaz Offline OP
Settled Boomer
fredaz  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
F

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
Thanks Draclvr, that is way cool. I just happen to have some of those and I forgot about them. I had even considered getting an external floppy and going at it like that. Good thing I got a decent backup commitee or I would be in trouble.

Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943082
03/03/14 11:15 PM
03/03/14 11:15 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
grin


Once again, weeds are my life!
Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943085
03/03/14 11:22 PM
03/03/14 11:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: fredaz
The question is then, can I use an ethernet cable to go from the HP machine and the Vaio machine to send stuff I have dowloaded on the HP machine to the Vaio machine.

You'd need a crossover cable -- not a regular ethernet cable.
If you're interested, here are instructions for how to set it up
***Microsoft instructions on how to connect two computers using a crossover cable***

It's easier to just use a flash drive, like Draclvr said.

Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943098
03/04/14 12:30 AM
03/04/14 12:30 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
I have one of those crossover cables - paid quite a bit for it about 7 years ago. It worked great but I'm so glad things have moved on and gotten easier...


Once again, weeds are my life!
Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943146
03/04/14 10:52 AM
03/04/14 10:52 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
If both support Wi-Fi why not just create a network share on the HP rig and transfer the files wirelessly?

Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: fredaz] #943149
03/04/14 11:00 AM
03/04/14 11:00 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,327
Near St. Louis, MO
Can fredaz do that without putting the XP computer on the internet? He doesn't want to connect it at all.


Once again, weeds are my life!
Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: InlandAZ] #943166
03/04/14 12:10 PM
03/04/14 12:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
If both support Wi-Fi why not just create a network share on the HP rig and transfer the files wirelessly?

With a home router, he could also connect the computers through the router -- using two regular ethernet cables to connect each computer to the router (any router can be temporarily disconnected from the Internet, whether it has wireless capability or not).

But unless the files are huge (and won't fit on the flash drive), or file transfers will be done often and on a regular basis -- it's still easier to just use a flash drive, which doesn't involve setting up sharing on either of the computers.

Re: connecting 2 computers? [Re: Draclvr] #943210
03/04/14 06:51 PM
03/04/14 06:51 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
Can fredaz do that without putting the XP computer on the internet? He doesn't want to connect it at all.


You can, it would be a pain, but it can be done. Personally I wouldn't worry about be connected to a Wi-Fi router so long as you didn't browse the net. There's a small chance you could be hacked, but it's so small that I wouldn't worry about it. All of my wireless devices (Phones, IP Cams Media Servers etc...) connect to my router wirelessly, I never give them a second thought.

Using a thumb drive is the way to go for most files. I was just curious why no one mentioned allocating a network share on the Vista machine.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
3 registered members (OrleansBelle, curly, Lex), 49 guests, and 0 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
sincmic1, boxbluestudios, Watcheroftheskys, Darkfallwithin, PierreLombardo
9392 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™