GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution #672224
11/19/10 01:51 PM
11/19/10 01:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
O
opcvop Offline OP
Shy Boomer
opcvop  Offline OP
Shy Boomer
O

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
Hi
I have just started this game and it looked fine except I would like to change the screen res to a higher one, like 1920x1200.
You are not, however, offered the opportunity to do that in the options menu or am I missing something ?

Best wishes
opcvop



Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: opcvop] #672225
11/19/10 01:52 PM
11/19/10 01:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 23,997
UK
Rushes Offline
True Blue Boomer
Rushes  Offline
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 23,997
UK
Hi opcvop, I'll move this thread across to our tech forum for advice. luck


"Bleat, Watson -- unmitigated bleat!" ~ Sherlock Holmes
Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: Rushes] #672246
11/19/10 03:48 PM
11/19/10 03:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
The version I have has a program item under Pendulo Studios called Runaway: A Twist of Fate - Config.

It lists 1900x1200.

Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: InlandAZ] #672259
11/19/10 05:33 PM
11/19/10 05:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
O
opcvop Offline OP
Shy Boomer
opcvop  Offline OP
Shy Boomer
O

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
ok, you are right, I found the program item, but although my Samsung screen uses 1920x1200 as always, the setup suggest I use 1280x768 as my choice. I am simply not allowed to change, the program denies my new setting with: not suggested resolution. This is a first one for me, I dont know what is happening here ?

Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: opcvop] #672450
11/20/10 11:42 AM
11/20/10 11:42 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
You should still be able to set the resolution to 1920x1200 in spite of the warning (at least I was able to).

I played at the game in its native resolution (1280x768 - widescreen) it looked and played just fine.

Does the game fill the entire screen when you play? If not, you may just need to adjust your graphics settings. Most offer a set of options for monitor scaling. You’ll find them under the Appearance and Personalization options for Windows 7, or Control Panel for XP.

Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: opcvop] #672490
11/20/10 02:31 PM
11/20/10 02:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,872
Indiana
Demosthenes Offline
Addicted Boomer
Demosthenes  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,872
Indiana
Runaway 3's backgrounds are all hand-painted, so the game runs at a native resolution of 1280x768 no matter what resolution your monitor runs at.

The settings are a little misleading, but for your monitor your options are really as follows:

1. If you tell the game to run at 1280x768, it will run the game at 1280x768 resolution. By default, your monitor will take that 1280x768 image and stretch it to fit the screen. Since 1280x768 is a slightly different aspect ratio than 1920x1200, (16:9.6 vs. 16:10) the image may stretch a little horizontally. If you've changed your monitor's settings from the default, it may stretch the image but preserve aspect ratios (leaving two black bars at the edges of the screen rather than contort the image.)

2. On the other hand, if you run at 1920x1200 (by ignoring the "not suggested resolution" warning,) the game will place the 1280x768 image in the middle of the screen and fill the rest of the screen with black. You will, essentially, be running the game in a little 1280x768 window in the middle of your screen.

I've tried both (on a 1920x1080 monitor,) and I find running the game at 1280x768 and letting it stretch to fill the screen (while preserving the aspect ratio) far preferable to running it in a window, but you do lose a little image quality when you stretch images like that. Which setting you prefer is up to you.

Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: Demosthenes] #672755
11/21/10 12:53 PM
11/21/10 12:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
O
opcvop Offline OP
Shy Boomer
opcvop  Offline OP
Shy Boomer
O

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
Thanks for your help. I just wonder:why do they offer a 1920x1200 resolution if it does not work ?

The patch ver.1.1 did not help me here. My screen and graphics card are less than a year old and I have never had any problems with either of them. Surely the problem is not mine, but the makers of RATOF ?
It does not matter what resolution I use: the image is always in the middle of the screen and the rest filled with black. I cant choose anything but 1280x768 for this game. And if I change my screen resolution to 1280x800 (the closest I can get to 1280x768) there is no change at all.
So I guess I am out of options here, unless I get an answer from the support site of RATOF, hopefully during the coming week.
Anyway, thanks again for your suggestions.

Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: opcvop] #672759
11/21/10 01:03 PM
11/21/10 01:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
What are your video specs? Both ATI and nVidia have scaling options for LCD's. It could be as simple as changing an option in your drivers.

I played with the default settings and it filled the entire screen.

You can locate the device type under DXDiag - Click Start, Run (or press the Windows Logo Key+R) enter DXDiag and press Ok.

You'll find the information on the Display Tab (post the Device Name and Driver Version).

Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: InlandAZ] #673082
11/22/10 12:34 PM
11/22/10 12:34 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
O
opcvop Offline OP
Shy Boomer
opcvop  Offline OP
Shy Boomer
O

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 75
ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series ver.8.791.0.0

Re: Runaway twist of fate -screen resolution [Re: opcvop] #673108
11/22/10 02:31 PM
11/22/10 02:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,221
Arizona
There are several versions of the Catalyst Control Center. There should be an option that allows you to select image scaling.

The link below describes how to access the options -

Using ATI Catalyst™ Control Center to Configure Desktops & Displays


Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 25 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
HCK, katheo, patchy, TheMand, vysyus
9233 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™