GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
DOSbox? #113566
03/31/04 03:34 PM
03/31/04 03:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,017
Ormond By The Sea ,Florida
Sassafras Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Sassafras  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,017
Ormond By The Sea ,Florida
Has anyone used this?
DOSBOX Link

If so, how well does it work, and what games have you gotten to run?

Re: DOSbox? #113567
03/31/04 03:46 PM
03/31/04 03:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,509
Missouri
Rae Offline
Addicted Boomer
Rae  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,509
Missouri
I've tried to use it on a number of DOS games, but I've always had to find other ways to get them to work. BUT I've HEARD people say they've used it! Maybe I'm just a dork.

laugh


Rae

Lemme 'splain...no, is too much. Lemme sum up.
Re: DOSbox? #113568
03/31/04 03:48 PM
03/31/04 03:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,276
U.S.A.
Gamehound Offline
Addicted Boomer
Gamehound  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,276
U.S.A.
I haven't tried playing with it in a long time, but when I did, it didn't support games with copy protection.

It runs games without copy protection just fine that require DOS. I got some games, free for download, to work with DOSBox when they didn't work on Windows XP virtual DOS. So, for games like that, it should be ok to use. Other games, I wouldn't rely on it too much.


Gamehound


Can't find those rare adventures? Come visit me here for the tactics I use.
Re: DOSbox? #113569
03/31/04 04:24 PM
03/31/04 04:24 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 862
Ottawa, Canada
Mordack Offline
Settled Boomer
Mordack  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 862
Ottawa, Canada
I've used it to play the first Gabriel Knight game. Ran without flaw at least for that one.

Re: DOSbox? #113570
03/31/04 09:29 PM
03/31/04 09:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 132
doowopman Offline
Settled Boomer
doowopman  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 132
The latest version, 0.61, is absolutely fantastic smile . I've gotten 99% of my older (pre-1994) games to run without problem, including the CD version of Shadow of the Comet. I've run into little if any problems, and most speed problems and choppy sound are easily resolved by turning up the frameskip smile .

All in all, it's worth downloading and having around , especailly for those DOS games that XP hates. I've heard people have even been able to get Ultima VII and Under A Killing Moon to run.


Stay Cool,
Branden

BAAGS Level 7
Re: DOSbox? #113571
03/31/04 09:35 PM
03/31/04 09:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,009
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
colpet Offline
Addicted Boomer
colpet  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,009
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
I still have trouble getting my older DOS games to run, even on my Win95 machine. Often times there is no sound. I realise that there is a fix for this (something about configuring the files), but I've been leary about doing that. Would downloading DOS box to my Win98 ( or even Win95 for that matter) allow me to paly older games without changing the configuration? The games in question are Death Gate and Lost in Time.

Re: DOSbox? #113572
03/31/04 09:55 PM
03/31/04 09:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 29,623
United Kingdom
Mad Offline
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 29,623
United Kingdom
Hi smile

I would be VERY interested to know if and how ANYONE got Lost In Time to run....speech and sound effects would do....could manage without the music....

So if you get to know, Colpet, PLEASE get in touch with me. OK ??


Cheers.

Mad wave


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: DOSbox? #113573
03/31/04 10:10 PM
03/31/04 10:10 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,009
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
colpet Offline
Addicted Boomer
colpet  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,009
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Will do, Mad. smile

Re: DOSbox? #113574
03/31/04 11:35 PM
03/31/04 11:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,216
Virginia's wetland dimension
Salar of Myst Offline
Addicted Boomer
Salar of Myst  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,216
Virginia's wetland dimension
I have it bookmarked now. Thanks! They have lists of the games they've gotten to run with it ! The list includes Freddy Pharkas (sure would be nice to have sound back), Death Gate, & Lost in Time. Looks promising

Thanks for the referral. I am definitely going to try it!

Susan laugh

Re: DOSbox? #113575
04/01/04 06:56 AM
04/01/04 06:56 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,017
Ormond By The Sea ,Florida
Sassafras Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Sassafras  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,017
Ormond By The Sea ,Florida
I am going to give it a try too- I would love to be able to play Xanth and Shannara again!

Re: DOSbox? #113576
04/01/04 11:11 AM
04/01/04 11:11 AM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,152
New Baltimore, MI
lonewolf32 Offline
Addicted Boomer
lonewolf32  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,152
New Baltimore, MI
I downloaded it and LSL2 ran on it without any trouble. There wasn't even any setup required. Nice application!!


Dave
Re: DOSbox? #113577
04/01/04 12:11 PM
04/01/04 12:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,009
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
colpet Offline
Addicted Boomer
colpet  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,009
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Could someone tell me if DOSbox is only for XP use? Could I load it on to my Win95 and Win98 machines as well?

Re: DOSbox? #113578
04/01/04 12:44 PM
04/01/04 12:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer
MrLipid  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
colpet,

You can find the answer to your question HERE .

Here's the blurb:

DOS Emulator - Runs some DOS games better than Windows

Want an easy way to run some DOS games in Windows better than Windows does? Try DOSBox. It works in Win95, 98, and ME, but is probably more helpful for Windows XP/2000 users who don't have a "real" version of DOS on their machines, DOSBox is a DOS emulator, meaning it simulates DOS on your computer. (Similarly to Microsoft's "Command Prompt", but better.) It includes SoundBlaster support, and is constanly being improved to work with more games. If a game doesn't work in WinXP, try running it in DOSBox instead!

Re: DOSbox? #113579
04/01/04 01:11 PM
04/01/04 01:11 PM
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 4,553
Los Angeles
ray Offline
Addicted Boomer
ray  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 4,553
Los Angeles
Well, I downloaded Dosbox, but was utterly defeated by its opaque operation.

I don't know what to do with the "Z" drive.

I tried the instructions in the readme, but nothing works. I try running the "dosbox" command and get "illegal command."

Does anyone know of documentation for this product that wasn't written strictly for DOS experts? {whine}


Procrastinate NOW!! Don't put it off!!
Re: DOSbox? #113580
04/01/04 02:08 PM
04/01/04 02:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,021
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,021
southeast USA
Ray, there's a step by step on getting DOSBox to work with GK1 here
Gabriel Knight with Dosbox

Perhaps that could be adapted to whatever you're playing.

Last edited by looney4labs; 06/22/07 10:17 AM. Reason: updated link
Re: DOSbox? #113581
04/01/04 06:26 PM
04/01/04 06:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 904
Philly
kwbridge Offline
Settled Boomer
kwbridge  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 904
Philly
Thanks for that link Jenny. I've messed around with DosBox a little bit but it is only like once a month or so and by the time I use it again I've forgotten all the commands. This explains it a lot more clearly than other instructions I've seen and can easily be adapted for any Dos game.


(Anti) Social Development
Re: DOSbox? #113582
04/01/04 07:15 PM
04/01/04 07:15 PM
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 4,553
Los Angeles
ray Offline
Addicted Boomer
ray  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 4,553
Los Angeles
Thanks, Jenny!


Procrastinate NOW!! Don't put it off!!
Re: DOSbox? #113583
04/01/04 07:23 PM
04/01/04 07:23 PM
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 4,553
Los Angeles
ray Offline
Addicted Boomer
ray  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 4,553
Los Angeles
Unfortunately the "Mount" step doesn't work when I try it, using those exact directins. It says it's mounted C, but then won't let me change to it. frown


Procrastinate NOW!! Don't put it off!!
Re: DOSbox? #113584
04/01/04 07:40 PM
04/01/04 07:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,216
Virginia's wetland dimension
Salar of Myst Offline
Addicted Boomer
Salar of Myst  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,216
Virginia's wetland dimension
I jumped around the site and found that they have three "front enders" that make using DosBox much easier.

One of them is called Boxer. Also, DosBox forums has more specific instructions

I just finished dl DosBox and am checking these now but I just got the Uru expansion file up on the computer tonight so retro gaming is gonna have to wait a day or two. Woohoo! happydance

Susan laugh

Last edited by looney4labs; 06/22/07 10:22 AM. Reason: remove broken link
Re: DOSbox? #113585
04/03/04 07:56 AM
04/03/04 07:56 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
L
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer
Llewton  Offline
Addicted Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
Has anyone gotten Riddle of Master LU to work in DOSbox? Mounted my CDRom drive then opened it up and typed instal got a bunch of error messages. Copied all the CDROM files to my HD, mounted my C: drive with the directry C:\games\Riddle then typed install still got the error messages. Then I tried to work directly with the EXE Which is in a subdirectory Goodstuf. DOSbox wouldn't recognize the Goodstuf directory. There is no resource file like the one that was in the link that Jenny gave. This game is listed as being fully supported so why won't it run?


If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life
Re: DOSbox? #113586
04/03/04 06:14 PM
04/03/04 06:14 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,079
NY, NY
chrisdist Offline
Addicted Boomer
chrisdist  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,079
NY, NY
Llewton did you ever get Master Lu to run? I think I spent more time geeting it to run than the length of the game!

Re: DOSbox? #113587
04/04/04 06:52 AM
04/04/04 06:52 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 202
South Korea
Magicscroll Offline
Settled Boomer
Magicscroll  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 202
South Korea
Here is a step by step method of getting those old DOS games going.

1. First you need to download the latest Dosbox. And then download a frontend. My humble suggestion is this 'old, discontinued' yet 'simple and easy-to-use' frontend. No bells and whistles but it gets games running with the fewest clicks. I tried the three frontends but I still use this one. Here's the download (In courtesy of Post Adventure).

Dosbox: http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/dosbox/DOSBox0.61-win32-installer.exe?downloadmain=1
Frontend: http://game.ivyro.net/zeroboard/data/toon/doboxfro.zip

2. Let's Install dosbox and unzip the frontend(the frontend is for windows users) in the directory where dosbox is installed.

4. If the Dos game is not installed, let us wait a moment.

5. Now let's go to the directory where dosbox and its frontend is. Let's run the frontend. It's the executable with the building icon.

6. The frontend has one catch. The directories where the game we want to play CANNOT HAVE SPACES. None of these examples will do.
c:\sam and max\
c:\dos games\gabriel knight 1\

They must change to

c:\samandmax\
c:\dosgames\gabrielknight1\

7. When the directories are all set, we're ready to go. Let's just say we want to install The Riddle of Master Lu. Then we should put in the CD, run the frontend and then:
a: press the top button that says "File which you want to start" An install.exe / setup.exe etc. should install the game.
b: press "Start" button on the bottom.
c: press Alt+Enter to get the program running faster. Dosbox runs faster in Full Screen.

8. After getting the game installed, let's make a profile for this game. A profile would be your short-cut to the game, quite convienient. Pressing "New" would start a project. Let's type 'The Riddle of Master Lu'. Nothing seem to happen. We have to tell what game it would play. The "File which you want to start" button should do the trick. After choosing the right executable file that starts the game, press "Save". Now we have a profile. We can just choose the profile, press "Start" and get our game going whenever we want to.

9. Unfortunately, this is retro-gaming. We have to setup the graphics and sounds. Old-time gamers would get my point but let's be thorough. There should be a install, setsound, setup ..... an executable for seting up graphics and sound. Most Sierra classics will have install.exe. This file doesn't reinstall the game. It's for configuration.

10. We can see that the "File which you want to start" button is like a Windows File Manager and the profiles are like whatchmacallit(using a non-English windows), are they called shortcuts? Anyway you'd get my drift. The frontend has some functions for tweaking and you can fiddle with them for different results. The profile will save the function changes. Remember to save profile changes.

11. Dosbox has three great features, screen capturing, music capturing and frameskip.

CTRL-F5 Save a screenshot.
CTRL-F6 Start/Stop recording sound output to a wave file.
CTRL-F7 Decrease frameskip.
CTRL-F8 Increase frameskip.

Try these functions while playing the game. Capturing and printing those ending screenshots would definately complement your album or diary.

12. Note that dosbox can't run all DOS games. It hasn't yet supported 16bit graphics which means The 11th Hour will need the Windows patch. I couldn't get Rama working which is a shame. Some games like Calahan's Crosstime Saloon run slow for my computer (a P3-700). But most games ran without problems. Hope you enjoy. smile (This writing needs to be preserved for many to see. I've worked too hard on this.)

And here's a link for a special comic that I've semi-made.
http://game.ivyro.net/zeroboard/data/toon/admanga7_english.jpg


I am not an adventurer by choice but by fate.

-Vincent van Gogh
Re: DOSbox? #113588
04/04/04 07:04 AM
04/04/04 07:04 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 202
South Korea
Magicscroll Offline
Settled Boomer
Magicscroll  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 202
South Korea
Oh, I forgot. Two people at Post Adventure got The Riddle of Master Lu working with Dosbox. The game should run well using the methods shown above.


I am not an adventurer by choice but by fate.

-Vincent van Gogh
Re: DOSbox? #113589
04/04/04 07:46 AM
04/04/04 07:46 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 15,679
England
tigger Offline
Graduate Boomer
tigger  Offline
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 15,679
England
Thanks scrolly :kiss: I may yet get this game to work...

Hugs

Tig wave


A bounce a day keeps the doctor away!!
Playing Sims2, Sherlock, Phantom of Venice
Reading Storm Breaking
Re: DOSbox? #113590
04/04/04 09:33 AM
04/04/04 09:33 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 29,623
United Kingdom
Mad Offline
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 29,623
United Kingdom
Hi Magicscroll smile

That's great that you are giving step by step stuff laugh

Should these same instructions you give get Lost in Time up and running ??

Cheers.

Mad wave


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Marian, Pandora), 146 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
KSM5000, Orionis, aceofpain101, leri, AlexGamechuck
9109 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™