GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Memento Mori #531734
08/03/09 06:07 PM
08/03/09 06:07 PM
Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
Bevlee Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Bevlee  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
I am having a problem installing Memento Mori. After installing and clicking on play the game. A menu comes up that says" d3dx9_37.dll not found. Re-installing the game may help. Well I tried re installing but it still says the same thing. My computer is Dell Microsoft windows Xp. Memory 510 RAM Video card 9800 Series memor-128. Updated 9/28/07. Can you tell me where to find the componant that the game can't find?? Beverly in Florida.


Dont' walk in front of me,
I may not follow.
Don't walk behind me,
I may not lead.
Walk beside me and be my friend. (Albert Camus)
Re: Memento Mori [Re: Bevlee] #531736
08/03/09 06:13 PM
08/03/09 06:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,819
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,819
near Yosemite in California
That's a DirectX 9 file that the game is looking for and can't find. Did the game give you an option to install DirectX 9C (the latest version)?

Re: Memento Mori [Re: Marian] #531743
08/03/09 06:39 PM
08/03/09 06:39 PM
Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
Bevlee Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Bevlee  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
Hi Marian, thanks for your quick reply. Yes when installing it gave that option that it was looking for updated files. Now what?

Last edited by Bevlee; 08/03/09 08:19 PM. Reason: added something

Dont' walk in front of me,
I may not follow.
Don't walk behind me,
I may not lead.
Walk beside me and be my friend. (Albert Camus)
Re: Memento Mori [Re: Bevlee] #531814
08/03/09 10:55 PM
08/03/09 10:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
Originally Posted By: Bevlee
Hi Marian, thanks for your quick reply. Yes when installing it gave that option that it was looking for updated files. Now what?

My copy turned up this morning - if you asked it to update DirectX the file should have been installed (I installed to Vista without issue).

If you neglected to update DirectX try re-installing the game.

Re: Memento Mori [Re: InlandAZ] #531905
08/04/09 08:03 AM
08/04/09 08:03 AM
Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
Bevlee Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Bevlee  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
when installing it asked if it wanted to look for updated files etc. I clicked yes. But I guess it wasn't installed. Can I go someplace and update my directx? Please advise. Thank you. Beverly


Dont' walk in front of me,
I may not follow.
Don't walk behind me,
I may not lead.
Walk beside me and be my friend. (Albert Camus)
Re: Memento Mori [Re: Bevlee] #531941
08/04/09 10:44 AM
08/04/09 10:44 AM
Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
Bevlee Offline OP
Settled Boomer
Bevlee  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 1999
Posts: 401
Boca Raton, Florida
Well, I figured that the game just couldn't read my directx that I have on the puter, so went to google and downloaded the newest directx. Re-installed the game, and voila!! I am now playing the game. Sometimes at my age the brain cells don't work as fast as you wish they would. Dum de dum dum!!!


Dont' walk in front of me,
I may not follow.
Don't walk behind me,
I may not lead.
Walk beside me and be my friend. (Albert Camus)
Re: Memento Mori [Re: Bevlee] #531945
08/04/09 10:47 AM
08/04/09 10:47 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
Download and run Microsoft's Web installer from the site below:

DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer

If the update doesn't resolve the issue, try downloading the entire set of DirectX End-User Runtime libraries:

DirectX End-User Runtimes (March 2009)

Re: Memento Mori [Re: InlandAZ] #531949
08/04/09 10:57 AM
08/04/09 10:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
You may need to reboot after updating DirectX for everything to take effect. The install may or may not prompt you.

Re: Memento Mori [Re: Bevlee] #532035
08/04/09 03:08 PM
08/04/09 03:08 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
Originally Posted By: Bevlee
Well, I figured that the game just couldn't read my directx that I have on the puter, so went to google and downloaded the newest directx. Re-installed the game, and voila!! I am now playing the game. Sometimes at my age the brain cells don't work as fast as you wish they would. Dum de dum dum!!!


Looks like we posted just minutes apart - Glad you got it worked out thumbsup

So far, it looks to be a promising game.

Re: Memento Mori [Re: InlandAZ] #532689
08/06/09 06:47 AM
08/06/09 06:47 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
K
kaferzot Offline
Junior Boomer
kaferzot  Offline
Junior Boomer
K

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Hi everyone ^^

Hope you can help me.. I've a problem with Memento and it's so weird O_o

I've WinXP Pro SP3, 2Gb RAM DDR, GeForce 8800 GTS, all drivers are upgraded,all codecs are upgraded (k-lite full) DirectX 9.0c.
The problem is : I install the game. I run it but, after the first screen of loading, it returns to desktop with the message "CPAL3D error : cannot initialize windows media video playback".

And there's nothing I can do..

Have you ever heard about this problem? :/
Thank you in advance ^^

Re: Memento Mori [Re: kaferzot] #532783
08/06/09 10:49 AM
08/06/09 10:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
Apparently it's not uncommon -

CPAL3D application does not work anymore (Translated to english)

You might want to uninstall K-Lite and try the game (it can easily be reinstalled). One of the codec’s may be interfering with the game.

Re: Memento Mori [Re: InlandAZ] #532847
08/06/09 01:19 PM
08/06/09 01:19 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
K
kaferzot Offline
Junior Boomer
kaferzot  Offline
Junior Boomer
K

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Hi Inland, thanks for the advice.
Unfortunately, I uninstalled K-Lite, reinstall Memento but the error continues to appear.. :/

Re: Memento Mori [Re: kaferzot] #532861
08/06/09 01:49 PM
08/06/09 01:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
Originally Posted By: kaferzot
Hi Inland, thanks for the advice.
Unfortunately, I uninstalled K-Lite, reinstall Memento but the error continues to appear.. :/


There was a small note in the thread that mentioned updating Media Player - might not hurt to try that one as well.

Re: Memento Mori [Re: InlandAZ] #532864
08/06/09 02:02 PM
08/06/09 02:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
K
kaferzot Offline
Junior Boomer
kaferzot  Offline
Junior Boomer
K

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
I'm trying it right now.
It seems my WMP11 is updated. I run "check the updates" and it says that I've the last version and all the updates.. That's so frustrating..

Maybe someone has a .zip with WMP11 updated, just to try to install it?

Re: Memento Mori [Re: kaferzot] #533053
08/06/09 10:25 PM
08/06/09 10:25 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
S
SSM Offline
Shy Boomer
SSM  Offline
Shy Boomer
S

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
Hi, kaferzot. I am having the same issue as you but my computer specs are different. It's very frustrating and I can't imagine what the problem is. I have sent an e-mail to Got Game so I'll see what kind of response I get. If you find a fix will you please post it? I will do the same. Thanks!

Samantha

Re: Memento Mori [Re: SSM] #533115
08/07/09 06:45 AM
08/07/09 06:45 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
K
kaferzot Offline
Junior Boomer
kaferzot  Offline
Junior Boomer
K

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Hi Samantha, you can be sure that if I find a fix I'll post it smile

Now I'm trying a non-english version, to see if the problem is specific to english version or not.

Re: Memento Mori [Re: kaferzot] #533608
08/08/09 10:11 AM
08/08/09 10:11 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
S
SSM Offline
Shy Boomer
SSM  Offline
Shy Boomer
S

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
I finally got my game to work! Unfortunately, I have Vista and my error was a little different than yours, kaferzot. So, I don't know if what I did will work for you. My error read, "CPAL3D application is not working." Anyway, I opened the file location of the game and right clicked on the icon that reads "MEMENTO-090808102950" and then selected "Run as administrator." It actually took a few tries. I still got the error the first couple times I tried this but then the game finally "opened" (I could see it on my toolbar but when I clicked on it, it opened). Oddly enough, once I got it working this way, I am now able to open the game the traditional way through the menu box. I just have to click on the play button a few times to get it to work.

Samantha

Re: Memento Mori [Re: SSM] #533622
08/08/09 10:24 AM
08/08/09 10:24 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
K
kaferzot Offline
Junior Boomer
kaferzot  Offline
Junior Boomer
K

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Hi Samantha, thanks for the advice.
Tonight, when I return back to home I'll try your method smile Hope it helps me play this game laugh

Re: Memento Mori [Re: SSM] #533658
08/08/09 11:30 AM
08/08/09 11:30 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: SSM
Anyway, I opened the file location of the game and right clicked on the icon that reads "MEMENTO-090808102950" and then selected "Run as administrator."...
Oddly enough, once I got it working this way, I am now able to open the game the traditional way through the menu box.

That would be consistent with what "Bakhtosh" said in one of his posts at the ***translated link that Inland found.***
Quote:
So the DVD-Check happened during a small window application will start / Please be patient ... " be seen. When you first start the game, the copy protection drivers installed. Is it in the Control Panel under "Programs and Features" an entry "ProtectDisc Driver, version 11" to be found? If not, then the driver ProtectDisc not yet installed. Then hang the start maybe already in it.

You probably would have needed to install the "ProtectDisc" driver with elevated administrator privileges. And now that the driver is installed, the copy "protection" allows the game to work.

Re: Memento Mori [Re: Jenny100] #533795
08/08/09 06:59 PM
08/08/09 06:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
K
kaferzot Offline
Junior Boomer
kaferzot  Offline
Junior Boomer
K

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Uhm..where can I find ProtectDisc Driver?
Is it an open software or I have to purchased it?

Re: Memento Mori [Re: kaferzot] #533860
08/08/09 11:00 PM
08/08/09 11:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
The ProtectDisc driver is integrated into the game executable. You get it, whether you want it or not, when you buy and install the game.
It installs the first time you try to start the game -- unless it's blocked by an antivirus or security feature that's part of Windows. Vista may not let something like ProtectDisc install without forcing it through using "Run As Administrator."

Re: Memento Mori [Re: Jenny100] #534036
08/09/09 12:15 PM
08/09/09 12:15 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
S
SSM Offline
Shy Boomer
SSM  Offline
Shy Boomer
S

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
Hi, kaferzot. If your game is still not working, you should try and contact the publisher at this link: Got Game Support

I am continuing to have trouble with the CPAL3D game engine. If I try to play the game it eventually crashes with the same CPAL3D error. Although it's likely part of my problem was with the copy protection, there is clearly a larger issue with this game engine running on my computer. I actually have a laptop geared toward gaming so I'm suprised it can't play this game. One thing is for sure, I won't buy any more games using the CPAL3D engine without trying a demo first!

Samantha

Re: Memento Mori [Re: kaferzot] #534619
08/10/09 08:46 PM
08/10/09 08:46 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 199
home
B
brajki Offline
Settled Boomer
brajki  Offline
Settled Boomer
B

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 199
home
Hi All,
Finally a new game I could buy from the store and something is wrong.Hope someone can help.I loaded Memento Mori just fine.Went to play it and the audio is great but the video is slow and choppy.There is no way I can play it. Anybody have a clue?

Re: Memento Mori [Re: brajki] #534624
08/10/09 09:04 PM
08/10/09 09:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,226
Arizona
Lower the in-game graphics settings to their lowest values and restart the game.

What are your PC's specs?

Re: Memento Mori [Re: InlandAZ] #534631
08/10/09 09:22 PM
08/10/09 09:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 199
home
B
brajki Offline
Settled Boomer
brajki  Offline
Settled Boomer
B

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 199
home
Do you mean the video card or the game settings?

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
4 registered members (OrleansBelle, Redz, butterflybabe, Pandora), 45 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Nucas, Fritz, konradnow, PaulMendez, lisateach
9246 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™