GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Cannon printer not connecting to network #1277338
07/18/22 01:32 PM
07/18/22 01:32 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
because John's computer died, I have no printing/scanning capability. My laptop simply will not connect to the existing printers for some reason.

i bought myself a Canon 3420 scanner printer. The guy in the store set that the setup wizard made everything easy.

However, the printer is unable to connect to my wireless.

It asks me to select the network, my network shows up, I select it, and after a few seconds I get the error message that "the encryption type of the network SSID does not match the encryption setup."

However, when I select my network's name, it shows no encryption type, in other words none. I don't have an option to enter anything here.

The other thing is, when I select my SSID it's showing what looks like a MAC address???? I don't have a MAC

There IS no option to enter any information at any point, in other words, I have no option to actually enter the SSID number myself, or a WIFI key, or anything else.

I need this printer to work TODAY. I have some very important financial transactions that have to happen, and today and I have to send and receive/print things!


"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277339
07/18/22 01:45 PM
07/18/22 01:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 45,623
near Yosemite
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 45,623
near Yosemite
How frustrating. I don't know squat about connecting printers to wireless. The only thing I can do is google the issue (which took me to a Canon printer manual). Hopefully someone else will be able to help.

Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277346
07/18/22 02:11 PM
07/18/22 02:11 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
John had one, too, and he could never get it to connect to the internet, wither.

I have THREE printers, none of which will connect to the internet, even though we SPECIFICALLY said that's what we wanted when we bought them.


"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277349
07/18/22 02:41 PM
07/18/22 02:41 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
Starcom Offline
Addicted Boomer
Starcom  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
For the time being most printers have an USB connection so if you have a USB cable, you can connect your Laptop directly to your printer and at least you will be able to print. Also, connecting directly to your printer helps find the Wifi connection easier, I have had to this on several occasions for myself and others who I help with their computers, laptops and printers.
Good luck

USB cable samples:

https://www.google.ca/search?q=usb+...AaQGkgEDOC4xmAEAoAEB&sclient=gws-wiz

Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277351
07/18/22 02:58 PM
07/18/22 02:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
OK. #1. The MAC address refers to media access control, not a computer brand.

#2. Encryption is set up in your router settings. I don't know what kind of router you have or if it is provided by your ISP, but with my WiFi router, I have to enter an IP protocol address - a bunch of numbers and periods - to get to the settings. In those setting, you can change the encryption type.

#3. If no printers will connect, this is something you will either need to resolve with your ISP or if you purchased the router yourself, get me the brand and model and I'll look this stuff up for you.

#4. First option in the meantime is to do as Starcom suggests and go purchase a printer/USB cable. Then you can bypass all the WiFi and connect directly to the printer from any computer with a USB port.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277352
07/18/22 03:03 PM
07/18/22 03:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
SO, I went back to the store and they told me the encryption type. The problem is that now I cannot get back into the installation wizard, which automatically started when the drivers downloaded, and I cannot figure out how to trigger it again because my computer can't find the printer, and on it goes. There seems to be no way to start the installation wizard now.

I have a USB, but the whole of buying the new printer was to bypass the problem I had with the other Canon printer, which refuses to connect to the Internet. Now I have two Canon printers that won't do what I need them to do.


"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277353
07/18/22 03:21 PM
07/18/22 03:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Just go in and uninstall the printer completely. Go to settings, Devices, Printers and scanners and see if it's listed. If it is, just uninstall. The suggestion of using a cable was just a stop-gap measure.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277355
07/18/22 03:33 PM
07/18/22 03:33 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
Starcom Offline
Addicted Boomer
Starcom  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
As Draclvr mentionned "using a cable was just a stop-gap measure." Since You wanted or[b] Needed to print something Today[/b], and from experience, it is easier to Set up your Wireless via USB cable, print your Important documents, After setting up your Wireless via Usb cable, you can then unplug the USB cable and you should be on your way to connect wireless.

Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277363
07/18/22 04:45 PM
07/18/22 04:45 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
I did try to install my wireless using the USB and it still didn't work.

The printing is fine with the USB cable, but there's no way to scan them back to the person I need to send them to. All I can do with a scanned document is copy it -- really useless. This machine has a scanner, and the guy who sold it to me assured it had that capability, but I see no way to do that.

The machine is going back. It just doesn't work. I hope I can find the bill .


"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277364
07/18/22 04:57 PM
07/18/22 04:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
Starcom Offline
Addicted Boomer
Starcom  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
The document you scanned in question, does it not or can you not Scan it to your Hard Drive?, this is what I do, I scan it to my Hard Drive, then I take the scanned document in question and send it as an attachment via Email to the person in question.

Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277365
07/18/22 05:04 PM
07/18/22 05:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
No, you can't "scan it back" to anyone. Scanning etc. is local to your network, not the internet. The scan will save either as a PDF document or a .jpg file as you select. It will be saved to a location on your hard drive which you also select. Then you will be able to attach the document to an email. I do it all the time.

And I've never had any luck connecting wirelessly after using the USB cable as Starcom has. Once you get your documents scanned, attached to an email and sent, then you can uninstall the printer and start over with the WiFi setup.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277366
07/18/22 05:17 PM
07/18/22 05:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
Starcom Offline
Addicted Boomer
Starcom  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
Thank Draclvr for making the scan to hard drive more clear than I can say it. As for connecting Wireless via USB, I guess it depends on the Printer and Software that comes with it, in my case(s) using the USB method finds the Wireless connection or finds your printer that allows it to connect to the wireless setup, hard to explain as mentioned often by yourself "That when you are not in front of the person's computer it is hard to explain".

Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277368
07/18/22 05:24 PM
07/18/22 05:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Starcom, there is NOTHING I hate any worse than network issues! I've torn my hair out with printers, so I feel your pain.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277371
07/18/22 05:55 PM
07/18/22 05:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
The scanning will only send to an Import file and nowhere else, and not directly to an email address like our other printers did when they were hooked up to John's computer.

I could live with that, but the main problems are more serious -- the scanned copy of the document is very faint, and when I adjusted the resolution it somehow decided to scan the one document into little tiny pieces, multiple documents, like a puzzle, not the whole thing. I adjusted the resolution back to the default but it didn't correct the issue. Very peculiar. Adjusting the contrast and brightness didn't change how the document looked.

All in all a fail.

Last edited by hagatha; 07/18/22 05:56 PM.

"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277372
07/18/22 05:59 PM
07/18/22 05:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Were you using the printer software to adjust the document? Did you save as a PDF or as a .jpg file? All those changes would be made before you saved the document.

It should give you the option to save to a file on your computer. Your other printers must have been connected to the internet. Were you able to scan, then select an email address and attach to that email directly? There definitely are printers out there that can do that - I had an HP that had that capability.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277374
07/18/22 06:36 PM
07/18/22 06:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
Yes, the other computer saved scans directly to an email address. But john's computer died, so the has nowhere to go because it was sending to his email on his computer. He was using a USB connection since the prnter would never connect to the wifi.

Here's another question:

Since John's computer has died, I though I would try to connect his Canon printer to my laptop. But the printer doesn't seem to know it's connected to my laptop. I'm not sure how to proceed, hoe to get it set up on my laptop.

John's Canon shows up in my list of devices, but it shows as offline.

Last edited by hagatha; 07/18/22 06:40 PM.

"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277378
07/18/22 07:13 PM
07/18/22 07:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Sorry, had to head out to pick cucumbers and tomatoes. OK. This is all so easy to fix. Would you mind if we switched to email so I could send you screen shots? That would make it all SO much easier!


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277379
07/18/22 07:23 PM
07/18/22 07:23 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
Never mind. I looked this up online, it told me to uninstall John's printer, and then reinstall I did so, and now it cannot be found. Period.

So I unplugged it, and now I'm trying to set up the new printer, and now even the basic setup, the one I did last time, fails. A file didn't extract.



I give up. I have to have a printer, but I just can't do it. Five more minutes of this and both printers are going off the balcony. I even had to take a sedative but now I'm so stressed I can barely breathe.


"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277380
07/18/22 07:34 PM
07/18/22 07:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Did you uninstall the new printer first before trying again? If you did and it still won't work, then if you can send me the model number of the printer, I can look up the driver downloads for you. You should just chill for awhile and let me look it up!


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277382
07/18/22 07:45 PM
07/18/22 07:45 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
Well, this time the printer connected to WIFi using the cable, so theoretically it works.


As I was getting ready to pack it up, I realized that the printer only wants to work on my 2.4 WIFI instead of my 5G, which is why it wouldn't connect because I've got my laptop on the 5G This is frustrating because it means I will have to switch back and forth between them when I want to print, but at least I have functionality. At least I hope I do...

I almost fell off my hair when I saw that green checkmark on the screen.


It's annoying because a couple of years ago I set up out new Smart TV, connected the BOSE system to it, connected my laptop to it, and so on, with not a hitch. You'd think a simple printer would take five minutes.

Thanks for all the patience and suggestions.


"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277386
07/18/22 09:04 PM
07/18/22 09:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
For sure, you need to use the 2.4 Ghtz bandwidth on your network for a printer! I didn't realize you also had the 5 Ghtz bandwidth or I would have told you to switch! I only use the 2.4 Ghtz bandwidth for that reason. SO GLAD you got it figured out!


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277389
07/18/22 11:14 PM
07/18/22 11:14 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
Starcom Offline
Addicted Boomer
Starcom  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,566
Rockland
Very happy for you that you got it working and as Draclvr said, stay at the 2.4 Ghtz bandwith, more apps and devices work better for now at the 2.4 Ghtz bandwidth.

Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277395
07/19/22 07:05 AM
07/19/22 07:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,364
The Country
Winfrey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Winfrey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,364
The Country
Glad you got it working, hagatha. I do have a question though. When the phone systems all change over to 5G.... will that affect the printers?


Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277398
07/19/22 08:06 AM
07/19/22 08:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 18,370
Snuggled up in my PC corner fo...
This 5 Ghtz/2.4 Ghtz is specific to WiFi, Winfrey. It's not the same as the cell phone bandwidth. 5G in cell phone jargon simply means 5th Generation. This explains it pretty well.

Quote
We are going to preface this post by saying you are not alone if you thought 5G Wifi and 5G Cellular were synonymous. They have the same name and share similar technology, but they are not the same thing. To break it down simply, “5G Wifi” technically called 5GHz (gigahertz) is a frequency band and 5G cellular refers to the word “generation.”

5GHz Wifi
Wifi has two frequencies, 2.4 GHz and 5GHz. 2.4 GHz is the default for most devices which causes the speed to decline but the availability throughout the house is better. 5GHz delivers faster speeds but does not pass-through walls easily and the range tends to be shorter. If you see 5G on your network just know it’s 5GHz.

5G Cellular
5G in cellular terms is just confusing marketing jargon that stands for the 5th generation of cellular network technology. 5G is designed to offer faster speeds per user and handle more connections per tower.


As Starcom says, almost all devices work on 2.4 Ghtz... my security cameras, my printer, the TV and Rumu my robot vacuum all use 2.4 Ghtz.


Gardens put to bed for the winter. Time to take a break!
Re: Cannon printer not connecting to network [Re: hagatha] #1277399
07/19/22 08:56 AM
07/19/22 08:56 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
hagatha Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
hagatha  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 7,104
B.C. Canada
I was told by our internet tech that the 5G network is best for streaming. I also thought it was best for gaming, too, for the same reason. Is that not correct?


"Korax thinks you look verrry tasty today."
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
6 registered members (Bluto, curly, Orion, Urban Worrier, dorish, 1 invisible), 15 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
der123, segs007, ralfy, katistrofix, Vallentine
9315 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™