GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Art of Murder: Cards of Destiny problem #671066
11/15/10 11:10 AM
11/15/10 11:10 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
A
AdvGamer4Life39 Offline OP
Junior Boomer
AdvGamer4Life39  Offline OP
Junior Boomer
A

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
When I go to start the game the screen goes black and then a little blue box pops up saying "Frequency out of Range". How do I fix this so I can play the game?

I am running Win7 and have a 22' Gateway Widescreen LCD monitor with a max res of 1680x1050. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Art of Murder: Cards of Destiny problem [Re: AdvGamer4Life39] #671079
11/15/10 11:36 AM
11/15/10 11:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,256
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,256
Arizona
Frequency out of range is an error that indicates the monitor can't handle the horizontal refresh rate. Try looking for an in-game setting that allows you to specify it. LCD's generally use 60Hz as their default.

If there no in-game settings - Click Start, Control Panel and select Adjust Screen Resolution under Appearance and Personalization. Press Advanced Settings and select the Monitor Tab. Ensure the refresh rate is set to 60 Hertz.

Re: Art of Murder: Cards of Destiny problem [Re: InlandAZ] #671090
11/15/10 12:33 PM
11/15/10 12:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
Frequency out of range is an error that indicates the monitor can't handle the horizontal refresh rate.

It can also mean the monitor isn't set to handle the horizontal refresh rate for the resolution the game is set to, which I think is 1024x768 with this game. Make sure your monitor is able to display 1024x768. It might also help to install monitor drivers for your particular model monitor if you're using Plug 'n Play drivers. You should be able to find them on the website of the manufacturer of the monitor.

Re: Art of Murder: Cards of Destiny problem [Re: Jenny100] #671375
11/16/10 11:46 AM
11/16/10 11:46 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
A
AdvGamer4Life39 Offline OP
Junior Boomer
AdvGamer4Life39  Offline OP
Junior Boomer
A

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
First off thank you for your replies.

How do I find out if my monitor can display 1024x768? Also I have no idea where to get drivers as my monitor is no longer made and I can't find out if there are drivers as I need the serial # from my old computer.

I know there is a way to change the game to Wide mode under Options/Graphics but like I said the screen goes black and I can't see anything, I can hear the intro running but can't see it. Is there anyway to config the game to start in Wide mode?

Re: Art of Murder: Cards of Destiny problem [Re: AdvGamer4Life39] #671381
11/16/10 12:08 PM
11/16/10 12:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
I guess you could check the game's install folder and see if there's a configuration file (.ini, .inf, .conf, or .cfg file) that contains settings and can be edited with Notepad.

Re: Art of Murder: Cards of Destiny problem [Re: Jenny100] #671541
11/16/10 11:36 PM
11/16/10 11:36 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,256
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,256
Arizona
Quote:
How do I find out if my monitor can display 1024x768? Also I have no idea where to get drivers as my monitor is no longer made and I can't find out if there are drivers as I need the serial # from my old computer.


You can try setting it under display properties (from Control Panel). Vista and above are different from XP, I'm not sure which OS you're running.

Change your monitor resolution (XP)

Change screen resolution (Vista and 7)

Even though you display is no longer available you can still visit the OEM's web site for updates and drivers. If you know the model number, post it and we'll look it up.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Orion), 14 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
imjust2tired, ahaf, kamasutra7192, skeywester, TeamDissonant
9298 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™