GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62408
03/10/07 08:23 AM
03/10/07 08:23 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,843
Michigan
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer
Geo  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,843
Michigan
Caution if you are thinking of installing Vista in a computer with an AGP video bus, It seems it causes what the industry is calling an "error 53" fault on some motherboards and will not turn the AGP port on.

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62409
03/10/07 09:39 AM
03/10/07 09:39 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer
MrLipid  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
And once you get error 53, your video will disappear into Area 51. wink

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62410
03/10/07 07:23 PM
03/10/07 07:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
heeheeeheeheeeheee

inferno


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62411
03/14/07 01:13 PM
03/14/07 01:13 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,869
Ontario,Canada
orchid girl Offline
Addicted Boomer
orchid girl  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,869
Ontario,Canada
Just to add to your list:

Broken Sword: Secrets of the Ark. It installed with no problem and I have played part of it, saving and reloading with no problem.

Runaway: A Road Adventure----- Just installed and am playing it. Loaded fine, when I went to play it a box came up saying there was an incompatability and would I like Windows to fix it. I said yes and it did (bless it's little heart); now plays, saves , loads, perfectly. What a fun game, glad I also have Runaway II to play later.

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62412
03/14/07 05:53 PM
03/14/07 05:53 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Thanks Orchid Girl


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62413
03/14/07 06:03 PM
03/14/07 06:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,141
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,141
Arizona
Quote:
Originally posted by MrLipid:
And once you get [b]error 53, your video will disappear into Area 51. wink [/b]
Well it will if you live in Nevada smile

But you can generally find it hiding out at the Ale-E-Inn.

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62414
03/18/07 09:22 PM
03/18/07 09:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,921
Texas
T
Terri824 Offline
Addicted Boomer
Terri824  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,921
Texas
Hi All. Good grief. I haven't a clue what everyone is talking about. I know nothing about the computers system. I believe I have the opportunity to upgrade to Vista. (pc only 4 months old) It appears by these posts that it might be a mistake. Is that the majorities consensus? help


When you live in the past, it costs you the present.
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62415
03/19/07 08:38 PM
03/19/07 08:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
I don't think I'll be upgrading for at least a year or so.

But I have to say that I had a week setting up my Mom's new rig --- with Vista Premium and I have to say I liked what a experienced.

inferno


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62416
03/20/07 03:55 PM
03/20/07 03:55 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 41
Kalamazoo, Michigan
ChuckO Offline
Shy Boomer
ChuckO  Offline
Shy Boomer

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 41
Kalamazoo, Michigan
I'm interested in your results w/the sacred rings. I get black screen with a frozen game cursor. I have found a fix for walking stutter in the Awakened in the New Orleans segment if it is an issue for you. Let me know.

Chuck

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62417
03/20/07 05:50 PM
03/20/07 05:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
walt Offline
Addicted Boomer
walt  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
Just bought a New Packard Bell with Vista Premium this weekend and Love the OS. Still keeping my XP Computer though.
I have loaded and tested the following and they all play without having to go into Compatability or any other type of Directory for installing..
All these work okay.....

Syberia Collectors Edition
Aura
Uru Complete Chronicles
Myst 3 Exile
Myst 4 Revelation

Have the Nvidia Graphics on this new one.

1Gb of Ram really needed for playing Games, any less and you will run out of Memory fast.

A External Seagate 350Gb Hard Drive arriving tomorrow....thank goodness I now have a Flat Screen or would be pushed for space.

"Walter"...City of Lincoln


If at first you dont suceed, deny you even tried.
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62418
03/31/07 10:11 AM
03/31/07 10:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
M
mathall1 Offline
Shy Boomer
mathall1  Offline
Shy Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Just thought id add these game to list.These games work fine using Vista Home Premium

Scratches
Wanted The Westerner
Barrow Hill
Syberia 1 + 2
Carte Blanche
Sacred Rings
The Cameroon Files Loch Ness
The Cameroon Files Pharoahs Curse

Still Life (Win98/Me Compatibilty Mode) This works tested myself the game now loads up as it should.

I got a lot of adventure games these are so far the ones which ive tested

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62419
03/31/07 06:08 PM
03/31/07 06:08 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
thanks mathall1 I've added your work to the list on the first page

inferno

********edit**********

I've also started a darksider list as well

inferno


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62420
03/31/07 06:24 PM
03/31/07 06:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
M
mathall1 Offline
Shy Boomer
mathall1  Offline
Shy Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
No Probs i ll try out some other adventure games later on including


Echo The Secret Cavern
Secrets Of The Da Vinci Code
Keepsake
Darkfall
Ankh
Secret Files Of Tunguska
Return To Mysterious Island
The Longest Journey
Journey To The Centre Of The Earth
The Egyptian Prophecy
Moment Of Silence
Agatha Christie Then There Were None

Bone Out from Boneville ( works no problems.Installed by right clickin and choosing run as administrator to install )

Bone The Great Cow Race (Same as BOFB works no problems)

I shall update this post later and add results next to each

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62421
04/01/07 10:47 AM
04/01/07 10:47 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,403
San Francisco
Satine Offline
Addicted Boomer
Satine  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,403
San Francisco
Using a Vista Laptop:

Safecracker 2006
The Secrets of Atlantis: The Sacred Legacy
Dungeon Siege II with add-on

Sherlock Holmes: The Awakened installed but was not playable using the mouse, it was jumpy and not under control.

Al Emmo would not install

For general software compatabilty list, including games:

http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.php/Windows_Vista_Software_Compatibility_List


Even a blind squirrel finds an acorn once in a while
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62422
04/02/07 08:24 AM
04/02/07 08:24 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
M
mathall1 Offline
Shy Boomer
mathall1  Offline
Shy Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
I can confirm the title Paradise works.The title made by Benoit sokal.Played 10 mins and going well

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62423
04/02/07 11:34 AM
04/02/07 11:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
walt Offline
Addicted Boomer
walt  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
The Longest Journey wont work on Vista Premium...it gave me the message that it couldn't find Win 32, the only thing that I could do was to uninstall it. I did try all the compatability but to no avail.

Be carefull with Syberia 1 and 2....I installed the Collectors edition and after I installed it it seemed to work ok but I uninstalled it and put it on my Main Hard Drive ( I had it on my External Drive) It installed again ok on the "C" Drive but would not accept the KEY....it gave the message that "I did not have the authorisation to access the System Registry".

"Walter" wave


If at first you dont suceed, deny you even tried.
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62424
04/03/07 08:48 AM
04/03/07 08:48 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 319
Eastbourne,U.K.
R
RON Wright.1 Offline
Settled Boomer
RON Wright.1  Offline
Settled Boomer
R

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 319
Eastbourne,U.K.
Running Vista Home on a Dell Dimension 3100C so grateful for your list of compatible games.
Before I revert to XP, could you please confirm that Vista Home does not have a 'compatability mode'
Despite 4 pages from Microsoft on 'games which do not run' the report on a trial game was :'This program requires d3drm.dll' which is no longer included in this version of Windows'.
Does this suggest the higher versions of Vista do have this compatability?

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62425
04/03/07 08:58 AM
04/03/07 08:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,020
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,020
southeast USA
Higher versions of Vista? If you have Vista Home Premium, that's all you should need for playing games. If you're missing a dll file, you may be able to download it from somewhere. That works with XP, though I don't know if it would work with Vista.

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62426
04/03/07 11:40 AM
04/03/07 11:40 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
M
mathall1 Offline
Shy Boomer
mathall1  Offline
Shy Boomer
M

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Might be just me but i found games to run better in windows vista basic than Home Premium.As a example Still life adventure game runs without any problems from a upgrade from xp.Unlike Home Premium which is also installed from a upgrade of xp this isnt the case.Still life runs on home premium but soon as it gets to first discussion with Gus the cop the dialogue box freezes and goes no furthur.This in compatibility mode.Im sure it didnt do this in Vista Basic and played just like on a xp machine

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62427
04/03/07 01:03 PM
04/03/07 01:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
walt Offline
Addicted Boomer
walt  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
Quote:
Originally posted by mathall1:
Might be just me but i found games to run better in windows vista basic than Home Premium.As a example Still life adventure game runs without any problems from a upgrade from xp.Unlike Home Premium which is also installed from a upgrade of xp this isnt the case.Still life runs on home premium but soon as it gets to first discussion with Gus the cop the dialogue box freezes and goes no furthur.This in compatibility mode.Im sure it didnt do this in Vista Basic and played just like on a xp machine
........................................

I sympathise with you over Vista Premium...It appears to be a very unforgiving OS....I bought my Machine with Premium preloaded on 16 March and so far 3 days later I had to take it back to the store and they re-installed the OS..there were corruptions and 64 Problems when we did the Diagnostics...3 Days ago the darn thing kept freezing and Packard Bell in conjuction with PC World pointed to a site for me to make a Diagnostics Disc.....did so and it appeared that the Software is again unstable...

They are sending me a set of Recovery/Vista Premium Discs free of charge.

If this does not solve the problems then I will investigate removing the Vista and installing XP.
My Hard Drive bursts into life for no apparant reason and nothing showing on the screen except for the Desktop......the Drive runs for over 30 minutes without me being able to use the Damm machine......the only solution is to switch it off........I suspect that the Screen Saver and Power Saver have something to do with it as I have switched them off and Fingers Crossed it is OK. happydance

"Walter"
Getting more disenchanted with Vista Premium by the minute lol


If at first you dont suceed, deny you even tried.
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62428
04/03/07 04:12 PM
04/03/07 04:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,020
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,020
southeast USA
Quote:
Originally posted by walt:
I sympathise with you over Vista Premium...It appears to be a very unforgiving OS....I bought my Machine with Premium preloaded on 16 March and so far 3 days later I had to take it back to the store and they re-installed the OS..there were corruptions and 64 Problems when we did the Diagnostics...3 Days ago the darn thing kept freezing and Packard Bell in conjuction with PC World pointed to a site for me to make a Diagnostics Disc.....did so and it appeared that the Software is again unstable...

They are sending me a set of Recovery/Vista Premium Discs free of charge.

If this does not solve the problems then I will investigate removing the Vista and installing XP.
My Hard Drive bursts into life for no apparant reason and nothing showing on the screen except for the Desktop......the Drive runs for over 30 minutes without me being able to use the Damm machine......the only solution is to switch it off........I suspect that the Screen Saver and Power Saver have something to do with it as I have switched them off and Fingers Crossed it is OK. happydance

"Walter"
Getting more disenchanted with Vista Premium by the minute
Walt,
That could very well be a hardware problem and not a Vista problem. Try using scandisk (surface scan) and see if it finds bad sectors on the hard drive. And use memtest to test the RAM (and motherboard).
http://www.memtest.org/

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62429
04/03/07 05:13 PM
04/03/07 05:13 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
walt Offline
Addicted Boomer
walt  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,819
Lincoln U.K.
Quote:
Originally posted by Jenny100:
Walt,
That could very well be a hardware problem and not a Vista problem. Try using scandisk (surface scan) and see if it finds bad sectors on the hard drive. And use memtest to test the RAM (and motherboard).
http://www.memtest.org/
........................................

Hi Jenny.....Have a Diagnostic Disc for Hard Drives etc and I got a "Passed" for all....There isn't a Scan Disc in Vista Premium.....
After I gave the results of the Diagnostics Test to the PC World/Packard Bell help they seemed to aggree that it was a Software Problem....When I get the full set of Disc they are going to take me through the safe method of installing them...
Must admit that with the Screen Savers and the Power Savers switched off all day and evening I have had NO problems.
Thanks for the sugestions.
"Walter"....
Feeling not quite so Bullish at the moment.
thumbsup


If at first you dont suceed, deny you even tried.
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62430
04/05/07 09:18 AM
04/05/07 09:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
oldmariner Offline
Reviewer
oldmariner  Offline
Reviewer
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
Quote:
Originally posted by Robert:
Quote:
Whew - It's almost time to make the next PC purchase and XP is getting scarce on new systems.
Inland, correct me if I'm wrong, but those XPS machines we've been drooling over don't even offer XP as an option anymore do they? Oldmariner said something about the "scratch and dents" having XP on them.
Just an update 4/5/07 I took a quick look on Dell site to see where they had 49 xps machines with media center xp. almost all were xps 700 710 and 210 models, no 410 or 900 series available. I selected Scratch and Dents and Canceled orders ( Dell says these are machines that were ordered, never booted up and the order was canceled for whatever reason.) They claim S&D's and Canceled categorys are new machines. There we only 8 xps machines with xp-pro all 700/200 xps series. Various configuration. Many were cheap of course they do not include the monitor. So if you are looking for an xps for gaming without vista time is running out.

Did not check refurbs, consider those a gamble but they do carry the new machine warrantee.

Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62431
04/05/07 10:19 AM
04/05/07 10:19 AM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
infernoj13usa Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
infernoj13usa  Offline OP
The Radiant Moderator Staff Reviewer
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,766
FT. Worth ....Where the West b...
Quote:
Originally posted by walt:
The Longest Journey wont work on Vista Premium...it gave me the message that it couldn't find Win 32, the only thing that I could do was to uninstall it. I did try all the compatability but to no avail.

Be carefull with Syberia 1 and 2....I installed the Collectors edition and after I installed it it seemed to work ok but I uninstalled it and put it on my Main Hard Drive ( I had it on my External Drive) It installed again ok on the "C" Drive but would not accept the KEY....it gave the message that "I did not have the authorisation to access the System Registry".

"Walter" wave
try installing to "documents" in this case. The permissions are different.

---------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally posted by RON Wright.1:
Running Vista Home on a Dell Dimension 3100C so grateful for your list of compatible games.
Before I revert to XP, could you please confirm that Vista Home does not have a 'compatability mode'
Despite 4 pages from Microsoft on 'games which do not run' the report on a trial game was :'This program requires d3drm.dll' which is no longer included in this version of Windows'.
Does this suggest the higher versions of Vista do have this compatability?
All you have to do is add the file to the game folder --- I had this very same issue with
TLHOD - Beyond the Spirit's Eye Demo
*must be installed in C:Users/User's Name/Documents"* and an additional .dll file must be added as well...Tested by Inferno
you can find the file here:
d3drm.dll

One might also place the file in the Windows/system32 directory --- but many games which utilize this file may crash --- it's better to place it in the game folder. --- don't ask me why...

inferno


Watching: Dark Shadows
Reading: Angelique's Descent
Playing: WoW and living in Kil' Jaeden
Re: Vista Game Compatibility & Discussion ***updated 05APR07*** #62432
04/06/07 10:06 AM
04/06/07 10:06 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 319
Eastbourne,U.K.
R
RON Wright.1 Offline
Settled Boomer
RON Wright.1  Offline
Settled Boomer
R

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 319
Eastbourne,U.K.
If, as has been suggested by many, that Vista does have a compatability mode (in all versions?)why has no one been able to tell us how to action it?
It is now suggested that it is 'hidden' in All Programs!
Can anyone enlarge on this, please?

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 98 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
KSM5000, Orionis, aceofpain101, leri, AlexGamechuck
9109 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™