GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Game suite with Windows Vista? #1048042
01/01/16 11:55 AM
01/01/16 11:55 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
F
fredaz Offline OP
Settled Boomer
fredaz  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
F

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
I got a new computer and it does not have a desirable game suite. (IE: solitaire, mahjong, etc.). So I deleted their game suite and went looking to download the games from Windows Vista but that is not easy to find. Any thoughts that might help?

Re: Game suite with Windows Vista? [Re: fredaz] #1048044
01/01/16 12:05 PM
01/01/16 12:05 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 44,309
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 44,309
near Yosemite in California
I moved your post to Glitches, as this is specifically about Windows Vista and not about adventure games.

Is something like this what you are looking for? wave12

Re: Game suite with Windows Vista? [Re: fredaz] #1048045
01/01/16 12:29 PM
01/01/16 12:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 17,696
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 17,696
In Missouri near St. Louis
You got a new computer with Vista on it? Vista will no longer be supported by Microsoft as of April 2017.

If you got a new computer with Windows 8.1 or Windows 10 on it, then you can just go to the store and download tons of games including the Solitaire Collection.


109 tomatoes in the ground. When are the BLT's?!
Re: Game suite with Windows Vista? [Re: fredaz] #1048046
01/01/16 12:29 PM
01/01/16 12:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
I assume you mean the original games that came with Windows 7, and not the "updated" versions that have to be downloaded.

If you have Windows 8,
check the article on ***What happened to Solitaire and Minesweeper in Windows 8*** about halfway down the page under where it says "Restoring Desktop Solitaire, Minesweeper, and Other Classic Games."

If you have Windows 10, the above procedure probably won't work, so check here
http://winaero.com/blog/get-windows-7-games-for-windows-10/

Re: Game suite with Windows Vista? [Re: fredaz] #1048071
01/01/16 03:49 PM
01/01/16 03:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
F
fredaz Offline OP
Settled Boomer
fredaz  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
F

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
Thank you Draclr for your reply. Thanks Jenny100 for the info. I went to that web site and started the download for the Windows 7 game suite but my browser does not finish it. Now I have to find the Windows 10 down loader and see if it will complete the download. Also using the browser down loader I was getting some 30 kbs per while I am used to getting about 240.

Re: Game suite with Windows Vista? [Re: fredaz] #1048081
01/01/16 04:44 PM
01/01/16 04:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Download speed depends on the site you're downloading from. If it can't serve any faster than 30kbps, that's the most you'll get.

Re: Game suite with Windows Vista? [Re: fredaz] #1048156
01/02/16 11:32 AM
01/02/16 11:32 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
F
fredaz Offline OP
Settled Boomer
fredaz  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
F

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Arizona
Well I got the Windows 7 game suite loaded and working fine. I must have had some trouble with my anti virus settings. Thank you jenny100 for the info you provided.

Re: Game suite with Windows Vista? [Re: fredaz] #1048161
01/02/16 12:27 PM
01/02/16 12:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: fredaz
Well I got the Windows 7 game suite loaded and working fine. I must have had some trouble with my anti virus settings. Thank you jenny100 for the info you provided.

I'm glad to hear it worked for you.
I don't know why Microsoft didn't continue to offer their Windows 7 game collection with Windows 8 and 10. Lots of people didn't like the new versions and wanted their old games back.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (oldbroad, 1 invisible), 28 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
JBTruth, sadmaskparty, spocksbrain, Dynamite7, nachtmusick
9293 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™