GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? #744780
08/06/11 02:36 PM
08/06/11 02:36 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
I installed ROTS on my Dell M1530 laptop with XP.

As far as I know, all video card/sound card drivers are up to date.

I start the game, go to Gil's tent, click on the tape recorder > eject button, pick up cassette tape, put it into the recorder, then try to close the lid, try pressing play to hear Gil's message, but the game freezes up after I pick up the tape and put it into the slot.

Have applied the patches.


"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #744796
08/06/11 03:31 PM
08/06/11 03:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
From here
http://riddleofthesphinx.com/hints/hints_tips.html
about 2/3 of the way down the page.

Quote:
2. Take the tape, back away from the tape player and leave the tent. Reenter the tent and go directly to the tape player and insert the tape. This procedure works for most people.

3. QuickTime can sometimes cause freezes and we ask that to change the Sound Out from DirectSound to Wave Out as well as uncheck the enable DCI option in QuickTime or use the Safe Mode (GDI Only) option. This is a good thing to do anyway.

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: Jenny100] #744814
08/06/11 06:11 PM
08/06/11 06:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
I applied the patch, started the game, took the tape, backed away from Gil's desk, went out of the tent, re-entered the tent, inserted the tape, tried to play the tape, and the game still froze up.


EDIT - I tried everything in the Quick Time suggestion. The game still freezes up. Will I ever be able to play it????

Last edited by cruise02; 08/06/11 06:56 PM.

"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #744816
08/06/11 06:19 PM
08/06/11 06:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Read what I quoted above.

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: Jenny100] #744825
08/06/11 06:51 PM
08/06/11 06:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
I tried everything that you quoted in the Quick Time suggestion. The game still freezes up. Will I ever be able to play it????


EDIT - I even tried going into my M1530's dxdiag and disabling Direct Draw, but the game still freezes up, even though I grabbed the tape from Gil's desk, exited the tent, re-entered Gil's tent, inserted the tape, Yuk the game still froze up.

Last edited by cruise02; 08/06/11 07:25 PM.

"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #744844
08/06/11 08:04 PM
08/06/11 08:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Either try it on a different computer or ask for a save over in Hints.

By the way, the patch on that page was for the original version of the game from year 2000. If you have a newer version, you wouldn't want to use that patch and that could be your problem.

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: Jenny100] #744848
08/06/11 08:30 PM
08/06/11 08:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
I have the 3 CD version. I'm thinking of installing it in my Windows 98SE Virtual PC guest - I may have done this back when I had my old laptop when I first got the game from someone on the GB trading post.



"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #744900
08/07/11 03:08 AM
08/07/11 03:08 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 24,279
Marlborough USA
Kaki's Sister Offline
True Blue Boomer
Kaki's Sister  Offline
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 24,279
Marlborough USA
cruise are you playing in compatibility mode? That worked for me when I had the same problem.


Gerry
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: Kaki's Sister] #745279
08/08/11 02:14 PM
08/08/11 02:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
Originally Posted By: Kaki's Sister
cruise are you playing in compatibility mode? That worked for me when I had the same problem.


I tried this, but the game still froze. What gives?????

I know there is some way to fix it!


"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #745311
08/08/11 04:08 PM
08/08/11 04:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Have you tried it inside a VM? It was made for Windows 98 and 'should' run in XP or newer since then -- as long as the QuickTime version you use is compatible.

By the way, there are two 3 CD versions of the game. I don't think the patch would have harmed either of them though.

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: Jenny100] #745317
08/08/11 04:45 PM
08/08/11 04:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
Have you tried it inside a VM? It was made for Windows 98 and 'should' run in XP or newer since then -- as long as the QuickTime version you use is compatible.


That's what I was trying to do last night - install it in one of my Windows 98SE VM's (VPC 2004/VMWare Player) and that's when I ran into those issues you see posted here in Glitches by me.

I was able to run this game ok on my old laptop - the HP Compaq Presario X6000 that I gave my nephew (Tim) when I got my MBP back in '09. That tape recorder freeze was not a problem back then (Dec/Jan '07/'08)

I have the year 2000 version of the 3 CD game.

Anyway, when the game installs, it asks me if I want to install it with or without QT 4. And upon completion of the install, it tells me I should run it in either QT 4 or QT 4.1.2 that is on the first CD (I haven't tried this yet), just before it tells me to exit/finish the game's installer.


"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #745323
08/08/11 05:14 PM
08/08/11 05:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: cruise02
Anyway, when the game installs, it asks me if I want to install it with or without QT 4. And upon completion of the install, it tells me I should run it in either QT 4 or QT 4.1.2 that is on the first CD (I haven't tried this yet), just before it tells me to exit/finish the game's installer.

I thought it worked better with QuickTime 3.02 than with 4. But if you want to use QuickTime 4 or later check the "Troubleshooting Tips for QuickTime" on the ***Riddle of the Sphinx Tips & Tricks website***.

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: Jenny100] #745327
08/08/11 05:48 PM
08/08/11 05:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
Originally Posted By: cruise02
Anyway, when the game installs, it asks me if I want to install it with or without QT 4. And upon completion of the install, it tells me I should run it in either QT 4 or QT 4.1.2 that is on the first CD (I haven't tried this yet), just before it tells me to exit/finish the game's installer.

I thought it worked better with QuickTime 3.02 than with 4. But if you want to use QuickTime 4 or later check the "Troubleshooting Tips for QuickTime" on the ***Riddle of the Sphinx Tips & Tricks website***.


I already tried all these tricks with QT 4, even completely turning off 3D acceleration for the M1530's NVidia card, alt+tabbing, one trick at a time, but none of them worked.

I tried uninstalling QT 4, d/l & installing QT 3.02, restarting the game, and if I recall correctly, this didn't work either. Which version of QT should I use for the game in a W98SE VM?

EDIT - Thought I had QT 3.02 installed, but turns out it's really QT 2.0.3, have the game running in W95 comp mode on M1530's XP, 3D acceleration back up to Full, did the tape thing on Gil's desk, and this time the tape actually played!

Last edited by cruise02; 08/08/11 06:05 PM.

"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #745409
08/09/11 04:01 AM
08/09/11 04:01 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 24,279
Marlborough USA
Kaki's Sister Offline
True Blue Boomer
Kaki's Sister  Offline
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 24,279
Marlborough USA
Great cruise! Enjoy the rest of the game! It's a keeper!


Gerry
Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: Kaki's Sister] #819298
07/01/12 06:54 PM
07/01/12 06:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 85
Saskatchewan, Canada
saskee Offline
Shy Boomer
saskee  Offline
Shy Boomer

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 85
Saskatchewan, Canada
I had the same problems...went through Virtual PC and tried installing with and without QT 4, but what finally worked for me was to install and play with the Quicktime 7 and set the compatibility to XP Service Pack 3 with Windows 7 64-bit and the 1.01 patch. Hopefully this will work for someone else.

I also tried the BigFish version but found that a lot of the video and virtual panning had been removed and it wouldn't play the tapes either.

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #819307
07/01/12 10:27 PM
07/01/12 10:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 662
Virginia Beach, VA
Uncle Reg Offline
Settled Boomer
Uncle Reg  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 662
Virginia Beach, VA

I remember a "patch" for this problem that didn't actually fix the problem, but was just a text file or files that gave you the information that was on the tape that you needed to go on with the game. I'm not sure I can find anything more concrete, I'll check on my old computer and report back.

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #819311
07/01/12 11:10 PM
07/01/12 11:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 662
Virginia Beach, VA
Uncle Reg Offline
Settled Boomer
Uncle Reg  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 662
Virginia Beach, VA

The only thing I had was that ROTS v1.01 patch that's on the top of that Tips and Tricks page that Jenny linked to.

I did, however, find what I had remembered. Read this: Text of the 5 Cassette Tapes in Gil's Tent

That should allow you to continue the game. Thanks to Mr. Bill for compiling and preserving this info. thumbsup thumbsup

Re: Riddle of the Sphinx freezes at Gil's desk - help? [Re: cruise02] #819353
07/02/12 08:57 AM
07/02/12 08:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,569
southeast USA
There are patches for both version 1.0 and 2.0 here
http://www.riddleofthesphinx.com/rots_101.html

There was also a 1.1 version that apparently had no patches made for it.

General troubleshooting suggestions, including the tweaking of QuickTime here
http://www.riddleofthesphinx.com/hints/hints_tips.html

It worked better for me with QuickTime 3.02 than with QuickTime 4, but I had the older version game and was playing on Windows 98 on an old computer. That may work OK in Virtual PC, but for modern 64-bit Windows 7 I don't know how well QuickTime 3.02 (or even QuickTime 4) would work.

I still like using Virtual PC for QuickTime games since you never have to worry about installing a version you can't get rid of and is "too new" for your older games -- just back up your virtual computer folder before installing any QuickTime and you'll have a fresh virtual computer to go back to for games that use a different version of QuickTime.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Winfrey), 35 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Red65, MohamedSlide, Salu, luminatti123, Helloav
9207 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™