GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: bermag45] #271081
01/30/08 11:40 AM
01/30/08 11:40 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,749
Alabama
looney4labs Offline
Moderator
looney4labs  Offline
Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 48,749
Alabama
Broadband (dsl)

No limits.

Can and have downloaded large game files, but it takes longer than I think it should.

Would cut back on groceries and heat before I'd give up my broadband.


"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard] #271093
01/30/08 11:58 AM
01/30/08 11:58 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,372
PA, USA
M
misa Offline
Addicted Boomer
misa  Offline
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,372
PA, USA
Broadband (3mb/s DSL) which we use with our laptops (wifi). It's pretty stable and our wireless router is pretty good. Have not had any issues downloading games from developers or online stores (Adventure Game Shop, Kheops and Big Fish Games) as long as it's not raining hard outside. The phone lines in this area need repairing!

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: misa] #271097
01/30/08 12:08 PM
01/30/08 12:08 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
DSL Broadband

inferno


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: infernoj13usa] #271100
01/30/08 12:15 PM
01/30/08 12:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 11,505
Kirkwood, MO USA
flutist Offline
Adept Boomer
flutist  Offline
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 11,505
Kirkwood, MO USA
DSL Broadband here also.

Bets


Corgis fill your life with Joy, your heart with Love, and your soul with Sunshine.
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: flutist] #271104
01/30/08 12:30 PM
01/30/08 12:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,553
london uk
chrissie Offline
Addicted Boomer
chrissie  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,553
london uk
Broadband. No limits as far as I know! smile

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: chrissie] #271106
01/30/08 12:32 PM
01/30/08 12:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,674
Québec
Chief Offline
Site Support
Chief  Offline
Site Support
Adept Boomer

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,674
Québec
Broadband also.

Chief wave


Chief
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Chief] #271111
01/30/08 12:44 PM
01/30/08 12:44 PM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,961
MaG Offline
Sonic Boomer
MaG  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,961
Drums. I mean DSL-broadband.

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: MaG] #271115
01/30/08 12:47 PM
01/30/08 12:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 14,623
northern Wisconsin
auntiegram Offline
Adept Boomer
auntiegram  Offline
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 14,623
northern Wisconsin
Cable broadband, and I love it. I too will go without something else then go back to dial-up :LOL:


Nan

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: auntiegram] #271130
01/30/08 01:24 PM
01/30/08 01:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 623
Ca.
gaily Offline
Settled Boomer
gaily  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 623
Ca.
cable broadband...no limitations, but i also think that big games take way too long to download. Guess I'm spoiled. It certainly beats drums!! rotfl


gaily
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: gaily] #271134
01/30/08 01:30 PM
01/30/08 01:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Here in Denmark where I live smile the power companies (those who provide the electricity) have a plan to offer broadband with much higher download speed than normal. We're talking 10-30 - to maybe 100 MB download speed.

There are, in fact, some places where you already can get this.
However, I doubt if the power companies have been succesfull at this point?

I think that providing high power downloads via the electric cables is the way to go. Then broadban connections will be as availabe and normal as electricity is today - at least in some places of the world.

Oh, and I forgot to add that my broadband is cable of sorts, don't have a download cap and that(normally) game downloads etc. happens with a speed between 10-30 MB/minute (or sec?)

/Karsten


Last edited by Karsten; 01/30/08 01:32 PM. Reason: added content

Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Karsten] #271145
01/30/08 01:55 PM
01/30/08 01:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,037
the Netherlands
Bernard Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Bernard  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,037
the Netherlands
Karsten, I've heard rumours about Internet by the power grid, even participated in a field experiment but as far as I know, it has not been a success anywhere. Reading the posts I realized I didn't mention my own connection. I have cable broadband >20MB, there's a price tag to it but I reduce it by providing a small WiFi network for my neighbours. They pay a a few Euro's to me every month so below the line my costs aren't too high!

Keep on posting people, I need at least between 100 and 200 reactions to get a good view.


wave Bernard

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: chrissie] #271180
01/30/08 02:52 PM
01/30/08 02:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 13,453
Texas
nickie Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
nickie  Offline
Grand wizard of high mucky muck
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 13,453
Texas
Dial-up -- out in the country, no other choice. And it's only running about 26k.


"How could drops of water know themselves to be a river? Yet the river flows on."
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: nickie] #271205
01/30/08 04:07 PM
01/30/08 04:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer
Karsten  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,617
Denmark, Europe
I know I know - also about the power grid and high speed broad band.

I think there's some small scale experimentation with this in two or three (big) towns here in Denmark. I depends whether or not they can get fiberlines in the ground I think.

The thing is this, though:

Today we don't think about how we get our power (electricity) in our houses. The meaning behind the power grid being used for the internet really is the same. You just plug in your computer - and then the power for it as well as the internet connections some from the same place.

The bad thing is that when there's a power shortage --- your computer won't work - at all.

/Karsten



Adventure gaming is fun smile

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Bernard] #271211
01/30/08 04:13 PM
01/30/08 04:13 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 832
Indiana
Koalanut Offline
Settled Boomer
Koalanut  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 832
Indiana

We had dial up for years and was hating it more and more. So we got a deal from AT & T last year and got broadband, and loved it cause it wasn't that much more and it meant that we could talk on the phone and use the internet at the same time without an extra line. Well, U-Verse came out here ( still AT & T), and they gave us a deal in December to upgrade to it which includes the tv and wireless. It was cheaper to change to U-Verse and have more channels, more tv's and wireless than stay with our cable and use the regular AT & T broadband, go figure (?). I think U-Verse is broadband, maybe someone can correct me. I know it isn't dial-up! I am totally and completely spoiled with the wireless and the broadband, and am still amazed with how much we can do compared to just 10 years or more ago! smile

Koalanut


So many games, so little time....
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Koalanut] #271220
01/30/08 04:26 PM
01/30/08 04:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,693
Isle of Man
gremlin Offline
Addicted Boomer
gremlin  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,693
Isle of Man
It's been ADSL broadband with me for about four years now. About 2 years ago we got a free upgrade to 2MB (everyone on the island in range of the exchanges got the upgrade), and now they're talking about a similar upgrade to 8MB by the end of this year.

However, if you want real speed, you need to go to Japan and Taiwan where broadband can be as much as 100MB.

Regarding power line networks, I know that they can definitely work in a domestic situation - I installed one last weekend, though my blog has more details of the Netgear XE103 product recall that I'm now going through. (see my sig)

Finally, for those people with 'broadband but not stable enough for large downloads', you might like to investigate P2P networks like bittorrent (eg. uTorrent, or Azureus). Please note, I'm not advocating piracy. You will find that some of the larger downloads (OpenOffice.org and Ubuntu linux distributions, for example) can be obtained (completely legally) via bittorrent. These systems are designed to download even the largest of files in many, many chunks, and to be completely resilient in the face of an unreliable connection.

Gremlin

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: connie] #271225
01/30/08 04:31 PM
01/30/08 04:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,691
Hiding Under a Rock
gamenut Offline
Addicted Boomer
gamenut  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,691
Hiding Under a Rock
have dsl now..finally-find it a lot better than dial-up i used to have but this dsl is not the 'fast' dsl, which i think is like the bb you get from most tv cable companies. In 2009 i'm going to get THAT!

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: bermag45] #271245
01/30/08 05:17 PM
01/30/08 05:17 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,869
Ontario,Canada
orchid girl Offline
Addicted Boomer
orchid girl  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,869
Ontario,Canada
I have wireless connection. No problem with downloads. Live in the boonies , no cable, no phone high speed. Limit of 10GB per month but have never been charged for extra. bravo

Could not live with dial up again. hardwall

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: orchid girl] #271271
01/30/08 06:26 PM
01/30/08 06:26 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 509
Scotland
Mr 2 u Offline
Settled Boomer
Mr 2 u  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 509
Scotland
Broadband here, no limits.


Adventure Games Forever
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Mr 2 u] #271285
01/30/08 06:45 PM
01/30/08 06:45 PM
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 541
Pine Tree State of Maine
Maritje Offline
Settled Boomer
Maritje  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 541
Pine Tree State of Maine
Dial-up here unfortunately. No limit on downloads. For any large dl's I go to my son's house for his DSL.

What a pleasure to download lots and lots of files for my scrapbooking. Takes minutes to load on my flashdrive.

Sometimes I need to update my system and it would take hours to download so his DSL really comes in handy.

I would get broadband in a minute if it were available here.

Maritje


Do or Dare but Dare to Do
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: connie] #271304
01/30/08 07:27 PM
01/30/08 07:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,044
Sun City, AZ
Barry Offline
Addicted Boomer
Barry  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,044
Sun City, AZ
Verizon high end Fios Broadband. Not a problem in the least with game downloads, particularly with a download accellerator I use to make connections practically warp speed.

Regards,
Barry


I've seen God, and his name is iPad. Let us pray
yes, I do use my Hairbrush as a Microphone and Dance around in my Underwear. Thank you very much.

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Barry] #271318
01/30/08 07:59 PM
01/30/08 07:59 PM
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 678
NYC, NY USA
LadyLinda Offline
Settled Boomer
LadyLinda  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 678
NYC, NY USA
I had dial-up and recently switched to DSL. What a difference!

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: LadyLinda] #271341
01/30/08 08:43 PM
01/30/08 08:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,024
The Country
Winfrey Offline
BAAG Specialist
Winfrey  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,024
The Country
DSL here and loving it wave


Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: Winfrey] #271643
01/31/08 12:36 PM
01/31/08 12:36 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,648
stoke on trent England
dragonuk44 Offline
Addicted Boomer
dragonuk44  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,648
stoke on trent England
noticed Winfrey devilchili


s wheeldon
Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: dragonuk44] #271693
01/31/08 03:55 PM
01/31/08 03:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Florida (my heart's in Texas)
JanetC Offline
Junior Boomer
JanetC  Offline
Junior Boomer

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Florida (my heart's in Texas)
Cable broadband. No problems with downloads at all. It's expensive but so worth it!

Re: Broadband or dial-up? [Re: JanetC] #271704
01/31/08 04:20 PM
01/31/08 04:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,583
Palouse country
3dobermans Offline
Adept Boomer
3dobermans  Offline
Adept Boomer

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,583
Palouse country
Live in a small town and have dial-up at 31.2kbps. Largest download I can do is about 80Mb and can take up to 6+ hours.
The one little phone company in town offers a high speed/router (with a no return option and can never be used elsewhere if one decided to move), starting at 64kbps.
Phone/internet company has no competition and has never had any competitors.



Reading is to the mind, what exercise is to the body - Joseph Addison
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
HCK, katheo, patchy, TheMand, vysyus
9233 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™